Hungary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blueberry Breakfast Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Well...I made this 3 days ago for the first time. Yesterday, I ran out. So I walked to the nearest store, a 5 minute walk, for more blueberries. Four stores, several miles and quite a bit of time later I was still blueberry-less. It was dark so I returned home. But, now I have another jar of it cooling! Crisis averted!!! I'm only using 1/3 c. of sugar per 2 cups of blueberries. This sauce is YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I loved this chili! I omitted the jalapenos and used about 2 cups of chicken broth. Grated pepper jack on top and sprinkled with cilantro. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Churros II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These were delicious! My boys love churros and they said that these were awesome. I enjoyed them as well. The only changes I made were using butter and adding 1 tsp of vanilla to the water. I used a ziploc freezer bag with a star tip. I accidentally touched the bag to the pan, so it melted a hole in my bag. I ended up closing up my star tip and using the hole to pipe through. Worked fine. My star tip, wilton #30 seemed too small anywaya. I will probably look for a bigger one and make this again since it was such a hit. I am so glad I tried this recipe and not the one without eggs. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe for children to make, with supervision. My two boys, 9 and 11, have been in charge of making this pie for about 2 years now. We always use a graham cracker crust. Turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta with Broccoli and Bacon

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Added sundried tomatoes and a sundried tomato stir-through sauce instead of the spaghetti sauce. It deserves a star just for how pretty the pasta looks when you drain it with the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Mediterranean Style

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a nice, summery meal. I didn't want it to be so mushy, so instead of a can of tomatoes I used chopped real tomatoes which cooked down nicely but not into complete liquid. Used much greater amounts and variety of dried herbs and chucked in a few black olives for good measure. I think this would be really good with a splash of white wine in the sauce. Actually, I wish I had a chilled glass of wine to go with it, it's one of those dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Crispy Orange Beef

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Made it out of pork instead of beef but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread I

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
delicious! i also use 2/3 cup sour cream instead of buttermilk and i made them into muffins, so good! they were gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan
Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vajta, Fejér, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Just made this yesterday, it was AMAZING. My family devoured it within 10 minutes. Better than some I've had a actual Indian restaurants, definitively a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Loved it! Not too sweet, crunchie and soft in the middle. Added a bit less of peanut butter, because I ran out :) Also added extra raisins which go extremely well with these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Sifted out the onions from the soupmix and used only the onions as directed at a later comment by the submitter. Did not change anything else. My entire family loved this! Other meatloaf recipes were not successful. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danube66

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good recipe. I used 2/3 C whole wheat and 1 cup unbleached regular flour,reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, increased raspberries to 1 cup. Made the house smell wonderful! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimquat4

Strawberry Tiramisu for Two

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Tiramisu is my favorite dessert and I loved this variation. It definitely made more than enough for two (but I don't mind!) I accidentally used regular sugar for the filling, but it turned out fine. This was also my first time making my own whipped cream, and it was easy and delicious. I didn't have enough strawberries to make the puree, but it was fine without it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was really tasty but I needed to add more vinegar because it was a bit too bland at first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danube66

Banana Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good recipe. I made some modifications - used half whole wheat and and half unbleached white flour, added 3 tbsp butter, and used 1 1/2 cup fresh blueberries. I think it could have used a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Beef Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was okay, and simple to put together, but I wasn't that impressed with the flavor. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I don't want to give this a bad rating because apparently this method works for most of you, but I live in Hungary and the eggs here taste and look much different than back home in the states, and this method didn't work for me. I used fresh eggs from the market and after following these steps the yolks were still uncooked in the very middle. I have to leave my eggs in the hot water for 20-25 minutes for the middle of the yolks to be completely cooked. So I guess the cooking time depends on the size and freshness of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimquat4

Boiled Bagels

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I live in a country where I can't get bagels...so I had to try to make these! It was much easier than I expected, although my first batch wasn't as "big" as I'd hoped. I think it takes a few tries until you know when the dough is kneaded enough. I don't have much experience with dough so I may have over kneaded. But they were still great and I made 8 and put most in the freezer (before I ate them all). Next time I'll make them smaller and add some sesame or poppy seeds and maybe a bit more salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was my first time using turkey in chili and I wasn't disappointed! I didn't have crushed tomatoes but I used a whole box of tomato puree and it was fine, just not as chunky as I usually like. I also added a bit of cinnamon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Just made last night. Absolutely delicious. Pounded the breast to even thickness, about 1/2 inch. Filled as directed, drenched in flour, browned on both sides for 7 minutes in cast iron skillet and finished cooking the chicken in 350 degree oven in 15-20 minutes. Removed chicken to a plate, kept warm. Added wine and bouillon to pan. Simmered for 3 minutes, then finished with the cream and let that thicken. Wow! I can not encourage you enough to try this recipe. I would feel so proud to serve this to family and company. Thank you so much for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States