Montreal - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I actually made this recipe a few times and it is really good! Simple ingredients, no shortening, no fuss. I even replaced the butter with a mix of apple sauce and oil and they still came out delicious! I keep this one handy and use it every time I miss a good PB cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Ginger Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very good, used pork instead of chicken, will add a little more ginger though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Skillet Beef and Hash Browns

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Quick and easy! Nice change for a meal! Added corn for some veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very easy to make, very tasty too! Didn't know it was so easy to make, might try use pound cake instead of lady fingers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

British Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for, real British bread pudding. I used leftover bread crusts, added a can of drained diced pineapple and soaked the bread for 15 minutes because the bread I was using was so dry. Great way to use stale bread ends and fill up my three growing boys, just like my mum did when my siblings and I were kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ziggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Not my favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Simple Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This Parm was great! I pounded the chicken and breaded it in egg and bread crumbs, then pan fried and transferred to a wire rack over a cookie sheet, topped each with cheese and baked at 350 for about 15 minutes (only because the broil setting on my oven sets off my smoke detector!) I used jarred sauce because it's what was on hand. I served it with spaghetti squash topped with the same store-bought sauce and more cheese. My boyfriend raved, which is rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Wellington

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My family loved it! It was so pretty too. I used blue cheese instead of feta, only because I didn't have any. Also, instead of frozen spinach, I sauteed fresh spinach in olive oil and garlic, and squeezed out the excess liquid. The salmon turned out moist and delicious. I served the salmon with a side of arugula and cranberry salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Orange-Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My family liked them but I found them to be a tad on the bland side. Although the orange flavor was really nice. I noticed that there was no salt in the recipe and debated whether or not to add some. I wish I had, it may have made a difference. My biggest complaint is that they stuck to the muffin papers. I accidentally put two papers in one cup and it stuck to both! I think it may be because the batter was too thin. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Good basic muffin recipe. I made a few changes to incorporate flax seeds and whole wheat flour. I replaced the eggs with ground flax seeds (1 tbsp flax seed meal + 3 tbsp water replaces 1 egg). I used 1 cup of wheat bran and 1/2 cup of each whole wheat and all purpose flour. The muffins came out moist and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bircher Muesli (Swiss Oatmeal)

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Just made this and used organic whole oats (others are gmo's) greek 2% yogurt (cause that's what I have) agave syrup (healthy spoonful) currants instead of raisins, and instead of brown sugar another healthy spoonful of real maple syrup. Used 1% milk and in hindsight should have tried almond milk, which I have more of ... now have just enough for a cup of tea in the morning! while I sink my teeth into this delightful looking dish! if I remember, I'll be back to give my two cents on the tastes! (edit* just threw in some flax seed, cause they were sitting here staring at me) It's now morning....drinking a big cupof hot tea and this is fabulous! the flax adds a little je ne sais quoi ? yummmm will be making this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Good simple bran muffin recipe. My batter did not look as wet as in the video. I had followed ingredients and instructions exactly, so I baked it anyway. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Veggie Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is really tasty. I added zucchini sliced thick. I also made fusilli instead of the fettucine.I will definitely make this again. We added some dried chilis to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Mmmmm! This was really good! I added some freshly grated ginger to the sauce and added some carrots, sugar snap peas and mixed bell peppers. Perfect over some basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Mmmmm! This was really good! I added some freshly grated ginger to the sauce and added some carrots, sugar snap peas and mixed bell peppers. Perfect over some basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

English Trifle to Die For

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Test made this today served in goblets and making it in a trifle container tomorrow. Turned out very very good. Some tips - for a trifle container you definitely need to double or triple the custard recipe. Add 1 Tablespoon cornstarch mixed with a little milk to custard mixture to thicken. Add a teaspoon of vanilla too. I bought 2 1-lb Sara Lee frozen pounds cakes which I think would be tastier than angle food cake. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar to the whipped cream. Homemade custard is the way to go - wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

Holiday Mincemeat Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this recipe! So easy and yummy. I left out the sugar and used apple juice instead of apple cider and everyone still loved them. Will make every holiday season! I also got 24 medium sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Boston Cooler

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've been making these for more than 45 years, and I still consider these a mind blowing treat. To the reviewer who likened it to a "foamy melted milkshake", add a scoop, or two, more icecream and it will be as lucious as any milkshake you've ever had. Using a quality, vanilla bean, icecream takes it over the top as well. For those of you in the Montreal, Canada, area; try making a cooler with Spruce Beer, and French vanilla icecream; that will get your taste buds singing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Roasted Peppers

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent results. Very easy to do. The reviewer who ended up with dried up peppers probably left them too long in the oven. Since the peppers are quartered before being put in the oven, I only needed to cook them for about 20 minutes. The skin got scorched and the peppers were juicy and tender. The roasted peppers were put in a container immersed in garlic and olive oil. They can keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks. So good with crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2ys4you

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These shortbread are really quite simple, and well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States