Montreal - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Yum!!! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Apple sauce with oil and these came out SO good that toddlers and husbands alike could not stop munching them and now they're asking for more..... Cutting chocolate with a chef knife is KEY! It makes them that much more special and indulgent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Mock Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I gave it five starts for the idea, but not the technique. You really should take it out of the plastic. I prefer to freeze it in individual portions, and thaw them one at a time. To freeze, Andrea Nguyen recommends cutting into chunks (portions), then draining for 10 minutes and placing on a parchment-lined baking sheet with space in between. Freeze until hard, then transfer to a ziptop bag. That works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bisaillon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Seriously... these are so easy and awesome! I made them as is, only I did not have butter at all. I replaced it with a mix of apple sauce and corn oil (half-half). The result is still just as scrumptious. Love this recipe, it's easy and forgiving and everyone runs for it. Try to stop yourself from eating them as soon as they come out of the oven all half-baked-like, because you won't be able to stop...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Awesome Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Oh my gosh, this smells so awesome when cooking! I use about a 4lb shoulder and grab them now whenever they come on sale. I don't bother doubling the sauce and use 1 cup of each ketchup and BBQ sauce. I also use real mustard instead of dried. I shred the pork a few hours before I want to serve so that the meat has a chance to soak up some sauce. I serve it on Onion buns with coleslaw on top! YUM! I brought this to a party and my friends called it the Endless Depth of Meat. Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, Nuts, Seeds, Blueberries, and Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Decided to give this a try based on all the great reviews, didn't expect all those ingredients would mix and taste so good together! It's the fourth time we make already! Switched it up with blackberries and pecans once, also tasted really good. But the original recipe given is the best. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
We love this recipe! My 2 favorite ingredients, peanut butter and oatmeal. I doubled the recipe because I like to share and everyone loved them. Only thing I changed is I replaced the shortening and margarine for butter, reduced the white sugar to 1/2 cup and added an additional 1/2 cup of oatmeal for a chewier texture. 1st time but not the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitoune's cooking
Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Julia's Awesome Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
These butter tarts were outstanding! I used some pre-made pie crust and molded it into muffin tins. I replaced the pecans with chopped toasted coconut chips and I doubled the raisins. The recipe made 24 mini tart-lettes and 8 bigger ones, with the tiniest bit of leftover 'batter'. I was a little concerned that the bigger tarts weren't cooked enough, so next time I would cook them at 350 for about 25 minutes. Even after sitting for 24hrs, the bigger tarts are quite runny when you bite into them. Of course, some people might say that adds to their appeal! Overall, a great recipe! I might add a few mini chocolate chips to the next batch! Update: I made a second (1/2) batch of these, adding a few chocolate chips, and using Tenderflake tart shells. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes. They could have used 2 extra minutes, but I kinda love the gooey middle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was my first attempt of making something from scratch, and it turned out amazing!! I added lemon oil extract to intensify the flavour and also used organic flour with baking powder for it to rise. For fun I added color to the icing to spice up the look. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Not a big fan of this. I added vegetables (bok choy, broccoli, mushrooms, leeks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by 2ys4you

Awesome Buttertarts

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These butter tarts were outstanding! I used some pre-made pie crust and molded it into muffin tins. I replaced the pecans with chopped toasted coconut chips and I doubled the raisins. The recipe made 24 mini tart-lettes and 8 bigger ones, with the tiniest bit of leftover 'batter'. I was a little concerned that the bigger tarts weren't cooked enough, so next time I would cook them at 350 for about 25 minutes. Even after sitting for 24hrs, the bigger tarts are quite runny when you bite into them. Of course, some people might say that adds to their appeal! Overall, a great recipe! I might add a few mini chocolate chips to the next batch! Update: I made a second (1/2) batch of these, adding a few chocolate chips, and using Tenderflake tart shells. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes. They could have used 2 extra minutes, but I kinda love the gooey middle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

Best Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I was looking for a recipe somewhere between gourmet and dump and stir and this is it. Great recipe, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Having not read any reviews beforehand, I added a dash of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Pancakes were thick but fluffed up fine while cooking. Tasted fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Thickened the sauce a bit and used almost 3 pounds of boneless chicken thighs and there was plenty of sauce. We enjoyed this very much. I recommend accompanied by rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Shrimp, Clams, and Scallops Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I did not add the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Susheelover

Singapore Noodle Curry Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Taste is amazing! I added a unit of Golden Curry plus the recipe curry, because I love it so! The flavors are amazing! Higy reccommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These were awesome! I did not add the sour cream because the gravy was so delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Lobster Bisque

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I added a can of tomato paste...probably too much. Then added more worcestershire and cayenne. I had 1 can of lobster and also about 2 cups of baby scallops to make a seafood bisque. My guys enjoyed this bisque perhaps more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Kielbasa and Cabbage

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Not crazy about this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Quick and Easy Guacamole

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States