Staffordshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cranberry Pear Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this salad for a family gathering to celebrate Dad's 81st birthday. Had to double the recipe but it turned out that I should have tripled it, everyone wanted more. It was absolutely delicious and so very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lichfield, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Oakbank, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Cup Chicken With Thai Garlic Spinach

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
try this folks it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connor6763

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Smoothie with Cheesecake Bites

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Try it yourselves folks. it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connor6763

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made a half recipe. used can of creamed navy beans, and yellow onion instead of shallots though. very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I used smuckers all natural peanut butter Amazing! best pb icing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
fudgy and chewy but a little too sweet, i want to try them again with 1 cup sugar (for 12 serving recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Baked Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Amazing. I used goat cheese in place of blue cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I blended half per advice from another reviewer. I used homemade organic creole cream cheese in place of heavy cream. I also minced and added a jalepeno. I used vegetable stock. It is very delicious, the jalepeno makes is cream with a nice bit of zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used 1/4 cup butter. 1/2 cup shortening. I did have to use twice teh ginger for a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shahi Paneer

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
amazing. couldn't find hominy, so i used extra corn, used chicken bouillion cube instead of chicken broth, and used extra water. added jalepenos and green chiles. definitely good to use fresh cilantro. excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
An excellent side dish. I like to make it as is but with cornish hens. I put the rice in to four individual roasting pans and nestled a cornish hen rubbed with fresh herbs and butter into each. The hens give the rice an even better flavor as the rice absorbs the juices from the birds as they roast together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I don't normally even like asparagus! But it tasted great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Mmmm made this with regular sausages as we don't have any smoked and added the apple at the end to try and save the texture of it as suggested by another reviewer. The sausage, once sliced, fried and added to the 'kettle' (pan with lid), tated devine. But sadly the apple didn't hold it shape as planned but then I don't think was a bad thing at all as it gave a sweetness to counteract the sour lemon throughout the dish. I also used cider vinegar as that what we had. Let's just say that when our veg box gave us another red cabbage this week, I've gone out and bought some sausage to make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Liz's Astounding Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I tripled this recipe but only doubled the chocolate chips. It made five dozen medium size cookies. I am not sure how the original would have made four dozen, they would have been bite size minis. I also used 1/3 margarine, 2/3 shortening. They are pretty good, but I had a better recipe previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
For the taste to effort ratio this recipe comes up trumps. I didn't use the lemon juice and didn't measure the ingredients just kinda did it by eye so I used less oil and salt than was needed. I also sprinkled the parmesan over before baking. Yum and so easy. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherry Rae

Best Ever Muffins

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Amazing Recipe! They came out so delicious. I didn't have much in my cupboard or fridge so I just added a few tablespoons of cinnamon and they came out great. Because I halved the recipe I just used 1 egg white (also to make them lower fat) and I also used skim milk. They're still super rich and delicious. I DID follow the review that said to turn the oven up to make them domed... I probably won't do that again. They didn't dome and they just burned on the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly the only thing I don't have is a cookie press. I'm a very experienced baker and never had cookie dough go this wrong on me! I chilled the dough for 30 minutes before trying to roll it out but it was still very gooey and sticky. It also tore far too easily and my floured rolling pin couldn't even go one stretch before tearing it apart and getting the dough stuck to the *floured* surface. I'm sure this is a great recipe if you have a cookie press. The doug tastes delicious. I ended up pressing it out with my hands and using cutters. This obviously gives sort of ugly uneven cookies but with the amount of butter I used i didn't want it to go to waste. We'll see how they bake! Just a warning to other cookie press-less bakers. I was hugely disappointed. It's also kind of screwed up my Christmas party as I now only have 3 hours to finish off and offer ugly cookies! Haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poor Irish Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My ham hock was a raw smoked one which needed soaking overnight with regular changes of cold water. I then simmered it in fresh water for 1.5 hours to cook it. After this I used thisrecipe as a base as I didn't fancy a hock and beans/lentils dish but used potatoes, carrots and parsnips as that was what I had. I know that this review is not accurate for the base recipe but as the author hints at it's a great flexible starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Made these with Stork baking margarine as that's what I had in when we needed a sugary treat. The recipe was simple and we made 16 biscuits even tho we halved it. I've given this four stars as I found I needed to add some more flour so that this could be rolled out (gently) and shaped with biscuit cutters. I found that at 170 degrees C on our fan oven on a silicon mat in the baking tray for 10 mins, these came out perfect and unbrowned as shortbread is supposed to be. As others have said, don't move this until they have cooled down a bit. The silicon sheet helped with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States