Yukon Territory - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Speedy Homemade Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good basic salsa. I added the juice of half a lime as well as the vinegar(and I only had balsamic but no big difference) and ooh la la, that was a good decision. It adds to the fresh taste. Chopped cilantro also kicks it up in freshness and taste. I only had serrano and habanero peppers in the fridge, so I used serrano. Another great flavour, and not any hotter than hot jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon with Habanero-Lime Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The habanero butter is so good, and like others say, worth making a batch and keeping on hand in the fridge. I've been using it to butter my husband's lunch bagels (with turkey and cheese) and he loves it and has asked me to make more. I read the recipe wrong and only had time to marinate the salmon for about an hour. This wasn't enough to transfer the flavour and heat into the filet. We were disappointed with how mild and boring it was, but I think that was my fault. The habanero butter rocks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Yam Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Based on other reviews I cut the sugars by half and indeed it was still sweet enough. Otherwise the first time I made these I followed the recipe as is and really enjoyed it. The second time I added cinnamon, ginger, raisins and walnuts. That was good too. Moves it into the 'carrot cake' realm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wazzu Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this exactly as stated except I put it in the slow cooker to simmer for hours on low. We enjoyed it, it's a good recipe but I probably won't make it again. For a kickin' crazy hot delicious chili I'm gonna stick with the 5 star rated Hellfire Haberno Chili on this site. The flavours are more complex, and the chili is hotter. We liked it better overall. Next I'm going to try the 5 star rated Smokin' Scoville Turkey Chili and see how it compares. It would be nice to have 2 fantastic chili recipes to bounce back and forth with depending on the mood......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
more like cake than shortcake. made the changes suggested by another and used butter and vanilla. Also a bit dry. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
The leaves on my cabbage were small so I layered this like a cabbage roll lasagna and baked it for an hour. It was very, very good. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Made this with cheddar cubes, grated onion and some garlic. it was excellent. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins I

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
very good. very easy. made them with peanut butter chips and pecans. gonna make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wow, this is one of the best recipes I have ever found on here. AMAZING! I also used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericasalad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Habanero Hellfire Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
So hot, so good. My new favourite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Tart With Pecan Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Easy, light tasting, not too sweet, healthy, fast. I've made this twice now and have decided that it's my 'go to' pumpkin pie recipe from now on. No reason to make any other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pinto Bean Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was a base recipe for me. I used up some Lightlife Mexican 'ground meat' which already was seasoned instead of the ground meat. I adjusted seasoning to taste by increasing amounts and adding a couple things like dried jalapenos and a dried garlic and red pepper mix. It works great as a starter guide like and makes a nice basic recipe for those who don't like a lot of heat but also allows you to add heat easily to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
A great recipe...is exactly the same as a recipe out of my cookie book, but with a reduced amount of molasses...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yukonchicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Yum!! Would have given it 5 stars for the sauce (which is sweet and perfect over rice) but only gave it 4 stars because the meatballs themselves are quite plain. I doctored mine up with some extra ingredients: some dijon mustard, soya sauce, worchestire sauce, extra garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blender Chocolate Mousse II

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Awesome quick dessert! I used a giant dark chocolate bar I had on hand and took the sugar down to just 1/4 cup. Also, I used Irish creme for the liqueur. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericasalad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
An amazing recipe. Best to spoon the marinade over the meat before baking, but use tin foil or something on the bottom of the dish or you'll be scrubbing forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy

Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Really great, quick recipe. Definitely double it at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Very simple, quick yet delicious recipe. I made cupcakes and the liners should be filled only 1/2 way to avoid over flow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Honey Pecan Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
A really great recipe that I will definately use again and again. I just didn't pound them thin, my hubby likes a thicker cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Egg Lemon Pound Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect for me. I was a little worried as I read the reviews while it was baking, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States