Quebec - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The flavour of the curry ( I am a BIG curry fan ) mixed with the honey and dijon was not a match made in heaven for me. Overall, it was just an alright meal. I served this with basmati rice and roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent, the only thing I did that it didn't suggest was to turn it over half way through cooking so the top side would brown!!!!! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Fish

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good. I should have cooked it only 90 seconds on each side though. A little too black for me and maybe a touch too spicy. I used Tilapia instead of trout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Quick Almond Flour Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Oh yeah! I just finished making, and eating, a batch of these pancakes. The taste is literally still hanging on my palate. I incorporated some of the changes, others suggested, such as the addition of a tsp of vanilla, 2 tbs of oil, a couple pinches of cinnamon, and stevia instead of maple syrup, to lower the carb count. These are very tasty. I served them with breakfast sausage links, and sugar free blueberry syrup, not bad, but next time I'll make sure I have a sugar free maple syrup on hand to top them with. I think a sugar free honey, instead of stevia, will give them a richer flavor, and maybe an extra tsp of vanilla. I will also not make these again until I have some unsweetened coconut almond milk, to wash them down with. It should be illegal to have pancakes without milk to wash them down with. :-) Inspite of the changes made, this is a very good recipe, and a welcome addition to my low carb lifestyle. Low carb breakfasts are usually dominated by eggs, either fried or scrambled, and bacon or sausage; which can get old, over the long run; thanks Allie, for giving me another tasty option, as they will help me to stay on course. These pancakes, either with a breakfast meat, or as a platform for low carb eggs benedict, broadens the possibilities, of what a low carb breakfast can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'm sharing my review only because it may help others to learn from my mistakes... This was a big fat fail for me unfortunately. I'm just thankful I didn't prepare it for company. I have always been curious about egg based mac and cheese and decided to give this a try. I used 1 can of evaporated milk, and 1 can milk/cream mixture. Mistake #1? I used a mild cheddar cheese - maybe my cheese wasn't a very good melting cheese...Mistake #2? My egg/butter mixture looked fine when I mixed in the macaroni, maybe just slightly lumpy. But once I layered and baked it it came out awful... not creamy or cheesy at all. The macaroni looked plain boiled pasta alongside chunks of ricotta cheese lumps. It was a sad waste of 4 cups of cheese. I did follow the directions to temper the the egg mixture, really took my time with that, but I may have messed up waiting for it to thicken as I let it bubble for a minute while re-reading the recipe. Mistake #3? Well all these mistakes resulted in a tray of unsalvageable pasta. I am going back to my usual roux based macaroni and cheese. It seems more forgiving and always provides the creamy cheesy dish I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Mom's Best Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
These were great accompanied by fresh fruit and maple syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was so good. I made fajitas instead of tacos because that is what I prefer, but other than that I followed the recipe and can attest that it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a few changes according to what I had on hand. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs that I browned in a wide Dutch oven with a bit of butter, then let them rest/cool/chop while I cooked 4 slices thick bacon, then took them out to cool/chop while cooking the veggie mixture in the drippings. I found this an easier way for a one pot meal. I misread and just added the bacon and chicken in together, and it tasted pretty good this way. I used cream of celery soup and salt free chicken broth. Grocery store was out of biscuits so I used Bisquick for dumplings (2 cups bisquick 2/3 cup milk) and simmered them covered on top of stew for 15 minutes. I like the wide Dutch oven for this because there is more surface area for the dumplings to steam. I also added a bit of dried herbs (bay leaf, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder,sage, poultry seasoning). I will make again without bacon and maybe add some peas. Great comforting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Pork Chops With Black Cherry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Very nice change of pace to ordinary porkchops. Liked the cherries mixed with the wine. Didn't have beef stock, but did use the drippings from the baked chops which seemed a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Pancake Strips with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
No, I haven't tried this, yet. However, I gave it 5 stars because it brought back memories of my parents doing the exact same thing with breakfast sausage cooked into pancakes, or biscuits and scrambled eggs,(50+ years ago) and served with Alaga syrup and melted butter. I think the addition of peanut butter, to the syrup, just adds an extra element of fun, and flavor. I can't wait to try these. Making the sausage stuffed pancakes was my parents answer to not letting us buy the pancake breakfast served at our church, every Sunday, after Sunday Morning Mass, and was well worth the wait, to get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Tortellini Soup I

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was a good hearty soup filled with yummy vegetables. I personally don't enjoy green peppers in soup, but I had some to use up so I kept it in. Followed the recipe except for the wine, and used tomato paste instead of sauce. I pre-made this for our camping trip and I think it will be a welcome warm and filling soup heated up for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Dark 'n' Stormy Cocktail

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious beverage, I recommend the Barritt's Ginger Beer and Gosling's Black Seal rum from Bermuda...I have tasted this cocktail made with a different brand of ginger beer and rum...alas, it just isn't the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Corn on the Cob

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was a great addition to our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Cranberry Applesauce Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
We've tried this recipe twice now and just can't make it work. The dough is too dry, so I added more applesauce but they still end up very dense and dry. We used frozen blueberries the first time and dried cranberries the second time. Each time we used sweetened applesauce so eliminated the sugar. They were sweet enough but just too dense. Not a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Curry Fish and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very you my
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by CLOUDLESS

Ham Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We liked this and its a good pantry ready dinner, nothing fancy but it was quick and satisfying. I didn't have pimentos or fresh parsley, so I left them out. I used linguine pasta because its what I had on hand. I also added some frozen corn to it because corn and ham are always a good combination in our house. My 5 year old and 2 year old both loved it and ate seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Often the best chicken people have the luxury of trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Southern Style Pig Tails

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've been cooking pig tails, for close to forty years, in a similar fashion; though I usually add a bit more seasoning, and as soon as they are fork tender, transfer them to a roasting pan with my favorite bbq sauce. I then let them cook for an additional hour, in the oven, to get completely tender, with a nice bbq glaze. I also usually add some fresh ham hocks to the mix, to be served up with my favorite soulfood sides: cole slaw, mac and cheese, collard greens and skillet cornbread. If you really want a treat, and can find them, try using smoked pig tails to season a pot of blackeyed peas, or pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Lemon Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Doubled the Dijon and the garlic and used Pepperoncini instead of the red pepper. I did not use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Restaurant ribs. Husband could not stop raving about it. Super tender and moist. I did as other reviews suggested, I first sasoned ribs with salt and pepper. I added chopped garlic to water and boiled the ribs for 20 minutes. This removes some of the fat and liquid from the meat. I replaced the chili sauce with a bbq sauce I had on hand. Finally, I put the ribs under the broiler with additional sauce basted on the surface to get a beautiful caramelization. Excellent results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States