Quebec - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken with Peanut Curry Yogurt Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
As is the recipe needs extra flavour but it is very easy to tweak to your taste so that is why it gets 3 stars. My family enjoyed it with slight alterations, it was fast enough to do for a busy weeknight meal and was very filling. I added extra garlic and some red curry paste . It also needed a splash of milk to thin out the sauce just because my all natural creamy peanut butter was far too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is comfort food at it's best. We throughly enjoyed this and will make it again and again. I made very few adjustments. I used fresh garlic instead of the powder, added a little dried parsley to both the burger and the gravy and added used some thinly sliced mushrooms because they needed to be used.. Oh, and I doubled the gravy. Thank you so very, very much Anne Marie. Top notch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren
Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was a yummy recipe ... added 2 carrots, 1 parsnip, an onion and served it on egg noodles ... oh yeah and the white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Garlic Scape Pesto

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have to admit, this recipe wasn't my favorite. I had never used garlic scapes before, and I doubt I will again. Scapes are quite tough and the resulting purée remained slightly chunky, even with additional olive oil. I served the pesto over spaghetti and had to eat some of it on toasted baguette to cut the intensity. It's REALLY garlicky and super strong. I think it might be good if you turned it into a cream sauce or added it to other dishes as a garlic replacement, but as a straight-up pesto, I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
THE BEST BANANA MUFFIN RECIPE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!OMG! fantastic. I've been making another banana muffin recipe for years, kids love it but this time I thought I would try something new. Beyond fabulous. Sooooooooo moist, topping was crunchy and sweet. !2 muffins made and almost devoured in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVEYLU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

QUICK AND EASY LEMON LOAF

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The title it perfect because this is quick and easy, but also delicious. I took this to a pot luck and it was gone in a flash. I made this as is with the exception of adding lemon zest to the batter, as others suggested. I had no trouble getting the loaf to release, I ran a sharp knife around the edge as soon as I took it out of the oven. After 15 minutes I took the loaf from the pan and added the topping. Thanks Manella, this one is going to my make again file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren
Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made a batch of this Rice Pudding, and although hubby and I were the only ones who ate it and enjoyed it, we loved it just the same. Didn't add raisins, I think I used a bit more spice tho, great recipe, Erica G, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I did not think this would come out good because it was so "gloppy" when I mixed it. I'm glad I was wrong. If you're not worried about calories try this with the "pot roast gravy" on this website (1 pack brown gravy, 1 pack Italian salad dressing, 1 pack Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing, 2 tablespoons of flour, 1 1/2 cups of water). I know it sounds weird but it's absolutely AMAZING...I have to get another slice:) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Really good hamburgers. I used veal/pork/beef combo. Since, I didn't have any evaporated milk, I just used milk instead. I added garlic powder and omitted the cayenne, since we have some spice weenies in my home. Husband couldn't stop raving about the flavour and juiciness of the burgers. This is my new go to hamburger recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious. My father who's even more picky than my 5 year old loved it so much he requested I make it for his 80th birthday next week. And cutting down on the sodium doesn't take away from the flavor one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
So good! I used green onions, extra garlic and grilled them on the BBQ. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was a very nice dessert. I had to cook it for an extra 20 minutes, even in my 9x9 pan. I used butter instead because we were out of shortening. I dredged the blueberries in flour, though I don't know if this was necessary since the batter is very thick. I used frozen wild blueberries. Were not a big dessert family, but I'll save this recipe for potlucks or for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Kofta Kebabs

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Made this last night for dinner ... it was very good ... next time I will make a sauce for them ... some type of yogurt sauce ... and naan bread ... I served this with a salad which was good but the naan bread and sauce would have made it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Banana Cake V

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made this and my kids absolutely loved it. I used all purpose flour and made and oatmeat chocolate chip topping that added the extra sweetness to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Orianne Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Bacon Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made this wonderful tasting quiche for lunch today and everyone Loved it! Followed the recipe just as is ... did not make any changes other than I made my own crust ... served it with a salad ... Delicious and will be making it again, and again ... !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made this crust last night for the first time. I think it will take a bit more practice to make perfect. I rolled the dough a little too thick. But the taste was really good. I will be experimenting with this recipe more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This pie is out of this world. I had never made pecan pie before as I was always turned off by the corn syrup. Well, pecans were on sale at Costco when I went last week and my the mini pie plates I ordered came in yesterday, so my mini pecan pies were fortuitous. I used the recipe for Butter Flaky Pie Crust from this site and followed the recipe as indicated in the video. Since I was making mini pies, I thought I'd have to cook them less, but 10 minutes @ 400, and 20 minutes at 350 seemed pretty perfect. I will be enjoying this recipe and sharing it with others!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great weekday supper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by cookingnomics

Never Fail Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I used whole wheat flour and added walnuts.... the cookies smell and taste delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingnomics

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Royal Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Have made these cookies a couple of times now. I followed the recipe exactly as is and it's foolproof. Makes a nice, flavourful cookie. I used a small ice-cream scoop and the bottom of a glass to press down to make it round and somewhat flat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States