Gloucestershire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fish in Foil

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was delicious! I used a whole salmon fillet that served two of us, a whole lemon and a whole jalapeno (fresh). Followed the recipe exactly and it was gorgeous! The fillet was frozen so I put it in the oven on 375 for 30 minutes and it came out perfectly. The only thing I would change is that I would de-seed the jalapeno next time as I found it a little spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Gorgeous! The whole house smelled deliciously spicy - I just wish I lived somewhere colder to appreciate the warming aroma! As someone suggested, I added walnuts to the recipe which was really tasty. Mine took about 20 minutes or so longer to cook but that is because I used different sized pans as I didn't have the required sizes! Hubby is yet to try it but I had a sneaky slice while he popped out to the store! He did comment on the lovely smell when he came in from work though :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Beef-Style Tofu Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We've used the recipe many times with different variations of the sauce - the crunchy tofu works well with stir-fry veggies and either rice or egg noodles. We have experimented with teriaki, orange, soy and any number of other seasonings to create different dishes - great dish with potential for a lot of variation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Kalua Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We added a whole clove of crushed garlic and about the same amount of grated fresh ginger to the liquid smoke, mixed it up, then rubbed it into the scored pork butt. We also laid out the foil then layered corn husks on top, placed the rest of the marinade onto the husks and wrapped the entire thing in corn husks (as they were to hand) on the top and bottom before completely sealing with foil. We cooked it as above. Note: When cooking more than one, it still only takes five hours cooking time if wrapped individually - I am a novice so we found that out the hard way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread)

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We had a tiki party for our housewarming and I wanted to add a few "authentic" dishes to the mix and this was an absolute hit! All the guests loved it, despite me leaving them in too long!!! I used a whole can of coconut milk and about half a can of condensed milk then added shredded coconut on top of twelve risen dinner rolls. The only thing slightly misleading is the rising time of the rolls - check the packet as I was expecting them to take two hours and they took more like three! My fault for not checking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Great recipe that has been used for entertaining and inspired my mum's partner to make his own version! We find it difficult to get the bacon to crisp up underneath but figure there is not much hope for that! As long as the dish is uncovered for the last 30 minutes so it crisps on top it is gorgeous :) Lovely with green veg and mashed potatoes :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aimee's Quick Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We tried this and loved it - we have since made it for family members when entertaining :) I find the mustard can be a bit strong (especially if using English mustard as we did) but my hubby loves that! We just changed the amount of mustard on each breast depending on personal taste. Great with potatoes and veg or on top of pasta :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff

Chocolate Nut Biscotti

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe was sooooo easy and the biscotti turned out really well. I drizzled half with chocolate and dipped the other half in chocolate. The dipped ones were the favourites. I also substituted almond essence instead of vanilla and used almond slivers, which I chopped up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff

Soccer Ball Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this for a friend's birthday party in a local restaurant and all the staff were amazed. Really easy to make. I used cherry laces, but it still looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
So easy to make and really tasty. My husband loves this recipe and has made it for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jiffy Jambalaya

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I used chorizo sausage for this. It would be just as nice with Italian sweet sausage, if you wanted something less spicy. Nice and filling on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Nice and quick to make, and not too spicy. It's easy to use up veg too. I used mushrooms, onions, yellow squash (cut into thin julienne strips). My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff

Sock it to Me Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This cake is easy to make and delicious. I used the glaze for Sock II. My husband couldn't wait for it to cool down!!! I'd only make half the quantity of glaze next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is by far the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever come across. I get requests to make it for parties and birthdays all the time. I top with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze to finish it off. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs smiff

Lemon Glazed Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
A lovely moist cake. Definitely a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was delicious! I replaced the shortening with butter but I actually liked that the cake was not as sweet as the rest of it. I put sugar in the whipped cream and dusted icing sugar over the top before serving, which provided some more sweetness. I also experimented with putting a layer of good strawberry jam (like Bon Maman or something homemade) in between the two layers of the shortbread, which added some more sweetness as well. Will definitely keep this in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Cambridge, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Fabulous!! I made a half batch of this as my DD has two friends coming tonight for a sleepover but my DB has told me to make another batch so that we can keep some for ourselves! Very easy and tastes wonderful...great for earning some supermummy brownie points!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERITY78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken with Peaches

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Gorgeous! Top marks for taste and ease! Peach season hasn't arrived here yet so I used tinned peaches and, as a previous reviewer recommended, I used some of the juice from the can and poured it into the bottom of the baking dish. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the outcome. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERITY78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Ultimate Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Fantastic flavour and so easy to prepare! I browned the meat the night beforehand and put it ready in the slow cooker with all the other ingredients so had to just flip the switch in the morning. We came home to a fabulous smelling house and a wonderful, healthy meal. Will be making this one A LOT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERITY78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Yummy! Simple, wholesome comfort food! Will be making this one frequently in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERITY78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-39 (of 39) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States