Gatineau - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was a very nice dessert. I had to cook it for an extra 20 minutes, even in my 9x9 pan. I used butter instead because we were out of shortening. I dredged the blueberries in flour, though I don't know if this was necessary since the batter is very thick. I used frozen wild blueberries. Were not a big dessert family, but I'll save this recipe for potlucks or for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Saffron Rice

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I used basmati rice that I rinsed and soaked for 30 minutes. I also used chicken broth. I read somewhere about using a folded tea towel and put it between the lid and the pot which worked great and seemed to catch some of the moisture and keep the rice fluffy and dry. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Chickpea Curry

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, but did make a couple of changes. I used white kidney beans when I realized I didn't have any chickpeas. I found it a bit too spicy for the kids so I added half a can of coconut milk and a cup of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Onion Elk Roast Stroganoff

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
It's hard for me to rate this. I made the recipe with only the following changes: used cream of mushroom soup (not sure what cream of onion is), and added some sautéed mushrooms to the crockpot. I served this with mashed potatoes. It was a good stroganoff but I realize now that elk meat is just not for me. I thought the meat, although tender has a strange texture and not a great flavour. I won't eat again, its just not something I enjoyed - but the recipe was a good one, and if you like elk meat, perhaps this is a nice way to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Pad Thai

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is a good base recipe that can be adapted to suit your tastes. I used shrimp and added sliced red peppers instead of bean sprouts and grated carrots. I doubled the sauce and added a bit of peanut butter to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Thought these were just ok. It might have been the taste of the parmesan cheese that was too toasted for my liking. They were crispy on the outside and soft inside just as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Curried Cauliflower

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Made as suggested it makes a lot of sauce and my cauliflower came out too soft. I should've only added part of the sauce I think. We liked the crunchy drier bits on top. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Dessert Crepes

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Delish! First couple came out funny looking and too thick, but by the third crepe I was a pro. I forgot to add the melted butter (oops), and I added a tiny bit of cinnamon and vanilla based on some recommendations, and I would definitely do that again. They smell so good. I used my nutribullet to blend the ingredients and make it easy to pour. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Sausage

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We like sausage on a bun with sauerkraut once in a while so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. Unfortunately this just wasn't something we enjoyed at all. I used the big jar of wine sauerkraut which I drained and rinsed and I used double smoked Harvest sausage from Costco. The sausage was just ok, and the sauerkraut was sweet and tangy but in a bad way. It really stunk up the house too. Maybe I don't like sauerkraut as much as I thought? Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Spam on the Go

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this tonight and was pretty pleased with it. I used Pam spray to fry the spam in along with diced onion (wish I had green onion on hand though). I used chicken broth instead of water. I found it a bit salty - which may have been the chicken broth. Next time I will purchase the spam lite and look for low sodium soy sauce. Also, I agree with the reviewer who suggested adding the soy sauce last to the pan. I added it first and I think the spam sucked up all the soy sauce before the noodles could absorb it. I think this would be good with some veggies, like red pepper or mushrooms. Tomorrow I'll try out the leftovers on my 5 year old son, and see how it goes. Regardless I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed reviewers suggestions to reduce the mayonnaise to 1/4 cup, but used the full 3 oz of cream cheese. Darn, I really regret that. I didn't care for the mushy taste of cream cheese. On the plus side the leftovers can be salvaged as a cold cheese spread for crackers. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Pretty good and would make again. I used 2 cans of tomatoes which I smashed with a potato masher because we wanted more sauce. I used rigatoni because thats what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Amelia's Tuna Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was good, but nothing too special. Followed the recipe exactly, but used frozen peas instead. We added an extra can of tuna, because the ratio seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Eddie

Cathy's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Fantastic!! Very easy and simply delicious! I changed things slightly. Used 1 cup sour cream, and 1/3 cup greek yogurt, added 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the batter. Then before I popped the loaves into the oven, I sprinkled a mixture of 1/4 cup brown sugar, 3 tblsp flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tblsp melted butter, over the top. Wonderful flavor and very moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We liked this and it was kid approved too. I used vegetable stock and a bit of chicken bouillon since that's what I had on hand. I also added some frozen corn at the end. Thanks for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
pretty good. I used a mandolin to cut the potatoes and took the time to nicely line them up in the pan. Not all that necessary since its hidden under the sauce. I should've used a smaller pan or watched it closer because the bottom layer got very dark and crispy (not in a good way). I'll omit or finely mince the onions next time because although I like them, I hate watching people pick them out of their dinner. I used 3 kinds of cheese - provolone, cheddar and mozzarella, just because its what I had on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Exceptional taste and easy to make!! Only change I make is to add red peppers, and reduce the milk just a touch, just so mixture would fit in pie plate. I also put onions and red peppers right on top of cheese, and then added egg mixture. Much easier to whisk liquids and flour together that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Thai Fried Bananas

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Tried it out as a possible dessert for a dinner party but its just not something I enjoyed. Possibly one small piece on the side of coconut ice cream, but wouldn't want the bananas to be the main part of the dessert. Not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Green Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this tonight for my family of four including a picky 5 year old and 1 year old - everyone liked it. I only added one jalapeño so it wouldn't be too hot for the kids. I couldn't find McCormick's red curry powder, so I used a tablespoon of red curry paste (Mae Ploy brand), and I didn't add any basil leaves. For veg, I used 2 white potatoes, a can of baby corn, brown mushrooms and sliced red pepper. I used cane sugar, just because. I'll make this again, the sauce is such a good base. I served it with jasmine rice. I think next time I'll use chicken breast or chicken thighs. Just a preference, because even after crisping it, it ended up soggy in the final product and I don't enjoy picking skin out of my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States