Yukon Territory - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bannock

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Put some sugar in this recipe it would make it a lot better and use lard on stead of butter and milk instead of water and mix in a egg to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishcree

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Photo by Yumbolt

Porcupine Meatballs III

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
we loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumbolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
this is a good recipe i used it today at the salvation army soup kitchen and everyone liked it.the only changes i made was i cooked the onions fist in the butter then added the carrots cook a little more add the celery cook a little more add the peas then i added some corn about same amount as the peas i also added zucchini 8 cups cook a little more then i added diced cooked chicken cooked a little more the i added the celery seed, i also added poultry seasoning salt,pepper chicken stock brought to a boil turned down to a simmer added a slurry of flour and water cook for 20 min. then i added it to my frozen five inch pie shells all 200 of them topped them with the pie tops cooked them at 425F till golden brown about 30min and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishcree

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is a very good recipe, producing a good tasting lemon meringue pie. The only complaint, thus only 4 star rating, is that there wasn't enough filling for the 9" - deep pie plate I used. The amount of filling would be enough for a shallow pie plate. When I use this recipe again I will increase the filling by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I like the traditional apple dumplings my mother used to make but I also like this version also. Initially I made the dumplings exactly as stated in the recipe. I now have modified it to suit my preferences & tastes. I like others cut down the sugar as I found it way too sweet. I don't have a large family so I half the recipe & I usen4 whole peeled & cored apples & use the Grand size crescents which is 4 large triangles which I shape around each apple. The only other change I make is that I put 1/2 tsp vanilla in with the sugar, cinnamon & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it exactly as written. It was delicious, however, it was pretty sweet and a bit too runny for my taste. When I made the recipe the second time I added a 1/2 Tbsp of flour and I grated the rind of a small lemon and added the juice from the lemon. The sweetness of the crisp was cut and it was runny .... perfect I think, especially with a scoop of quality vanilla ice cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Polargirl74

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My family LOVED this recipe. I didn't find that it was very saucy ... I liked that, because it was less messy for my children to eat. Definitely a good tummy filler and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polargirl74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Muffins II

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent!!! Made 7 jumbo muffins. Added nuts to some, chocolate chips to others. Used pumpkin pie spice instead of individual spices. Baked approx 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is my go to machine bread cinnamon bun recipe and I have made this recipe several times. There's only abit of tweaking ... I do not melt the margarine and I also put the ingredients into the dough maker in the order recommended by the manufacturer of my bread machine. The only variation I have done is adding the grated rind of a lemon and 1 tsp of vanilla to the dough. I think there's a tasty difference. ... My advice towards rolling up the dough is the same as the others ..... roll tightly and none of the filling will fall out onto your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My mother in law has been making this for years, using pistachio pudding mix instead of lemon, it makes them a nice light green colour and the flavor is great. My husband and sons love it. I usually make muffins, no glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower094

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used with syrup and I also reduced the sugar a bit and used for chicken and Waffles. It's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this recipe as written and was disappointed. Overall there was a blandness about it and way too much sour cream. I will try it again another time with some suggestions in the other reviews. First of all, I would half the sour cream & add some diced red pepper with the onion and chillies & a bit of chili powder to the filling. I also would put some enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and put the enchilda sauce on top of the tortillas then top with cheese. Also, I found that 20 minutes is not enough cooking time. I ended up having to put them in the microwave to heat up because they were lukewarm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
good beef stew recipe. I made this at the soup kitchen where I work. Everybody said it was really good and it was the best stew I made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishcree

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Baked Spaghetti I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I have made this twice. The 2nd time I didn't alter the basic recipe but I did add chopped celery & chopped red peppers with the onions & green pepper, also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. The 2nd time I used mozerella instead of cheddar. I prefer the ingredients in the 2nd time I made this. Generally speaking this is a very excellent recipe & is even tastier the next day .... heats up very nicely. I also agree to not leave out the cream of mushroom soup it really would make a difference not using it. I thought I'd mention this .. the last time I made this recipe I put 1/2 of it in a casserole dish & froze it. I partially thawed it in the microwave then put it in the oven til it was done. It was delicious & my verdict is that it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear Scones

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This are excellent. Nice, soft, thick dough. I added 1/2 tsp ginger to the batter and 1 pear=1 cup so for those who said batter was too thin and they spread like puddles, pay attention to the recipe. 4 pears??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Nut Oatmeal

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is Rebeccas recipe but she puts cinnamon in before cooking. Also she wouldn't put as much honey in as this recipe. Maybe half this amount. After cooking she adds sliced banana, handful of craisins & more milk if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw II

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
If you don't want creamy coleslaw do this: omit milk & add 2 TBSP pineapple juice instead. Add a handful of roasted almonds & 1/2 a small can of pineapple chunks. You can also substitute the sugar for honey or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These are EXCELLENT. I substituted 1/2 the margarine with applesauce & threw in a handful of chocolate chunks. Made 12 large muffins & baked for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Loaf

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Boring flavour. Needs more zip and zing. Thank goodness I added chocolate chips. Will keep looking for an orange loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Dip Breadsticks

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This turned out very well. I added grated Parmesan, onion powder, garlic powder and a small bit of Nutritional yeast to the dough. Halved the recipe. They came out perfect. We used Pizza sauce as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States