Attica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was wonderful and very healthy meal.I did put a pinch of cinnamon in the onion,like some people suggested and it tasted great.Also used 2 onions instead of 1(because my daughter loves it).In the reviews sombody mentioned that the water for the rice is not specified.I always put 3 cups of water for 1 cup of rice and it never fails.My guess is that I am gonna be making this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancakes I

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wonderful.My mom came to visit for a week and i made it for her too.She loved it and end up asking me for the recipe.This is a big compliment because my mom is a great cook and if she likes something, it means that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very easy,very quick and very tasty.I didn't have tomato sauce so i chopped 1/2 tomato instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Cheese Strata Main Dish

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
It was my first time cooking asparagus,but the result was successful and very delicious.I added some more cheese because i love it and the amount in the recipe just wasn't enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Omelet

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My daughter avoids eating fried food whenever it's possible so it was a gift for me when i found this recipe.I added some spinach and she loved it.So did i and my mum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red River Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Guacamole

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very easy,very quick and very tasty.I didn't have tomato sauce so i chopped 1/2 tomato instead and it turned out grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leanergourmet

Apple Carrot Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Yummy-licious! I just baked a batch and my kitchen smells wonderfully! Hubby already had two with his Earl Grey tea. My modifications: subed the flour and baking powder for equal amount of self raising whole wheat. Added 2 tbsp ground flaxseed and doubled the cinnamon. They came out moist, fragrant and light. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Biscotti

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is an excellent biscotti recipe. I gave it a try today and it turned out beautiful. I doubled the recipe as I always like to give some to my friends and I added 1 cup of roasted crushed almonds. As I did not have any anise extract, I added almond extract. I will definitely make them again and again. I followed the recipe and the rest was very easy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Greek style meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Oops, I forgot to add to the recipe the necessary salt and pepper! 2/3 tspn of salt and pepper to taste will do. Also if you like allspice you could add 1/4 tspn to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent! I made these yesterday between getting up and getting kids ready for school. Did not want to waste milk, so I used 1.5% milkfat fermented milk (like liquid yogurt - no buttermilk where I live). I used a full cup and ended with a runny batter, which I saved using 3 tbsp all bran cereal. The result: extremely light and delicate muffins, full of flavor and aroma! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent choice for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Curried Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Not bad but a little too spicy, even for me. Next time I'll go easier on the chili powder. Also, perhaps becase I used basmati rice, I needed twice the amount of water stipulated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
The BEST pork I've ever cooked! My picky brother RAVED about this and hubby,who hates sugar in food devoured it! I doubled the recipe (the boys are big eaters) and thought I had to add a little butter afrter I took it out if the oven, it looked a little dry inside. I shouldn't have worried. It was tender and succulent... beautiful! I'll be making this frequently! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple the Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Careful about the distance on the cookie sheet and careful about baking time and temperature! Do you use an oven thermometer? I find it indispensable and I just don't know how some people manage without one! These cookies are rich and tasty, even too sugary for my taste, so I made them smaller. I used hot air to bake them for 10 minutes at 165C. Initially, I tried to bake at the suggested 175C and as I was keeping an eye on them I saw that at around 7 minutes they had started to burn around the edges...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
All fine, except pay some attention to the final mixing, don't over-mix! Fold everything softly just enough to moisten the flour. Adapt baking time depending on how "watery" the quantity of mashed bananas you have added is; in my case, I should have lowered the temperature on the half hour and continue for about a quarter more at 140C. I made a slight change for a somewhat lighter bread: I separated the eggs, mixed the yellows with the butter and sugar batter and beat the whites before folding them into the final batter like I do for chiffon cakes. The result is an agreeable sweet bread, not fluffy but neither too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These turned out great! Being on the healthy and frugal side here is the substitution I made instead of using white sugar and molases: I had in the fridge some "fiber bomb"* (I'll post recipe right away) which is dried fruit simmered in plain water until they turn syrupy. I measured the fruit syrup to 3/4 cup and chopped 1/2 cup of the fruit right on the dry ingredients and tossed (or they would drop to the bottoms of the muffins during baking). Healthfully fruity and moistly dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used almost a whole cup of grated swiss cheese instead of the cheddar...yummie!!!!! didn't use any chives 'cos I had none and instead of garlic salt,used celery salt....oh,instead of shortening ,used real butter....delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Baskets

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Another great way to serve parmesan. Try grating on top red and green peppercorns - not too fine, not too coarse - just before baking the parmesan. The flavors blend very well and they look like freckles. I make mine tiny - 1 inch - when I want to serve them flat for scooping vegetable dips like eggplant caviar. Raw sesame seeds sprinkled before baking blend very well too. Don't use toasted sesame - it will burn and will affect the taste. Thanks for posting the basket version. I had never thought of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Bellows' Lemony Shrimp Macaroni Salad with Herbs

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Absolutely the best pasta salad I ever made!! I used mayo light due to the calories and had more shrimp. I added the eggs chopped inside the mix because my family is not much for garnishes. The green onion, dill, parsley combo was outta this world! I had my doubts cause I usually make a heavier, more spicy pasta salad. Never again! This is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 63) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States