Attica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Boiled Bagels

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe! My hubby just got back from NY c-raving for the bagels he had every single morning for three weeks he spent there - and asked for more! Couldn't find my old recipe, used this one and produced 8 oversized, chewy on the inside, golden crispy on the outside REAL bagels! Used sesame on 3, poppy seeds on 3 and 2 plain with coarse salt on top. - We live in Europe now, so the metric eq. for yeast to flour was: for 500 grs flour (4.5 cups) used one sachet (27 gr) dried yeast. Worked out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
A very easy and quick recipe to satisfy you and your family's chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is the Queen of salads for me and my family for the summer when the tomatoes are ripe and sweet! Basil is a must, we love the taste, we add some oregano also, preferably fresh, and some black olives. It can be served without the feta cheese, if you are watching your diet. Purple onion is the best for this salad. Thank you for a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

California Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
At last a recipe with whole natural ingredients, and no mayo!! Thank you for a very tasty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

West Tennessee Corn Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful cornbread recipe! This is really so good, wholesome and tasty, the kind that I like, no white flour, no butter, just corn meal, so healthy! I just substituted the mayonnaise with reduced fat yogurt, it is very moist even the next day. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Creamy Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I have the benefit of living currently in Greece where "fresh greek yogurt" is available in endless varieties: full fat, 2%, non-fat, skinless, with skin, flavored or not ... you name it! Please do not strain your yogurt; you lose all the prebiotic cultures that are soo good for your health! To overcome the "rock-solid" effect the day after you freeze your desert try either of the two: 1. disolve 1 tsp unflavored gelatin in 1 tbsp water and 1 tbsp lemon juice, and stir in before you freeze, or 2. (provided you don't serve it to kids) stir in your mix a good shot of vodka or favorite "sweet liquor" like peach schnapps, kalhua (coffee) or baileys. The alcohol keeps it from freezing to a rock. Great - simple recipe! Will keep churning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent! I used chicken legs.To make it more "light" (we are all on a diet) I substituted sugar substitute for the sugar and reduced the oil. Also, becuse I had it on hand, I added about 1/2 cup of hot chutney to the marianade. I removed all trace of marinade before cooking (baked in oven). Even hubby liked this and he hates chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Making a Pie Crust, Step by Step Article - Allrecipes.com

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
You cannot miss with these step by step intructions for making the perfect pie crust! Its easy, once you do it one or two times and its really the best crust, not only for pies but for quiche of any kind. The ready frozen crusts we buy are no where as close to this crust. Worth of trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Cathy's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Wow! I made this today and its really very good! I took the advise of others and I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, one banana in small pcs and springle the top of the cake with a mixture of brown sugar, flour, walnuts and a little corn oil. Also I substituted half of the sugar with brown sugar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Grilled Marinated Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is a great marinade for grilled salmon! I made this today and we loved it! Thank you for a very tasty salmon recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece
Photo by geenastar

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
First attempting in making a proper risotto and it turned out perfect! Creamy, mushroomy and the rice still had the right bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geenastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

5 Minute Microwave Cornbread

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good! It did have a more eggy taste then I am used to but its 5-min cornbread and it satisfy the cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geenastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pavlova

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this about a month ago but never got a chance to review. They were delightful! I turned mine into individual size servings and left them to cool overnight in the oven. However the next day they did crack like mad and the centres had a more marshmallowy consistancy then they should. Solution... I placed them in the refrigerator for a couple of hours! I think the moist air helped to turn them into the fluffy little pieces of heaven they should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geenastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Five stars are not enough for this recipie.I didn't have graham crackers so i used a cheese cake base and yogurt instead of sour cream.It took me only 6 limes for the amount of juice that is need it.I have no idea what you girls did with 20 or 30 limes.Here is a small tip for squeezing limes and lemons.Before you do it press and roll them with your palm to soften.This way you can get all the juice out of them very easy.I also didn't get any bubbles so I ended up cooking it for about 20 min.I had 17 limes and now i have 11 left for another 2 pies.I love it.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious!! Everyone loved it! I did make a couple of changes though. I had the time so I marinated the chicken in buttermilk, 2 cloves of garlic and 2 bay leaves. Left them in the fridge for 24hrs. In the crumb mixture i did follow the other reviewers advice and add more salt and pepper. I also added some dried onion flakes, a pinch of cayenne papper and dried thyme. I fried the chicken in olive oil instead of vegetable since its alittle healthier. The chicken was super moist and extra crunchy! This is definetely a favorite! Will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geenastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious!! Everyone loved it! I did make a couple of changes though. I had the time so I marinated the chicken in buttermilk, 2 cloves of garlic and 2 bay leaves. Left them in the fridge for 24hrs. In the crumb mixture i did follow the other reviewers advice and add more salt and pepper. I also added some dried onion flakes, a pinch of cayenne papper and dried thyme. I fried the chicken in olive oil instead of vegetable since its alittle healthier. The chicken was super moist and extra crunchy! This is definetely a favorite! Will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geenastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Romaine Salad I

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is an excellent salad that every one loved it. I made it yesterday and I will make it again and again. The strawberries and the dressing make all the difference. I used spring onions together with sweet onions. There was some left over from yesterday and I found that the strawberries that remained in the dressing were even better the next day. So next time I will marinate the strawberries in the dressing for few hours. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Indian Shrimp Curry

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this dish today for my son's Name Day and it was wonderful. I followed the recipe and it came out really good. The only changes I made were, I used olive oil, since I did not have any peanut oil and I used raw shrimp which I saute for 2-3 minutes before adding to the sauce. A great recipe that I will make again and again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Delicious meal.Althoug i had to improvise a bit and use whatever i had in the house at that moment it turned out gteat.Used kidney beans instead of chili beans,nachos corn salted chips,Regato cheese instead of Cheddar,put some cumin in the beef.Here in Greece we don't have sour cream so i whisk 2 yogurts with little vineger.It's going in our menu list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was wonderful and very healthy meal.I did put a pinch of cinnamon in the onion,like some people suggested and it tasted great.Also used 2 onions instead of 1(because my daughter loves it).In the reviews sombody mentioned that the water for the rice is not specified.I always put 3 cups of water for 1 cup of rice and it never fails.My guess is that I am gonna be making this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 63) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States