Yukon Territory - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Not so simple Simple Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Fast, easy and good. Actually much easier than I thought it would be. I added the recipe to my handwritten cookbook I keep of our 'standard' recipes. I did change it by using fresh spinach which I wilted first by steaming. I also simply used one precut package for this because I picked it up on sale and what was left of a package of fresh baby spinach I needed to finish off. The amount was perfect. The taste was perfect also. I did toss in some Tomato Bruchetta spice mix I had. I used all FF products and the cottage cheese was fine curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I won't make this again. Like another reviewer said, soggy and greasy. It looked unappealing with the butter slick on it, and was mushy. AND it was way too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly. Too bad, it was truly easy to put together. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I thought they were really good fresh, but didn't stay fresh tasting very long - the berries made the cake around them kinda mushy, and they didn't taste that great out of the freezer for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I've made this a coupla times now and think it's great. I use fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic salt, and chipotle salsa instead of tomato sauce for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Habanero Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I did not remove the heat - why use habs then? - and oh my gosh, that's a hot little recipe. Used 10 largish habaneros with seeds removed, and raw sugar, because that's what I had. Compellingly fiery and sweet. But holy tamoley, they've got a kick. Not for the faint of heart or stomach in their unaltered state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oatmeal Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I didn't think they had much flavour, were pretty bland as is. Also, personal taste, I don't like a soft cookie and that's what these are. I was just desperate for a banana recipe that wasn't bread, so I made them. They did not travel well, as stated, but were crumbly, soft and fell apart. Not a great cookie to eat while you're driving! But outside of personal taste, I still can't give them more than 3 stars without playing with the recipe. Back to the drawing board.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Dip Ever

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It was okay. I used all beef broth instead of water to increase the flavour, but it was still just okay. Next time I'll use some of the suggestions to bump up the taste, but I'm not in a hurry to make it again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Cilantro Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Not sure what the whole 5 star fuss is about. I made it exactly except marinated it for about an hour before putting it on the BBQ. The taste was just okay, subtle. Honey is expensive and I didn't get a lot of bang for my buck. It was boring. I'm not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven-Minute Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I was a little loosey-goosey with measuring the corn starch, plus I was using rice milk which is thin like skim milk, so it didn't set up thick like pudding. Oh well. However, it was delicious. I added nutmeg and a wee bit of cinnamon while cooking. I used a suggestion and whirred all the ingredients in a blender and then heated it on the stovetop. I served it like a parfait, in a wine glass, with banana slices in the middle. On top I put some Dinette cake from this site, added more pudding and topped it with chocolate sauce. OMG! Good! The pudding had just cooled to room temperature, and I warmed the cake a little just before putting it in. I'll make the parfaits again, next time with berries.....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this recipe today with no alterations. I baked them for 8 minutes with no burning or falling. Cookies came out moist and tasty. I used unsalted room temperature butter. I find if I bake cookies using microwaved or melted butter/margarine, that they will fall flat and bake crisp/dry. I also have tried avoiding salted butter, as I suspect the excess salt has been to blame for more than one batch of dried out cookies in the past. (but I am no Martha & I have no idea how to alter a recipe to correct it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polargirl74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinette Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I've made this twice now and it's a good recipe. Fast, easy and tasty. I used raw sugar because that's what I had and along with vanilla, it made the cake taste and look delicious. A nice golden colour. I also used butter instead of shortening. Served it with warm, 'from scratch' lemon pie filling spooned over top and fresh strawberries and blueberries. It was a hit. Edit: Have made it 3 times now. Love it with the raw sugar and butter. This time I made the Seven Minute Pudding from this site, and served the pudding with sliced bananas and this cake, topped with chocolate sauce, parfait-style. Good stuff!! I love this recipe. So easy and versatile. This is a coarse-crumbed cake, like others have mentioned who didn't like it. So if you're looking for a finely textured cake, this wouldn't be it. I think of it as sort of the peasant version of cake. But mine have all been moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oriental Cold Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
It was good. I followed the recipe exactly. The dressing was flavourful, but the salad itself was kind of boring. Next time I make it I'll add broccoli florets and....things. Peppers? Frozen peas? Not sure what. But I want the noodle to veg ration to be more interesting. Then maybe it gets more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Next time I'm going to add peanut butter chips. I used crunchy peanut butter the first time I tried it. I made mine into balls and they rounded out nicely. I sprinkled on cinnamon sugar after it was baked to give it a little "oomph" and it was a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHLEEN LYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Mexican Quiches

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Love this recipe, the crust is great and really easy to work with. I fill it with whatever I'm feeling at the moment, today is bacon & cheese and some with broccoli and mushroom. Hubby loves quiche, and the very picky kids even love this one. A little bit of Cyan in the eggs gives it a nice bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower094

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Lemon Herb Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very very good on the BBQ. Marinated 6 hours, used italian herbs. Definitely easy, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Nice chili. I halved the amount and used the other 6 ounces of O'Doul's to make beer bread to go with this. Works just fine with a ground meat sub like Morning Star Farm Crumbles. I used near beer [O'Doul's Amber]because we don't drink. Not too spicy for me but I eat HOT. May want to reduce if you don't think pureed jalapenos [inc stems and seed] makes a great hot sauce. Added a bit of cumin and roasted garlic and roasted peppers for more depth. If reducing heat you may want to add such items also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is my husbands new favorite. I changed the crust to be gluten free by using toasted pecans instead of cookie crumbs. Melt 1/2 cup of butter, toss pecans in it. Lay flat on a cookie sheet and toast in the oven at 250 for about an hour. When cooled, chop fine. I leave out the butter in the crust. It actually tastes better than the original, it's the only way I make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower094

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Hot Peppers

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought the dish is tasty but loaded with the meat and cheese it's quite rich and heavy. I used a homemade mexican chorizo and even with the oil drained I thought it was a bit oily tasting. I served it with a mixed grain rice, corn and black bean side and homemade salsa, which helped cut the cheesy meatiness of it all. Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Speedy Homemade Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good basic salsa. I added the juice of half a lime as well as the vinegar(and I only had balsamic but no big difference) and ooh la la, that was a good decision. It adds to the fresh taste. Chopped cilantro also kicks it up in freshness and taste. I only had serrano and habanero peppers in the fridge, so I used serrano. Another great flavour, and not any hotter than hot jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon with Habanero-Lime Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The habanero butter is so good, and like others say, worth making a batch and keeping on hand in the fridge. I've been using it to butter my husband's lunch bagels (with turkey and cheese) and he loves it and has asked me to make more. I read the recipe wrong and only had time to marinate the salmon for about an hour. This wasn't enough to transfer the flavour and heat into the filet. We were disappointed with how mild and boring it was, but I think that was my fault. The habanero butter rocks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States