Yukon Territory - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pear Scones

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This are excellent. Nice, soft, thick dough. I added 1/2 tsp ginger to the batter and 1 pear=1 cup so for those who said batter was too thin and they spread like puddles, pay attention to the recipe. 4 pears??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Nut Oatmeal

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is Rebeccas recipe but she puts cinnamon in before cooking. Also she wouldn't put as much honey in as this recipe. Maybe half this amount. After cooking she adds sliced banana, handful of craisins & more milk if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw II

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
If you don't want creamy coleslaw do this: omit milk & add 2 TBSP pineapple juice instead. Add a handful of roasted almonds & 1/2 a small can of pineapple chunks. You can also substitute the sugar for honey or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These are EXCELLENT. I substituted 1/2 the margarine with applesauce & threw in a handful of chocolate chunks. Made 12 large muffins & baked for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Loaf

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Boring flavour. Needs more zip and zing. Thank goodness I added chocolate chips. Will keep looking for an orange loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Dip Breadsticks

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This turned out very well. I added grated Parmesan, onion powder, garlic powder and a small bit of Nutritional yeast to the dough. Halved the recipe. They came out perfect. We used Pizza sauce as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch-Style Fajitas

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
The were great. I used rib eye steak (I get them cheap) and mixed a package of ranch dressing with some sour cream. As someone else suggested this recipe is excellent for chickem (or beef) bacon\ranch\blt stlye wraps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumbolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and thoroughly enjoyed it with a nice salad and crusty buns (to mop up the sauce!) The second time I doubled the ingredients for the sauce, used fresh basil along with the fresh parsley and as I had about 1 1/2 cups of spinach I needed to use up, I shredded the spinach and stir it just before I added the shrimp. My son was over for dinner the last time I made this recipe and he's saying he wants to be invited for supper when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
DadCooks is right .... the quality of the balsamic vinegar makes all the difference. I use a Mousto Balsamic imported from the island of Crete ... costs me an arm and a leg but the taste is unbelievably fantastic. Instead of dried oregano and Dijon, used a combination of Italian herbs and my whole family and all my friends love this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I didn't put the olive oil or the seasoned salt on it and they turned out wonderful. I didn't spray with anything either. The taste was great. I think if I wanted a bit more, I would use something like Mrs. Dash in different flavors as the mood strikes. And you can't beat 34 calories a cup .5 grams fat 29 mg sodium. And the flavor was much better than a greasy potato chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I didn't put the olive oil or the seasoned salt on it and they turned out wonderful. I didn't spray with anything either. The taste was great. I think if I wanted a bit more, I would use something like Mrs. Dash in different flavors as the mood strikes. And you can't beat 34 calories a cup .5 grams fat 29 mg sodium. And the flavor was much better than a greasy potato chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My mom always made those with almonds for xmas and tea parties and it was my fav cookie. she dipped the ends in choc and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Plum Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
at cooking school my pastry chef was from England and we learned to make a wish not only for the pudding but also for xmas fruit cakes! thank you for sharing this tit bits. I usually replace the suet with butter and like this recipe, uses what ever in the baking pantry, including dates, plum, apricot and cranberries. I like some nuts but very finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i'm not very experienced making soup and I found this pretty easy to prepare. I used barley instead of rice and cut back a bit on the butter and it turned out quite good. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumbolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Slow Cooker Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I like it because it's simple. I made pumpkin soup every year at Halloween and the kids loved it before going Trick/Treat. If you follow any recipe for carrot or squash soup it's very similar. I like to add celery and POTATOES to make it thicker. More spices like pumpkin pie mix and curry, chili powder and whatever herbs I like. sometimes I leave the soup chunky with big pieces of pumpkin. I use lots of onions and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used the recipe as inspiration for the ingredients I had on hand and it is super tasty. (My changes - generous amounts of mexican seasoning blend, and chili powder. A whooole lotta garlic, big fat cloves sliced up. Pinto beans with jalapenos. Fire roasted tomatoes with adobo seasoning. Chopped fresh pasilla pepper as well as the red pepper. Fresh chopped serrano peppers.) Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Jalapeno Trout

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I have served fresh mango salsa with other fish before - char, salmon - but this is the first time stuffing and baking. Turned out well. Saved some of the fresh salsa to serve on the side just in case. Good stuff. About 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The quinoa went mushy with this amount of liquid. Without the addition of other ingredients, this would have been pretty flavourless. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Best we have ever had.This now has become a regular part of my dinner side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Margarita

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I don't understand how Jeannine gets 3 cups of liquid from this recipe using 1/2 cup water and the natural juices of only 4 cups of rhubarb? (Her clarifications are posted under the reviews and she's obviously recommending making 2 margs at a time with 1/2 ingredients each time). Sigh. Okay, aside from that, I used freshly squeezed lime juice instead of water to cook my rhubarb, and agave syrup instead of sugar. Delicious. (I shouldn't rate it 'cause I changed it, but it's better than giving it no stars.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States