Moscow (Federal City) - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Russian Cabbage Borscht

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Been living in Russia for 10 years, and this was one of the best I've tried. There are several types of borsch - sweet or sour, tomato-ey or beet-ey. This is a beet-ey, sweet one which is just the type that I love. Tasted very authentic. I put in two medium sized beets (more than the recipe called for), and about 1.25L of broth (also more). I also added 350g of cubed beef. Simmered for about 4 hours. I would say it could about 4 people. No need to debate the merits of certain ingredients and whether they should or shouldn't be in a "real" borsch recipe. The end result is that this tastes exactly as borsch should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

Tomato Almond Pesto (Trapanese)

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I almost fell right into the trap of giving this recipe fewer than five stars, and self-promoting by mentioning how I would change it to suit my tastes. This is a solid recipe, with great ingredients, using sound cooking practices, and while my tastes differ somewhat, the original contributor should enjoy kudos for introducing me to something I hadn't otherwise experienced before. Thank you Casual Cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Chicken Tagine

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very tasty. was able to freeze half for another night. probably don't need to brown the chicken or eggplant but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
awesome. have never made meatballs before and followed the recipe to a T. froze half of them and definitely plan to make these again. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
overall pretty good, and certainly easy. followed other suggestions to remove chops and add sugar to better caramelize the onions on their own. then put the chops back to simmer for roughly 30 minutes. then added corn starch to thicken the sauce. removed lid after 10 min because it wasn't reducing or thickening. eventually gave up on "gravy" but flavor was fantastic and we just poured the onions and sauce on top of the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did modify a bit, as others have. Sauteed onion, red bell pepper and half a fresh jalapeno pepper until translucent. Added beef to pot and browned. Added several shakes of Mrs. Dash Spicy. When browned, put beef mixture in crock pot, added a can of medium spicy enchilada sauce and one small can tomato paste. Also added half a bag of frozen corn and a small can of sliced black olives. I used 2 boxes of Jiff cornbread mix, 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk mixed, then added 1 cup cheddar cheese. I poured that on top of the beef already in the crock pot and put it on low for 4 hours. When it was done, I topped it with more cheddar cheese and more black olives and then put it under the broiler just to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lagueux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Solstice Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Was looking around for a simple soup to go along with lunch today and found this. Very simple, especially if you like the taste of carrots and potatoes. Didn't have parsley and thyme on hand, used fresh coriander instead. My mother didn't particularly care for this soup, but my sister and I really enjoyed it. Added a healthy pinch of chili to suit our tastes. Will make again using the reccomended herbs, and then again following a suggestion of one of the reviewers to add curry. Oh, didn't read the exact instructions before making, and I tossed in the onions, potatoes and carrots all at the same time. Used a mixture of butter and olive oil, and reduced the quantity too. Lovely golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It's came out pretty good, but as others recommended here I used shortening, but I replaced half shortening with cream cheese as we love it. So I ended up with 50/25/25% butter/ shortening/cream cheese. I also used half sugar (and for me it was still soooooo sweet:) ), and doubled vanilla extract. As I was going to decorate my cake with grass, I also found that adding 1 tsp of cream of tartar helps my cream to hold better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MercyRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Basil Chicken

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Very good! Eyeballed the measurements, skipped the garlic salt and used extra fresh garlic instead, and used five birds eye chillis because I wanted it pretty spicy. Used bone in chicken, and added added some water after adding all the ingredients except the basil. Covered and let it boil down to a nice gravy. I tasted this before adding the basil, and again after, the fresh basil really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Yummy! I honestly did not expect much of this even though the reviews seem to rave about it. I was proven absolutely wrong! The flavors meld together really well. Made this with strips of boneless chicken thigh and had it with a salad. I liked it so much I made it again the next day, this time increasing the garlic and reducing the olive oil. Prefer it with more garlic and less oil. I heated the minced the garlic and olive oil in the micro on low for two minutes, stirring every thirty seconds. Also added some chili flakes because I like the heat. Added the chicken to the garlic/oil mixture and mixed to coat, and then added the parm/bread crumbs to the same bowl. Less clean up! Gave the parm/bread crumbs mixture a few whirs in the blender so that the chicken would look just like fried chicken, and not have the little parm flakes sticking out after baking. I definitely see myself making this over and over again. So easy, and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Oh wow, this has got to be one of the best recipes I've made from this site. I cubed chicken thighs, and marinated only for an hour. Used homemade pesto and homemade sundried tomato paste. The flavors went together so well! Used all the garlic called for in the marinade, and discarded part of it along with the excess egg. My roommate raved about it and said that it tasted like something you would pay good money for in a restaurant. I think that cubing and then marinating with the garlic gave the chicken a very good flavor. Added a pinch of salt and some chili flakes to the marinade. Used milk to seal the edges, and then pressed down with a fork for a nice pattern. Not the healthiest of meals, but oh so good.... Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cool Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was a great fast cucumber salad that was really easy to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

Bacon Wrapped Delights

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Yum, I used this a base for what I was making. Used frozen baby beans, thawed and drained, and sprinkled some salt, pepper, brown sugar and chili flakes on it. Wrapped the bacon around the beans and secured it with a toothpick. Baked at 200deg C for 15 minutes, flipped it, and baked for another ten or so minutes. Made for a very pretty presentation. I was aiming to reduce fat (as much as I could at least, since bacon was involved), so I put a generous amount of beans on the bacon, and could only fold the bacon over with about an inch on each side. Also used foil on my pan for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Potato Kugel

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Scaled this down to one egg since I was cooking for myself. This made for a good side dish with pork steak. Used red onion because that's what I had, and three little potatoes. Really good. Definitely will make again. Since I made so little, it spread over the bottom of the pan in a thin layer, and I folded it into three like how you would an omelette for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sun-dried Tomatoes I

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
These are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
OMG I am so glad I made this. I've had this recipe saved for almost two years, and I've only just made it, and boy, was it good! I mixed up 1 T of flour, some Italian herbs (because I didn't have dill), lemon pepper, salt and some chili flakes in a zip-loc bag, then added strips of boneless chicken thigh to it until evenly coated. Sautéed garlic in the skillet with butter, then added chicken. I did follow the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of cream slightly. Added a pinch of chicken cube and 1 T of water to the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes. Served over spinach fettuccine with butter and Parmesan. Scaled down to one. Loved it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Amazing! I added a generous pinch of red pepper flakes, a oich of garlic powder, and some S & P. Also sliced the chicken into strips and baked at 200deg C for twenty minutes. Added a little butter to the pan before laying down the chicken. So good! The chicken was juicy and tender, and so flavorful. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinara Sauce I

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
A very good simple sauce. I blended everything, including the garlic and parsley. Simmered the mixture for about 30 minutes. Left out the wine as I didn't want to open a bottle, and it was still great. Added a pinch of sugar. Served with Meatball Nirvana from this site and spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh my gosh! Amazing! Made a meringue topping and added it after baking the curd layer for ten minutes. Followed tips from others, added a little salt to the crust, and got rave reviews from the people eating it. As for the curd, added the zest of three lemons, and half a cup of juice. Made this in a smaller pan, so had to bake each layer a bit longer. Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I had this recipe in mind when I threw this dressing together, but didn't actually refer to it. Mixed together honey, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and freshly cracked pepper, and added three cloves of crushed garlic. I let it sit for an hour before using it on a baby spinach/Parmesan salad. Scrumptious! Can't wait to try the recipe as its written, the flavors must be more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States