Yukon Territory - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

2-Ingredient Wheat-Free Banana Pancakes (Paleo)

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We've been making this recipe for years!! Anyone who eats clean knows this recipe and loves it!!! I add 1 scoop of our vegan, dairy free protein powder to ours, fry in coconut oil and serve with greek yogurt and a smile. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Maple Country Style Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
It didn't taste like much. Needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bean with Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a great bean and bacon recipe. I, like Nicolette, added diced carrots (no garlic though) for the colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Cabbage Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I added turnip, parsnip and made a big batch. It turned out great my family's loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It was okay. In my husbands words, "it wasn't anything special"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bannock

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Put some sugar in this recipe it would make it a lot better and use lard on stead of butter and milk instead of water and mix in a egg to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Caithcart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Photo by Yumbolt

Porcupine Meatballs III

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
we loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumbolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
this is a good recipe i used it today at the salvation army soup kitchen and everyone liked it.the only changes i made was i cooked the onions fist in the butter then added the carrots cook a little more add the celery cook a little more add the peas then i added some corn about same amount as the peas i also added zucchini 8 cups cook a little more then i added diced cooked chicken cooked a little more the i added the celery seed, i also added poultry seasoning salt,pepper chicken stock brought to a boil turned down to a simmer added a slurry of flour and water cook for 20 min. then i added it to my frozen five inch pie shells all 200 of them topped them with the pie tops cooked them at 425F till golden brown about 30min and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Caithcart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is a very good recipe, producing a good tasting lemon meringue pie. The only complaint, thus only 4 star rating, is that there wasn't enough filling for the 9" - deep pie plate I used. The amount of filling would be enough for a shallow pie plate. When I use this recipe again I will increase the filling by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I like the traditional apple dumplings my mother used to make but I also like this version also. Initially I made the dumplings exactly as stated in the recipe. I now have modified it to suit my preferences & tastes. I like others cut down the sugar as I found it way too sweet. I don't have a large family so I half the recipe & I usen4 whole peeled & cored apples & use the Grand size crescents which is 4 large triangles which I shape around each apple. The only other change I make is that I put 1/2 tsp vanilla in with the sugar, cinnamon & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it exactly as written. It was delicious, however, it was pretty sweet and a bit too runny for my taste. When I made the recipe the second time I added a 1/2 Tbsp of flour and I grated the rind of a small lemon and added the juice from the lemon. The sweetness of the crisp was cut and it was runny .... perfect I think, especially with a scoop of quality vanilla ice cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Polargirl74

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My family LOVED this recipe. I didn't find that it was very saucy ... I liked that, because it was less messy for my children to eat. Definitely a good tummy filler and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polargirl74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Muffins II

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent!!! Made 7 jumbo muffins. Added nuts to some, chocolate chips to others. Used pumpkin pie spice instead of individual spices. Baked approx 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is my go to machine bread cinnamon bun recipe and I have made this recipe several times. There's only abit of tweaking ... I do not melt the margarine and I also put the ingredients into the dough maker in the order recommended by the manufacturer of my bread machine. The only variation I have done is adding the grated rind of a lemon and 1 tsp of vanilla to the dough. I think there's a tasty difference. ... My advice towards rolling up the dough is the same as the others ..... roll tightly and none of the filling will fall out onto your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My mother in law has been making this for years, using pistachio pudding mix instead of lemon, it makes them a nice light green colour and the flavor is great. My husband and sons love it. I usually make muffins, no glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower094

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used with syrup and I also reduced the sugar a bit and used for chicken and Waffles. It's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this recipe as written and was disappointed. Overall there was a blandness about it and way too much sour cream. I will try it again another time with some suggestions in the other reviews. First of all, I would half the sour cream & add some diced red pepper with the onion and chillies & a bit of chili powder to the filling. I also would put some enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and put the enchilda sauce on top of the tortillas then top with cheese. Also, I found that 20 minutes is not enough cooking time. I ended up having to put them in the microwave to heat up because they were lukewarm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
good beef stew recipe. I made this at the soup kitchen where I work. Everybody said it was really good and it was the best stew I made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Caithcart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Baked Spaghetti I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I have made this twice. The 2nd time I didn't alter the basic recipe but I did add chopped celery & chopped red peppers with the onions & green pepper, also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. The 2nd time I used mozerella instead of cheddar. I prefer the ingredients in the 2nd time I made this. Generally speaking this is a very excellent recipe & is even tastier the next day .... heats up very nicely. I also agree to not leave out the cream of mushroom soup it really would make a difference not using it. I thought I'd mention this .. the last time I made this recipe I put 1/2 of it in a casserole dish & froze it. I partially thawed it in the microwave then put it in the oven til it was done. It was delicious & my verdict is that it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear Scones

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This are excellent. Nice, soft, thick dough. I added 1/2 tsp ginger to the batter and 1 pear=1 cup so for those who said batter was too thin and they spread like puddles, pay attention to the recipe. 4 pears??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States