Gloucestershire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very easy to make and it tasted delicious. This was a big hit with all the family, even my ultra picky teenager. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisy30uk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Knead Beer Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Mine didnt rise in the oven it is very flat looking, havent tasted it yet though, having it with chilli for dinner in a little while...............any ideas as to what I did wrong for it to not rise further in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuufulhundin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Amazing!! I couldnt have been happier, they came out light and fluffy and just what a biscuit should be1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
the basic recipe is fine, however, the ketchup and brown sugar need to be put on the top not the bottom. I added a stalk of diced celery, 1 diced beef tomato, 1 shredded carrot, and half of a red pepper, diced to the meat mixture. I also lined my bread tin with bacon and then top off with the meatloaf mixture and then top with the ketchup and brown sugar and then more bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe except I substituted the apple sauce with Heavy whipping cream. Cooked for 20 mins and came out perfect. Moist chocolatey deliciousness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuufulhundin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I have tried this recipe 2 times, the first I used 8" loaf tins so split the mixture between the 2 and it cooked perfectly. Just now I split it between 8 in cake tins, cooked at the same temp but for 25 mins and they are now cooling on the rack, looking moist and ready to eat. Now I just have to decide what to use as a filling................ or not!!! This recipe is great, easy to do and I wouldnt look for another banana bread recipe EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuufulhundin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon-Raspberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
tried this out for the first time, didnt have lemon zest, only lemon essence, something was missing in the lemon flavor it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuufulhundin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Whenever I need a cake chocolate cake, this is always my go to recipe!!! No changes need, fantastic recipe! The cake doesnt taste of coffee, the coffee simply intensifies the chocolate! Amazing! I always cover with a butter cream icing and call it done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CEMME

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
After having read other reviews, I made a few changes, had the changes been part of the original recipe, this would have easily been a 5 star recipe. I added 4 tbsps of cornflour/starch to give it a lighter cake like texture and added 2 tsp of vanilla paste for an extra hint of flavour. For the buttermilk, I used evaoprated milk with 3 tsp of lemon juice(stirred) to make it an equivilent version of milk, making the cake more moist, being able then to eliminate the freezing bit after baking. Overall, a truely amazing cake! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Afternoon Tea Scones

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I found the dough to be overly wet, I added well over 1c of flour and the dough was still wet! After having cut the scones out, picking them up was a nightmare, they were exceptionally floppy and lost shape(being a lady of taste, there is nothing worse than handling something and it goes floppy and losses shape!) Then I baked them..... they didnt rise atall, infact, they just spread and then burnt! This isnt my first attempt at scones but this is my last attempt at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CEMME

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
totes amaze!! I have to say that I wasnt expecting much and my first lot of dough came out harder than a rock...but on the second, I doubled the yeast(nothing else) and they came out great! Apart from proving that I lack the talent to make the pretzel design! Great, great, great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Biscuit Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
brilliant!! I cant say enough good things about these!! As a basic recipe, you wont go wrong!! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CEMME

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I skipped the cake recipe all together and used the recipe for black magic cake and then used the filling! I have to say that the two combined are amazing!!! I also made a dark chocolate ganache on top but to be honest, it didnt really need it.... amazing! I think if the recipe for were black magic cake and the filling, it would be a 6 star rating!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is the BEST stuff ever!!! My husband and brother-in-law love when I make it. I alter the recipe a bit by using 2 tablespoons of dry mustard, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, put all the cheese in, and instead top with crushed Ritz crackers for a toasty touch. We also increase the recipe so everyone can have leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Renee Crates

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
So based on the reviews I read, I also modified the recipe to reflect the previous review, saying 2 C flour to 1 C butter... I also decided to add a bit of the juice from the cherries for extra flavor. I have to say that after mixing for a few moments with hand mixer the best way to describe the state of my kitchen was that of cocaine den! What a mess! So I would suggest that you do it in a food processor if you have one, HOWEVER, if you are using a food processor, do NOT mix for the recommended 10 mins, as the heat from the processor will melt the butter and ruin the mix! Mix it until it goes lighter in shade by several shades and looks fluffy and whipped, also ensure to scrap down the sides of the processor to ensure even mixing. But do pay attention to the mix and do NOT mix it for more than 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Wafers

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
QUote good. I made two batches - one with Walnuts, the other with Chilli (so at least some were child friendly). Rather than adding all the cheese, I kept 1/2 back then put 1/3rd on rolled out pastry, folded in 3, turned & rolled again, then repeated twice more. This gave a nice - almost puff pastry - wafer, rather similar to a Dutch brand of Cheese Crispies - also used 50% cheddar, 50% gouda cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pineapple Cake

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I made this for a church event and it went down a storm. Lovely with or without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Another family favourite that's ready in no time. Serve with a green salad and some nice Italian bread and job's a goodun'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potatoes Au Gratin with Fennel and Bacon

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is sooo easy to make and is well worth the cooking time. My family love it. Last time I omitted the bacon and used Mexican cheese. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Coffee Liqueur Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I made one for a friend and was asked to make another for another party the following week. I sprinkled a little more coffee liqueur on each sponge layer as I was assembling the cake and also added a tiny amount of coffee liqueur to the cream before beating. The only problem I had was getting the coconut to stick to the sides of the frosted cake. Other wise it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 39) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States