Montreal - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blackened Fish

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good. I should have cooked it only 90 seconds on each side though. A little too black for me and maybe a touch too spicy. I used Tilapia instead of trout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Quick Almond Flour Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Oh yeah! I just finished making, and eating, a batch of these pancakes. The taste is literally still hanging on my palate. I incorporated some of the changes, others suggested, such as the addition of a tsp of vanilla, 2 tbs of oil, a couple pinches of cinnamon, and stevia instead of maple syrup, to lower the carb count. These are very tasty. I served them with breakfast sausage links, and sugar free blueberry syrup, not bad, but next time I'll make sure I have a sugar free maple syrup on hand to top them with. I think a sugar free honey, instead of stevia, will give them a richer flavor, and maybe an extra tsp of vanilla. I will also not make these again until I have some unsweetened coconut almond milk, to wash them down with. It should be illegal to have pancakes without milk to wash them down with. :-) Inspite of the changes made, this is a very good recipe, and a welcome addition to my low carb lifestyle. Low carb breakfasts are usually dominated by eggs, either fried or scrambled, and bacon or sausage; which can get old, over the long run; thanks Allie, for giving me another tasty option, as they will help me to stay on course. These pancakes, either with a breakfast meat, or as a platform for low carb eggs benedict, broadens the possibilities, of what a low carb breakfast can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Best Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
These were great accompanied by fresh fruit and maple syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was so good. I made fajitas instead of tacos because that is what I prefer, but other than that I followed the recipe and can attest that it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Pork Chops With Black Cherry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Very nice change of pace to ordinary porkchops. Liked the cherries mixed with the wine. Didn't have beef stock, but did use the drippings from the baked chops which seemed a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dark 'n' Stormy Cocktail

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious beverage, I recommend the Barritt's Ginger Beer and Gosling's Black Seal rum from Bermuda...I have tasted this cocktail made with a different brand of ginger beer and rum...alas, it just isn't the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Corn on the Cob

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was a great addition to our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Cranberry Applesauce Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
We've tried this recipe twice now and just can't make it work. The dough is too dry, so I added more applesauce but they still end up very dense and dry. We used frozen blueberries the first time and dried cranberries the second time. Each time we used sweetened applesauce so eliminated the sugar. They were sweet enough but just too dense. Not a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Often the best chicken people have the luxury of trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Southern Style Pig Tails

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've been cooking pig tails, for close to forty years, in a similar fashion; though I usually add a bit more seasoning, and as soon as they are fork tender, transfer them to a roasting pan with my favorite bbq sauce. I then let them cook for an additional hour, in the oven, to get completely tender, with a nice bbq glaze. I also usually add some fresh ham hocks to the mix, to be served up with my favorite soulfood sides: cole slaw, mac and cheese, collard greens and skillet cornbread. If you really want a treat, and can find them, try using smoked pig tails to season a pot of blackeyed peas, or pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Lemon Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Doubled the Dijon and the garlic and used Pepperoncini instead of the red pepper. I did not use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Restaurant ribs. Husband could not stop raving about it. Super tender and moist. I did as other reviews suggested, I first sasoned ribs with salt and pepper. I added chopped garlic to water and boiled the ribs for 20 minutes. This removes some of the fat and liquid from the meat. I replaced the chili sauce with a bbq sauce I had on hand. Finally, I put the ribs under the broiler with additional sauce basted on the surface to get a beautiful caramelization. Excellent results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wow! So good. I made it exactly as written. No changes at all. However, I did cook it for closer to 45 minutes, constantly stirring and adding the broth. Really worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaican Plantain Tarts

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blk Pearlz Dezine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf's Sour Cream Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Terrific! I wouldn't change a thing. I didn't even have an opportunity to take a picture because my family devoured it too soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I haven't tried this, but it sounds awesome. However, my suggestion is, and I assume this is something that would be made for family, or friends. If you are going to go through the trouble, and expense, of making this; go all the way. Crack open a pound of snow crab legs, or use lump crabmeat, instead of that awful canned crab. In fact buy a couple of pounds of crab legs, so that everybody's plate can be garnished with a crab leg or two when you serve up these awesome enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious. I used French bread and added chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Raspberry Pie III

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Good, but too sweet and it came out runny, like raspberry soup. Need to figure out the consistency issue. I'll be trying again because my backyard bush produces about 4 cups of berries every other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Refreshing Cucumber Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Love love love this recipe, I make it without the cucumbers or the oil, always a big hit and very refreshing in summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie-France Allaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Scape Pesto

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have to admit, this recipe wasn't my favorite. I had never used garlic scapes before, and I doubt I will again. Scapes are quite tough and the resulting purée remained slightly chunky, even with additional olive oil. I served the pesto over spaghetti and had to eat some of it on toasted baguette to cut the intensity. It's REALLY garlicky and super strong. I think it might be good if you turned it into a cream sauce or added it to other dishes as a garlic replacement, but as a straight-up pesto, I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States