Cheshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Seafood Creole

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars from word of mouth as I don't actually like seafood so I had soup. Those that ate it were very impressed. It was a bit too spicy for my stepdaughter, but since she ate everything I gave her, she still loved it. I made a heck of a lot and there was a lot left over...for about an hour, then the Mr had three big bowls of it and it was gone! I tried to make the recipe as is, but had to substitute cod for haddock and lamb stock instead of chicken (it was what I had) also I added a bit of tomato paste as it was a litle runny. I've been told to make it again 'Or Else' :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
USE HALF THE BUTTER, 2 TBSP ONLY!! Ok, so I've made this recipe a few times now. Once it didn't turn out, the other times it turned out fantastic!! The key is to only use 2 tbsp of butter, not 4 tbsp as stated in recipe. That's it! I tried making it the first time exactly as the recipe stated, that's when it didn't turn out right. The other times I halved the recipe's butter and its been PERFECT ever since. My family are fudge lovers and this is my go to recipe now as we ALL love it!! Best of the bunch, as long as you half the butter or you'll get greasy fudge that bleeds liquid butter through the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cream Pie II

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Just made this to take to grandma's, yum! I added a teaspoon of instant coffee to intensify the chocolate but otherwise followed exactly and had no problem with it setting. My two little girls literally licked the pot clean! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was really good homemade mac and cheese. I omitted the parm cheese and baked it for 20 min. Very yummy. I do like the Dijon mustard but if you don't the base works without it and you can jazz it up with your own custom flavors (garlic, onion, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
What did I get wrong? The chilli sauce and chilli powder amounts stated made my ribs so hot as to be barely edible...and I LIKE hot and spicy food! Maybe I'm using the incorrect type of chilli sauce and/or powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Haywards Heath, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jenny's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very yummy! I didn't use onions because I'm the only one in my family who will eat them. I also used chicken sausage and added bacon (the meats I had around) but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. This dish was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancakes I

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
No more Bisquik for us!! Our family are big pancake fans and I found with this recipe to be light and not as heavy and sweet as others. I used self-rising flour b/c I didn't have all purpose on hand so I just omitted the baking powder and salt. I also added a drop of vanilla flavoring. I was skeptical at first when the recipe called for only 1 tbsn of sugar but I followed it and it tasted perfect when you add the sugary syrup or powdered sugar to it. Great recipe and will be making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a great tuna salad recipe so flavorful, easy to make and low-fat if you use fat-free mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These were so good! I covered them instead of basting and baked uncovered the last 15 minutes with cheddar cheese on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Sooooo good! I did combine the eggs and parmesan before mixing it into the noodles, just to save on hassle. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Tea Cakes I

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Wonderful. Made these after another recipe failed. These turned out perfect! I used chopped almonds for a bit sweeter nut. Lovely texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan-Style Pork Shoulder Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Fantastic way to jazz up pork. I made the recipe, served it up with couscous, extra sweet potatoes and a mediterranean style salad. Thought I would easily have enough to last 2 days, but the family devoured it - kids came back for seconds, and were still picking at the last bits as I tried to clear the table!! This could work well with a boneless leg of lamb too! I can only conclude that the reveiwer following me used light spices, or a proprietary curry powder...my family hvae eaten all over the world, and my kids like their food hot and spicy. This pork dish isn't hot, but if you use good quality ingredients - and maybe a splash of imagination with your dried fruits - there is no way this meal can be bland. Maybe making your own garam masala (curry powder) is the trick,as that is what I use. There was certainly no need for any extra salt, and I add salt to almost everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Haywards Heath, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caipirinha

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Should be available from Doctors!! There's something about Brazilian sugar cane rum that is distinctly different from other rums. This is NOT the same when made with anything other than genuine Brazilian cachaca...do not be fooled by imitations!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Haywards Heath, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuscan Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great recipe, used chorizo sausage and it came out perfectly. Would definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE4RICHARDS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
they tasted great, the cooking was a bit strange tho, had to leave it in for double the time. I made these for vaslentines day, shaped them into hearts! my boyfriend wants me to make them next week..just because! Nxt time I'll take some pictures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Cake Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Was worried about the consistancy of batter, but thanks to the other reviewers, I baked as is and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Te's Pad Thai

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Outstanding version of the classic Thai dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Haywards Heath, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Was really good. I would try adding a few raisians next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States