Europe - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Bistec Encebollao

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
3,5 stars. This isn`t a bad recipe, but not a great recipe for us. Maybe I had a strong vinegar but the taste of vinegar was overpowered. The meat had a tangy flavor although it was very moist. Very easy to make too. Probably won`t make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
It was good, but something was off. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added about a cup more broccoli. I will try it again with mild cheddar instead of sharp, maybe that'll take away the weird flavor that it developed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
It's always the easy ones that amaze me! I cut the recipe down to two servings and used a pestal and mortar to crush garlic with a big pinch of salt. Added the butter and garlic powder and crushed it all until it was well combined. Grilled my steaks as shown in the video (cross pattern and all), then smeared the butter on them while they rested. Great simple recipe for delicious sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Wonderful! Great texture and flavor. Don't skip the shortening, as I think it's the key to raising these cookies to amazing status. They are like Lofthouse cookies from the grocery store, but without unnecessary extra ingredients and strange chemical flavor. My husband doesn't like Lofthouse cookies but loves these. I like both, but definitely prefer these. This will be my go-to sugar cookie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Curried Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this a few times. The first time I used boneless skinless breasts and followed some other reviewers' suggestions to brown the chicken before covering with sauce. The chicken was kind of dry and the sauce didn't taste grea. Now I use a big package of bone-in thighs and drumsticks and don't cook them at all (just season them as instructed in the recipe) before pouring the sauce over them. My goodness! This is one recipe I'd highly suggest following as written. The chicken is incredible, and the sauce is MUCH better for having all that time to bake in the oven. I've used variations of dairy, just depending what I have on hand. Anything from whole milk to heavy cream (and mixtures of the two) have worked great for me. I've also used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom soup - tastes great! This is a keeper! Oh, and if I have extra apples, I use two. Same with onions. I just like the texture of those things a whole lot. Finally, the recipe says to add salt, pepper, paprika and curry powder to taste - it might take a couple tries to figure out what amounts of these things you like, but it's worth it :) As others have said, it's impossible to be precise with curry measurements because curry powders vary so widely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe using 3/4 cup of GF flour blend - without any gums added - and enjoyed the brownies very much. I don't care for the use of xanthan gum and by reading the other reviews mentioning that the batter seemed "glob-like" or "sticky" felt this was because of the gum and chose to omit it altogether. I used an 8X8 square baking dish (approx. 2 inches high) and they cooked evenly throughout in approximately 30 minutes. The end product was crumbly. I imagine this was due to the lack of any binders. I will definitely use this recipe again. The taste is in fact delicious just like a traditional brownie. Perhaps the next time I'll use some arrowroot or sweet rice flour to help bind more. Thank you Lindsay for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Parsley Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Goes well with the Puff pastry salmon recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Puff Pastry Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I am glad I tried this recipe as it showed me how easy puff pastry is. As Danigirl days, it really does only take a few minutes. After reading a few reviews, I did up the seasoning, and I added a few cubes of feta. I used extremely well-drained frozen spinach and had no issues with a soggy crust. It was in fact delightfully crispy. I finished with a creamy white parsley sauce as it goes so well with salmon. Thanks Danigirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I just knew this was going to be good. I don't know what crescent roll dough is and even if I did I wouldn't be able to find it. I reduced the ingredients to a yield of 6 and I used a 6 1/2" square tin. The filling was just enough. I did find it a bit too sweet, so will reduce the sugar a little next time. A couple of days later the sweetness wasn't so apparent. I put a few in the deep freeze to see what gives. I also thought that next time I may try rum or cognac instead of the vanilla. Anyway.....it was awful nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten Free Pie Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This worked perfectly. I did use cocoa flavoured GF crispy rice cereal instead of Chex and cocoa powder and sugar. It held up perfectly to my cheesecake. Thanks Johnnycakes for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I have made this many times and enjoy it more and more. I don't put the pasta in because I really don't like pasta in soup. I have it on the stove right now and the house smells wonderful. This time I am using a whole turkey breast as well and the ground turkey. I have used purple and green kale in this batch. Almost makes going to work tomorrow something to look forward to because this will be in my lunch box! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie

