Hungary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
My friend Anna Olson made it, and it was THE BEST apple pie I ever had and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZABELLA.NAGY Hungary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nagykanizsa, Zala, Hungary
Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Pumpkin Cake III

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I did some modifications: I used 200 grams of margarine instead of the oil, and used only 200 g of sugar. I added 1 tsp of ground cloves aswell. This cake is always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Pear Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Just making this cake for the second time! YUMM! Used soy oil insted of canola and almonds insted of pecans. Still delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margaritas

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Wow! I just made this to try it for future parties. I scaled everything back for just one drink. 1 oz limeade, 1 oz tequila and a splash of triple sec. Poured it over crushed ice and I am in heaven! Thank you so much for such a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These were delicious! The sauce made enough for 8 lbs of ribs from Costco. I did not make any changes at all! 3 adults and 2 preteens devoured this, served with garlic bread and salad. Thank you so much for the recipe. I will use this sauce for chicken as well in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dulifooli

Hungarian Coconut Balls

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I am hungarian and we made this ball with a special biscuit called Háztartási Keksz. It needed to grind first, or you can buy grinded biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulifooli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

Red Snapper Livornese

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Delicious! Didn't change a thing. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Spaetzle Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wow! This was absolutely delicious! I multiplied everything by 1 1/2 to increase the amount. This gave us 6 servings of 1/2 cup each. My entire family loved this. I served it with chicken paprikash from this site. I grew up in Hungary, this is just like "nokedli." Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke

Grilled Fish Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Well...it's good, but it didn't blow me away. In all fairness, it might have been the fish I was using. I bought a huge bag (actually, my husband picked it) of fish in the frozen section, not a good idea. Fresh fish is 100x better. Anyhow, this was super easy to prepare and there certainly wasn't anything wrong with it, but I've had better fish. Ah, try it, who knows, maybe you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Brooke

Coconut Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This bread has a pleasant mild flavor. I can imagine that it would be nice next to a coffee or tea. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used 1/2 c. milk and 1/2 c. of sour cream because other reviewers mentioned that their bread was dry. Mine is certainly not dry. It's got a nice brown crust and it's moist on the inside. That being said, be sure to really prep your pan well because I didn't do it well enough and my bread stuck to the bottom of the pan. Also, the hard sugar top it a nice addition. Normally, I would skip adding extra sugar, but I tried it and it's nice. Happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was looking for a pancake recipe for making a nice brunch for my family. We live in Europe and use slim, rolled up pancakes, but this time I wanted to try the American thick type. These came out perfect and tasted excellent, everyone loved them!!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke

Orange Almond Biscotti II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm having a hard time rating this biscotti...it's actually okay but I probably won't make it again. Unfortunately, I can't decide what exactly is bothering me about the flavor. I can say that it was very easy to prepare. One of my logs was ultimately bigger than the other and therefore I discovered, while slicing it, that the dough was still raw. I cooked those slices a bit longer than the others and they were absolutely fine in the end. I also like the consistancy of this biscotti. It's hard, but not so hard that it's tearing up your palate. Next time I'll probably try it without the orange and with more almond extract. Anyhow, happy baking! Update-I made this again but I replaced the almonds and orange with approx 3/4 c. coconut and 1 tsp of vanilla. I like them more than the first batch, but I think I know the underlying problem now. The background tastes like egg. I'm going to search for a recipe with fewer eggs, which is a shame because the consistancy of these are very nice - hard but once they're dipped they soften perfectly. So the search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Brooke

Chicken Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love pot pie!!! Okay, I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because with a few additional ingredients it becomes much tastier - some thyme, oregano, fresh ground pepper. Also, rather than canned veggies I've found that frozen veggies retain more flavor. I just pop them into the microwave and defrost them, add the soup (I use two cans of whatever combo is available,) spices, throw together a crust and this dish is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Brooke

Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not bad! It's very rich. I only used 1 c. sugar because another reviewer mentioned that it was too sweet, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I used the eggs whites to make meringue and popped it in the oven for 10 minutes. I was finished preparing the entire pie, including making and baking the crust and meringue in less than an hour. What more can you ask for?!? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Brooke

Coconut Cream Pie VI

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Yummy!! This pie is great! I'm particularly happy with it because it's not loaded with sugar and it doesn't leave an unpleasant taste in your mouth. It's very nice. I did make a few changes according to other's suggestions. I only used 2 tsp of vanilla and I did add a bit more coconut. I used the egg whites to top the pie with meringue ("good meringue" recipe off of this site, but with only ~1/4 cup of sugar) and it turned out wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Brooke

Good Meringue

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Wow! I had no idea how easy meringue is to prepare! I took the advice of another reviewer and used ~1/4 cup of sugar and it tastes and looks great! I baked it on 200 C for about 9 minutes. Wonderful! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Brooke

Stuffed Beef and Black Bean Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I love this!! It was so easy and the flavor actually resembles tamales! I threw it together in minutes, topped it with cheese (left out the onions) and it was great!! Oh, I had to substitute kidney beans for black beans because there weren't any available and I made the corn bread mix from scratch (it's much better than the boxed cornbread and only takes ~3 minutes to prepare.) I will make this again for sure, thanks! This was my first new recipe for 2011 and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I'm not sure how to rate this because I modified it considerably and it was perfect. I didn't peel or seed the tomatoes, I omitted the butter entirely and added only a few spoons of cream and it was light, and tasted like fresh tomatoes, not cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The chicken was really tender and moist; it was great. I eyeballed the wine, and it was probably closer to 1/2 cup. Next time I will brown the chicken for a longer time to get more color and crisp before adding the liquid. Lemon is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My first time making chicken pot pie and it was easy and good. I didn't have celery, and added mushrooms and sugar snap peas but I think this is a basic recipe that can be adjusted based on what you have handy/fresh. I threw in a bay leaf and bullion cube to the water to cook the chicken, and voila! No need to buy additional chicken broth. I live in Hungary, where I can't find canned soups like cream of mushroom, which is why I chose this recipe because everything is from scratch. Like others, I cooked the bottom crust first for about 8 minutes, but the bottom was still kind of soggy: I think it's unavoidable. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States