Manchester - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I Love grilled cheese and i don't mean to brag but I am a master grilled cheeser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPossible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
By far the best pancakes ever i made them for a sleepover and people were coming back for fifths one girls mom said her daughter loved them so much that she wouldnt eat anyone elses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPossible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herman Biscuits

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This made a lovely soft, light and fluffy dough. Really east to work and handle, I think I could user it in lots of diferent ways, I used Fliimsy's idea for cinnamon rolls this time. There was a little bit of a bitter taste from the baking soda (so not 5*) so I'm going to reduce the amount next time and hope I will still get good results. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Dogs

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Here in the UK, we have never tried corn dogs but always wondered .... Well I don't know what they taste like when you buy them, but these were delicious! I was happier to be able to choose own good quality bratwurst. They coating did cook quite dark like on some of the photos. I turned the heat down as far as I dare but there was no way they cooked for 3 minutes. No problem though, just heated through in the oven when they were all fried off. The only change, I reduced the sugar a little as we don't have a very sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy White Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This isn't quite the recipe I have used previously, but I was silly and didn't save that one. I used these quantities, but kept heating over a doub;e boiler like 7 minute frosting. Worked brilliantly, just what I wanted, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
How did I ever miss this recipe?! I've used a few pancake recipes off this site but these are amazing. So fluffy and no after taste from the baking soda. I susbtitued lemon juice for the white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
followed the the recipe to a T and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batt2low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Drumsticks with Peach and Honey

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made a whole lot of changes to this recipe and was really pleased with the result. I used 1/2 tsp lemon juice instead of a lemon (added with the water) and halved 8 ripe apricots instead of the peach. I also changed the cooking method, after browning the chicken, I put it in a dish in a medium oven whilst I made the sauce, according to the recipe, up to addding the water when I also added the apricots. All this warm sauce was poured over the browned drumsticks and baked for around half an hour. The sauce thickened in the oven so I didn't use any cornflour. The chicken was so juicy and the flavor beautifully ballanced, not too much of any one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Just the recipe I needed for my new waffle iron. Inever have buttermilk in so this suits me fine. I do use a lot of oil so they don't come out healthy but are crispy and lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crumpets

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I neeed to practise these, I think. They are a bit heavier than shop bought, but they taste really fresh and are quick to make for a yeast rise. I used rings of kitchen foil, which were a bit flimsy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
awsome muffins, never made muffins from scratch before and they turned out really well. They are even better with a little mixed fruit rather than chocolate chips. we did add a little vanilla and some sour cream just like the other reviewers suggested. YUMMY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batt2low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
what can i say but the cookies were yummy and chewy. We have made them 2 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batt2low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bananas Foster I

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really simple but also delicious. I wasn't sure the sauce would come together - it had separated a bit, but when the bananas went it, it all cooked down beautifully. This was dessert after Chinese food so I added a pinch of Chinese Five Spice with the cinnamon and Cointreau instead of rum because we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
love it was awsome and yummy didnt change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batt2low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunshine Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This chicken is just great, follow the recipe to a T and the family just loved it. Thanks will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batt2low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Crumble Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We have just eaten this for dessert and there is some left to have with coffee tomorrow. I used plum jelly which sunk to the bottom, and I forgot to check the cake so it had 1/2 an hour more than the recipe suggests. Even so, it was delicious. I'll use it again, a great way to use up left over fruit sauces and jellies. Thanks for the recipe. Update - took some into work, it has been requested again just two weeks later for our Christmas pot luck lunch, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
absolutly beautiful, stunning, yum, not change one bit except used brown sugar because i had it in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Cross Buns I

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great flavor, I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice but kept everything else the same. The dough seemed very wet and I used a lot of flour when handling it and it turned out good in the end. I made a big change to the cross, though. I mixed 2 tbs all-purpose flour, 1 tsp confectioner's sugar, 1tsp cornflour with enough water to make a paste. I piped the mixture on from a sandwich bag before baking. Not like shop bought, but really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's English Muffin Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I used this recipe as it had rated highly and I needed an English Muffin that could be made in a bread machine - too lazy to knead by hand! I cooked them as instructed for Traditional English Muffins. I'm really pleased how much like the real thing they look and taste. Much easier than I expected, I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Cone Treats

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I had to fiddle about too much with the recipe to give this a 4*. In the end the treats looked amazing but they were way too top heavy and very sweet cos of the frosting. Tip for transporting them, use the empty cone box, tape the end shut, draw circles of size needed, cut around 8 times from centre to edge of circle, fold down flaps to hold the cones steady to transport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 68) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States