Gatineau - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Graham Crust Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
These were a delicious variation on your traditional butter tart in a pastry shell. I found that I only needed 1 1/2 cups of the graham cracker crumb mix to fill my 12 muffin tins. A hint for packing down your graham crackers is to use the bottom of your 1/4 cup measuring cup to push down the graham cracker crust firmly. 12 tablespoons is equal to 3/4 cup, which might be helpful to know when measuring out your butter. I split the recipe between the original as written, and the second half using Splenda white and Splenda brown sugar blend. Both were great, so this recipe adapts well for those looking to reduce the calories. By using Splenda I brought the calories down to 250, and the carbs down to 19 g per serving. I worried that I might not be a able to take these out of the muffin tins without breaking them, but once cooled and loosened on the edges with a sharp knife, they came right out. Next time I'd like to try adding nuts, chocolate or coconut. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I halved the recipe and followed the recipe exactly (with the slight exception of using dehydrated onions.) Everyone liked this including the kids. I'm thinking that next time I might mix the mashed potatoes first and then lightly stir in the spinach at the end. I found with mixing the sour cream and spinach made everything green tinged instead...just not as attractive as some of the pictures that are posted. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I liked this recipe and would make again. I don't agree with the change suggested in the video to halve the amount of milk to add. I found ours thickened too much, and really became congealed as it cooled on the plate. I will add the suggested amount of milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Paleo Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made this recipe with some slight changes. Used cold butter instead of coconut oil, using a pastry cutter to incorporate. I used baking powder instead of baking soda, and baked on a lightly greased muffin top pan. These were good, (but did not pass the kid test) I am trying to get used to the nutty flavour of almond flour, and figure what to use them for. They did bake up to a nice biscuit texture - a bit crumbly like cornbread. I will consider making again if I'm craving a bread like food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Taco Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We had this for dinner tonight and everyone thought it was pretty good (even for my 5 and 2 year old). I added half a green onion, but would just leave it out next time. I cooked up the 1 lb of taco meat, but halved this recipe, which gave us 4 adequate portions, without leftovers which I don't think would save well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Yellow Curry Chicken with Jasmine Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is excellent fabulous taste will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye of Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My guests ate this, but maybe they were really hungry...I was not very proud of it. I used the canned chicken because although my instincts were to use a rotisserie chicken, my grocery store didn't have any ready when I was shopping. I'm going to try it again with a rotisserie chicken because it has such rave reviews...but canned chicken is just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Won Ton Wrapper Appetizers

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Didn't love these...maybe it was the choice in sausage? Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Baby BLT

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
These were well received at our party but they are a lot of work. I added cream cheese, and piped the filling in with a ziplock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I used great value brand caramel chocolates, which taste like on their own but worked perfectly in this recipe. I used others suggestions to just put pecans on top while baking and then just pushed them into the softened chocolate when I took them out. Used waffle pretzels too which made it super easy with no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made it following the recipe with the exception of using 4 large russet potatoes. Delicious! Cooked it for 2 hours since our guests arrived late, but it was still good. next time though, I think i will hold off on adding the cheddar on top, it ended up creating pools of grease i had to sop up with paper towels. I will also skip the additional salt, as it was pretty salty. I microwaved some for breakfast and their still pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Chex® Muddy Buddies®

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made these to donate to a bake sale and ended buying a bag for myself! I used honey nut chex, but otherwise followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Real Potato Leek Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Yummy. Added the crumbled bacon and 3/4 of a cup of some leftover chicken breast. Sauteed 3 slices of pre cooked bacon along with the leeks, and a couple cloves of minced garlic. Would be good with some corn too. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
followed to a T, but I found it had too much thyme - will probably just leave it out next time. Wish I had read reviews or trusted my instinct about the thyme - it just isn't the flavour we want for mac and cheese, but it was very creamy and had a great topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cabbage Roll Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
pretty good soup, but very thick. I added diced tomatoes and used a brown rice/quinoa mixture. I also added some dried herbs (oregano, basil, garlic) and worcester. I parboiled my cabbage in the microwave while I browned the onions/meat mixture. I served with sour cream and cheese, but it tastes nice without as well. Made such a big pot, that I'll be freezing it for several meals. Kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'm sharing my review only because it may help others to learn from my mistakes... This was a big fat fail for me unfortunately. I'm just thankful I didn't prepare it for company. I have always been curious about egg based mac and cheese and decided to give this a try. I used 1 can of evaporated milk, and 1 can milk/cream mixture. Mistake #1? I used a mild cheddar cheese - maybe my cheese wasn't a very good melting cheese...Mistake #2? My egg/butter mixture looked fine when I mixed in the macaroni, maybe just slightly lumpy. But once I layered and baked it it came out awful... not creamy or cheesy at all. The macaroni looked plain boiled pasta alongside chunks of ricotta cheese lumps. It was a sad waste of 4 cups of cheese. I did follow the directions to temper the the egg mixture, really took my time with that, but I may have messed up waiting for it to thicken as I let it bubble for a minute while re-reading the recipe. Mistake #3? Well all these mistakes resulted in a tray of unsalvageable pasta. I am going back to my usual roux based macaroni and cheese. It seems more forgiving and always provides the creamy cheesy dish I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a few changes according to what I had on hand. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs that I browned in a wide Dutch oven with a bit of butter, then let them rest/cool/chop while I cooked 4 slices thick bacon, then took them out to cool/chop while cooking the veggie mixture in the drippings. I found this an easier way for a one pot meal. I misread and just added the bacon and chicken in together, and it tasted pretty good this way. I used cream of celery soup and salt free chicken broth. Grocery store was out of biscuits so I used Bisquick for dumplings (2 cups bisquick 2/3 cup milk) and simmered them covered on top of stew for 15 minutes. I like the wide Dutch oven for this because there is more surface area for the dumplings to steam. I also added a bit of dried herbs (bay leaf, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder,sage, poultry seasoning). I will make again without bacon and maybe add some peas. Great comforting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Tortellini Soup I

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was a good hearty soup filled with yummy vegetables. I personally don't enjoy green peppers in soup, but I had some to use up so I kept it in. Followed the recipe except for the wine, and used tomato paste instead of sauce. I pre-made this for our camping trip and I think it will be a welcome warm and filling soup heated up for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Ham Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We liked this and its a good pantry ready dinner, nothing fancy but it was quick and satisfying. I didn't have pimentos or fresh parsley, so I left them out. I used linguine pasta because its what I had on hand. I also added some frozen corn to it because corn and ham are always a good combination in our house. My 5 year old and 2 year old both loved it and ate seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was a very nice dessert. I had to cook it for an extra 20 minutes, even in my 9x9 pan. I used butter instead because we were out of shortening. I dredged the blueberries in flour, though I don't know if this was necessary since the batter is very thick. I used frozen wild blueberries. Were not a big dessert family, but I'll save this recipe for potlucks or for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States