Gatineau - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Indian Style Basmati Rice

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Love this rice - I added saffron threads. Served to guests at a dinner party and everyone loved it, including my picky 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Special K Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very VERY easy to make, and tastes great!! Will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANIK1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moist Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouser
Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I've tried this recipe a few years ago and it's been one of our favorite meals. My kids loved it and keep asking me to make more. We just had some last night!!! The only thing I changed was that I used my own BBQ sauce and add a few drops of Mesquite liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Filomena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Harvest Rice Dish

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this for the first time with guests; they absolutely loved it, and my boyfriend, loving anything sweet!!! lets just say it will become a staple dish!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veal Scallopini in a Sweet Red Pepper Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I found that it had a nice taste but thought that it was a bit odd to put a breaded scallopini in sauce! I tried it and the breading did fall off the veal a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delicious!... I used a different cheese than in the recipe, but I think you could use any kind and it would still be a yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delicious!... I used a different cheese than in the recipe, but I think you could use any kind and it would still be a yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Excellent, just the right amount of punch; I used 1 tsp of crushed chilies instead of the fresh ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Quinoa

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We liked it a lot but my 3 year old did not, but that's ok. I only ask that he at least tries everything on his plate. I used the full amount of curry powder, only added half the amount of chili powder, but I added a bit of garam marsala too. I also added a bit of frozen corn at the end and the juice from a lime. I would eat this again, and play around the spices to make it a bit milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Chicken Pesto a la Lisa

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Impressive...lovely taste!.. nice with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was a pleasant suprise...easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
6 stars!! Phenomenal!! Just like at the restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natsonline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Leftover Chicken Croquettes

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These were yummy. Based on the reviews I made a few minor changes. I added 2 eggs plus a bit of egg beaters. I added italian seasoning and sage to my breadcrumbs as I was using plain. I only added 1 cup of breadcrumbs because I only had 2.5 cups of chicken. I sauteed my onions with garlic in butter. I added dried parsley. I fried these in oil on the stove and they came out delicious with a nice crust, and moist and flavourful on the inside. I like the idea someone posted about serving this with melted cheese and pasta sauce, but I just served mine on the side of some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Breakfast In A Glass

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great base recipe. I added orange and pineapple juice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Garlic Chicken Fried Brown Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My partner and 3 year old son loved this. This recipe is almost identical to one I normally use, but this time I used sesame oil. I think I was always adding too much soya sauce in the past, and partner complained it was too salty. This seems like the right balance. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly as written, and without a candy thermometer. I only fudged it a bit when I used my hand held electric mixer. (hehe see what I did there?) In total it took about 45 minutes from start to finish. This is possibly the best fudge ever! Easy to do, but you'll doubt yourself the whole way through the first time as I did. I used the cold water technique with 2 ice cubes, although I never got a pliable ball; I decided to remove from the heat one a dribble sort of hung at the top of the water for a millisecond before falling to the bottom. Once it was off the heat, I let it sit for about 2 minutes and then I beat it on low using the electric mixer for a total of 5 minutes or so. I probably actually over-beat it a slight bit, as it didn't really want to come out of the pan as it was already starting to set! Next time I'll double the recipe to make thicker brownies as it only really makes about 16 medium sized thin pieces once sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyPup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Miso Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Wow, this taste just like at the restaurant! I've tried to make miso soup without dashi before but I was always disappointed. Now that I found dashi granules in china town, I'm really excited! It's so easy and fast to do the recipe! I can't wait to try different ingredients in it! I did strain the miso in a strainer has suggested by others and the broth is clearer. I added thinly shredded carrots and use tofu noodles and it was fantastic. Can't wait to try with straw mushrooms! Delicious! My husband who usually does not like miso soup liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
One of the best cakes I've ever had! Amazing flavour! I added 1/2 cup milk instead of the water, and I didn't wait for the cake to cool before I added the rum glaze. I just left the cake in the pan and poked holes in the cake with the end of a chopstick, and poured the glaze over top. Worked perfectly. I'm making another as I write this review! I covered the cake with a cream cheese frosting. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Simple Syrup

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I used it to preserve some lemons for future use! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikipea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States