Gatineau - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

My Favorite Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
This was ok, not as flavourful as I hoped and too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Ranch Style Popcorn Seasoning

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Yummy! I used all spice ingredients with a buttery microwave popcorn so I omitted the olive oil. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Chef John's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
My cookies didn't come out flat and chewy, but puffy and cake like instead. I was careful with ingredients (yes I used baking soda) but the only thing I can think of is not whipping the butter sugar mixture enough? I wish I had used a mixer because I just mixed until it was very smooth then my arm told me to quit. I also found the batter extremely hard after being refrigerated for 2 hours. Lastly, I have a convection oven which converts the temperature lower for recipes with traditional ovens. But at the time limit they didn't seem nearly done. So...all this to say, the taste is there but the texture will take some practice and modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Whole30® Thai Stir Fry

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I thought there were some great flavours in here, and I only made a few modifications. I used jarred minced ginger and fresh squeezed orange juice. My preference with spiralized zucchini is to do a quick sauté right before serving, and just adding the sauce/meat & veggie mix at the table. Otherwise all the moisture and liquid steams the zucchini into a softer texture. I would make again, using shrimp and adding fish sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Three Bean Salad with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Not bad at all. I brought it to a scouts picnic and every last bite was gone. Would make again and play around with additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Would definitely make again, it had all my favourite flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using dried parsley. I used chicken thighs and grilled on the bbq. I thought it was just ok, there was a lot of flavour, though it wasn't something that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Creamy Ham and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I had to substitute havarti for Swiss, and used a Rosemary deli sliced ham, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was delicious cheesy and creamy, just as described. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Breaded SPAM® Steaks

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I have to admit defeat. I guess it's true sometimes you just can't go back home. I've been searching to relive my childhood dinners when my mom would fried spam. This is the second recipe I've tried, as well as just frying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Peanut butter chocolate cornflake clusters

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouser
Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Don't know what happened...followed this recipe exactly. I'm a seasoned baker and cook, and I had to chisel these out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed DeBoer
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Fried Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This was too much work for little pay off. Interesting idea, but for me the frying didn't impart that much flavour, and I would much prefer soft boiled eggs or actual fried eggs instead. My 2 year old stole them off my plate though, so nothing wasted. On the positive side, this gave me the chance to try steaming my eggs in my Instant Pot pressure cooker which I've been wanting to do. The eggs cooked quickly and peeled so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
ok but not worth cleaning the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Bacon-Wrapped Feta

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I thought this was ok as is, but could be easily enhanced with other ingredients. I microwaved my bacon for a few minutes first before wrapping and broiling in the oven. I used parchment paper as suggested, but it started browning and smoking so I had to pull it out. Use foil instead. I used a greek feta, which I found too strong if the chunks were too big. I dipped a few in maple syrup, which was not bad, and a few I ate with a wedge of tomato. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Gnocchi I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Simple ingredients but technique will take some practice. I used a ricer with 2 leftover boiled potatoes. I think they may have had too much moisture resulting in gnocchi that was a bit heavy. I boiled until they floated and then pan fried in butter and parsley and served with parmesan cheese. Some of the portions I let brown longer and I really liked those ones the best. I served the kids the gnocchi with a jar of rose sauce. For my first time making gnocchi, it was pretty successful and I'd be willing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Halved the recipe and used salsa instead of diced tomatoes. I added frozen corn to the meat mixture and spread the refried beans on the tortillas. I would definitely make this again, but only use half a can of refried beans to suit our tastes. This a great base recipe you can tweak to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Mom's Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great no fail recipe. I used frozen mini tart shells, and made over 2 dozen. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Graham Crust Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
These were a delicious variation on your traditional butter tart in a pastry shell. I found that I only needed 1 1/2 cups of the graham cracker crumb mix to fill my 12 muffin tins. A hint for packing down your graham crackers is to use the bottom of your 1/4 cup measuring cup to push down the graham cracker crust firmly. 12 tablespoons is equal to 3/4 cup, which might be helpful to know when measuring out your butter. I split the recipe between the original as written, and the second half using Splenda white and Splenda brown sugar blend. Both were great, so this recipe adapts well for those looking to reduce the calories. By using Splenda I brought the calories down to 250, and the carbs down to 19 g per serving. I worried that I might not be a able to take these out of the muffin tins without breaking them, but once cooled and loosened on the edges with a sharp knife, they came right out. Next time I'd like to try adding nuts, chocolate or coconut. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I halved the recipe and followed the recipe exactly (with the slight exception of using dehydrated onions.) Everyone liked this including the kids. I'm thinking that next time I might mix the mashed potatoes first and then lightly stir in the spinach at the end. I found with mixing the sour cream and spinach made everything green tinged instead...just not as attractive as some of the pictures that are posted. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I liked this recipe and would make again. I don't agree with the change suggested in the video to halve the amount of milk to add. I found ours thickened too much, and really became congealed as it cooled on the plate. I will add the suggested amount of milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States