Edinburgh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really yummy, swapped a bit of butter out for more yogurt (as per recommended). It was a bit on the dry side, but still good. I poured a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze over the top after the bake for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Delish! I substituted muesli for oats (because I was out of oats), and they still turned out quite tasty! The batter spread out a bit in the tray, so more flour might help..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yummie cupcakes. If you can ignore the copious amounts of butter/sugar, the taste is delicious. I added a bit too much extra lemon, and it was a bit tangier than I was hoping for, but still delicious. Frosting was nice, but not necessary because the cake was flavorful enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKMONKI

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
So yummie! I used a bit less sugar (about 1.5 cups), and added dried cranberries with the apples. So moist, and delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Good Eggnog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yuuum. As it was my first attempt at making homemade eggnog, I was quite pleased. Like others, I cut the rum down to about half, one cup was plenty strong for us. Very rich and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Roasted Nuts

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yummie nuts. I used a mixture of nuts (cashews, almonds, and walnuts), didn't let them sit for the full 20 minutes after baking (they were starting to stick to the foil), and added a bit of salt in the sugar sprinkling. I let them dry for about an hour after, stirring/shaking them loose sporadically, but they seemed a bit softer than I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
A very nice sugar cookie. Like many other commenters, I sweetened it with more sugar and vanilla in the batter, and a bit of extra flavor with grated lemon and a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. The batter was not too sticky, and they turned out best when baked until just barely golden, not browned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKMONKI

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
It was the first (successful) black forest cake I've made, and I was surprisingly pleased with the end result. The batter smelled a bit burnt cooking in the oven (but the oven may have been on too high), and didn't wait long enough for them to cool before assembling, as I was in a rush. I poached some canned cherries and poured the sugar syrup over the cake layers to moisten it, then layered and covered the cake in hand-whipped cream. If I had timed things better, I think it would have been perfect! It was delicious for the next few days, so I think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Watch the video for tips on technique! That makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Stuffed Red Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Pretty tasty! I changed the ingredients a bit, using couscous instead of quinoa. I also added fried tofu, feta cheese, and a couple spoonfuls of pesto to the mixture filling. Was a bit hesitant about adding water to the pan, but they turned out fine, I think a lid would have helped keep the moisture in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Such soft, yummie, cake-like cookies. I added a touch of lemon juice to the icing to add citric flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Yummie treat for blueberry season. I also substituted butter for the shortening, which worked fine. It was easy enough to make, but I ended up with too much sugar/butter topping, which just melted over the top of the cake. And it was nowhere near done by 30 minutes, it needed closer to 45-50 minutes in the oven to bake through completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked French Fries I

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Good by me. Shook up the potato wedges in a plastic bag with oil & spices. Then had to bake around 400 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Decadent Truffles

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Love making these truffles (aka chocolate balls). I usually roll or mix in things (i.e. coconut, chili/cayenne, cinnamon). Really good for hosting parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chorizo Burger

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Love the idea... I seen that there were some rewiews that said that the burger fell apart during cooking so I added egg... But this didn't help. As I said great idea but it didn't work for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhomemaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This bread is a winner for me... Sweet and dense a good little snack with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhomemaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Loved it and will make again... Less the garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhomemaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chorizo and Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic soup so simple, Made it for my other half and a group of work men they loved it!! Defo recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhomemaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Not too terribly exiting, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccine in Creamy Mushroom and Sage Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Pretty bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States