Gluten-Free Boulangerie: Some Bread for the Table

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Never fail recipe for real crunchy artisan gluten free bread. I've tried this with many different alterations (arrowroot instead of sweet rice flour; milk powder instead of egg substitute; honey and molasses instead of sugar; sorghum for the garfava flour-it is a forgiving recipe that comes out wonderful and tasty every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Carrot Pineapple Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I like this cake because it does not have oil but the directions omit to say it should be baked in 2 8inch pans or equivalent otherwise you will have a mess and waste of expensive ingredients. Also, sugar can be cut back. For us any cake that is too sweet is not to our tastes but then we are in the minority. I might add it takes a bit longer to make a carrot cake with butter but the finished product is superior. Thanks for submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fabulous! So simple as well. I used butter, as I always do. I think shortening is disgusting. I think some of the people that review these recipes don't know how to cook. I read that one person forgot the baking powder but "didn't think that would have made enough difference to not make them turn out well" (DUH)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding with Praline Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
A good old bread pud, but far too sweet. I didn't use bread, but stale brioche. Also I don't see the need to put everything one by one. I mixed it all together and left it for 30 mins to soak well. I dislike dried fruit cooked, so used some cherries and raspberries. The praline sauce was a delicious addition. Note. One usually makes bread pud with stale bread. It used to be the dessert of the poor and was taken down to the baker for him to cook with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Best steak marinade ever! We use it all the time, the only way I can eat steak now. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenRioux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie

Gluten-Free Donuts

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Definitely a keeper recipe! If you are looking for a "feed that craving" donut this is for you! The fact that it is GF is simply a plus, but will satisfy anyone; celiac or not. The coconut flavour is not overpowering which is something I was concerned about. They are easy and fast to make. The ratios of flours and liquids are right on as are the instructions. I used a soup spoon to drop the batter in the oil and they held together perfectly. The first half of the batter I used as directed, then I added about 1 Tbsp of baking powder and that lightened them up even more. The original recipe yields a light and delicious donut. The addition of the baking powder rendered even more light and delicate giving it the stretch and airy texture you get with yeast donuts, the kind that simply melt in your mouth. I ended up with 15 donuts, each about 2.5 inches in diameter. Thank you Michelle2s for this fantastic recipe. No need to cry when passing by the donut shop anymore! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Cinnamon Raisin Bread II

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe, have made it maybe 6 times now since I bought my first bread machine 2 months ago. I make it with organic 1/2 white bread flour or sometimes all white organic bread flour and it's lovely both ways! Tip take the dough out when it beeps (the hook will prob come out too, that's ok, do NOT turn off the machine, let it keep kneading with nothing inside) and quickly flatten it out on the counter, sprinkle your raisins all over and press in, then roll the whole thing up and give it a few kneads, put the hook and dough back in the machine and let it finish. That way the raisins are perfectly distributed. They do NOT mix in well enough by sprinkling them in. Another tip, if your bread does not brown on top like mine, rub a little butter all over the top when it's done, and broil it for 2/3 mins, it'll be lovely and brown and a lot more appetising! Also! I make mine on the express setting (only 1 hour!!) on my Oster machine. Turns out perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Sullivan Marchese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomingburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Grilled Salmon with Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
What a wonderful tasting salmon dish. I used salmon steaks, and for the Avocado salsa i put all in my little chopper and ground it up a bit. It has such a nice little bite to it, i will make this again. Thank you Sherri for this recipe it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was super easy to prepare and cook. I didn't use as much salt and I think I used more cayenne pepper, sometimes I just dump and don't measure, this was one of those recipes. I let the shrimp set it seasoning mix for about 30 minutes adding the juice of half a lemon the last 5 minutes and grilled, they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States