Russian Federation - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Tagine

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very tasty. was able to freeze half for another night. probably don't need to brown the chicken or eggplant but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
awesome. have never made meatballs before and followed the recipe to a T. froze half of them and definitely plan to make these again. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
overall pretty good, and certainly easy. followed other suggestions to remove chops and add sugar to better caramelize the onions on their own. then put the chops back to simmer for roughly 30 minutes. then added corn starch to thicken the sauce. removed lid after 10 min because it wasn't reducing or thickening. eventually gave up on "gravy" but flavor was fantastic and we just poured the onions and sauce on top of the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did modify a bit, as others have. Sauteed onion, red bell pepper and half a fresh jalapeno pepper until translucent. Added beef to pot and browned. Added several shakes of Mrs. Dash Spicy. When browned, put beef mixture in crock pot, added a can of medium spicy enchilada sauce and one small can tomato paste. Also added half a bag of frozen corn and a small can of sliced black olives. I used 2 boxes of Jiff cornbread mix, 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk mixed, then added 1 cup cheddar cheese. I poured that on top of the beef already in the crock pot and put it on low for 4 hours. When it was done, I topped it with more cheddar cheese and more black olives and then put it under the broiler just to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lagueux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Grain Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Super yum! Only change I made was to increase the oil on account of no applesauce to be found! Kids loved it. Mom's happy. Big win all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It's came out pretty good, but as others recommended here I used shortening, but I replaced half shortening with cream cheese as we love it. So I ended up with 50/25/25% butter/ shortening/cream cheese. I also used half sugar (and for me it was still soooooo sweet:) ), and doubled vanilla extract. As I was going to decorate my cake with grass, I also found that adding 1 tsp of cream of tartar helps my cream to hold better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MercyRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burmese Chicken-Coconut Soup (Ohn No Kyawswe)

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Unbelievably yum! Made it pretty much as written, except the chick was already cooked, skipped optional garnishes, and only 1/4t cayenne, which left it still quite spicy. Even at that, my 10 and 7 year olds happily devoured their portions, alternating bites with salad or bread to mitigate the heat! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Fantastic! I very rarely give a recipe a 5, but this one deserves it. Even my two older "we don't eat any fish but tuna from a can" daughters loved it and asked for more. Even better cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Rum Punch

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Simple and decent. Was in the mood for something a bit tangy so only used half the sugar. Worked well, got pretty smashed :). The nutmeg gave it an aroma which reminded me of bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kangaroo495

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

Chicken Riggies II

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Delicious and really easy! You need a solid 45 min to do this one but it's totally worth it! The only reason you need that much time is because the cooking is in stages, not because it is all that involved or complex. I made this recipe for just 2 people and still ended up using half of the adjusted cream amount so do what the other reviewers suggested, and add the cream slowly so you can see how thin/thick the sauce gets. I didn't have sherry and substituted vinegar and sugar instead. Also didn't have the peppers but added a dash of cracked red pepper and sliced green olives instead. Lastly, I only had spicy tomato sauce instead of fresh tomatoes and this proved delicious too! Definitely making this again! Served with spinach salad and warm garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy & Tasty Kale Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
great way to get that healthy kale into your diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A great, easy recipe for lovely lemon cake frosting! When I'd just made it, I thought there might be too much lemon juice in it, but once I'd iced the cake with it, I realised it was perfect. It was maybe a tad bit dry, but this might be my mistake of not having enough icing sugar and using 70g of white sugar instead to substitute. Otherwise, a very nice way to add a little lemon taste to an ordinary yellow cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PorcelainFox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PorcelainFox

David's Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I followed every direction faithfully and carefully, and ended up with two wonderful layers of yellow cake - very tasty! I managed to forget to add the milk to the batter at first, so I only added it at the end, but it hardly made any difference (of course, next time I'll try to make it right). The tops of the layers came out just a tad bit burnt, but this might be my old oven's fault. Either way, the taste and texture of the cake were perfect. I made this cake for my sister's birthday party, and as I'm not yet that good at cake decoration, I was afraid her thirteen-year-old friends weren't going to like it so much. Nevertheless, all I got were comments about how amazing the cake was - they ate up almost all of it in under two hours! Very impressed. I know that next time I'm certainly going to make more of the batter, since my layers seemed a little too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PorcelainFox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Rice and Lentils (Majadara)

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Turned out much better than I expected, even though I didn't have a full cup of lentils to add in. Chicken stock to replace the water adds some extra flavor. 2 of my 3 kids ate it up happily, so I count that a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Super easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

Creamy Celery Root Mash

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
What a great recipe! I added chopped chives and grated Parmesan cheese right before serving. Great alternative to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Berman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PorcelainFox

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
A perfect recipe that's not too hard for a beginner and very tasty indeed! I tried this with a friend this Christmas and the dough wasn't too hard or soft, and the amounts of sugar and butter in it were perfect. Everyone who tried them loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PorcelainFox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Apple Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I really like this recipe, although I used a little less sugar, butter and flour and replaced chocolate chips with red currant berries. It came out very delicious and moist. My whole family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasialibeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Indian Style Okra

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Loved it, and so did my husband. Added chopped tomatos (1-2), and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

Heavenly Delicious Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Unbelievably easy, fast and DELICIOUS! I have served them with a scoop of Low Fat Cool Whip. I will invite guests to impress them with this piece of heaven made by me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States