Quebec - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Restaurant ribs. Husband could not stop raving about it. Super tender and moist. I did as other reviews suggested, I first sasoned ribs with salt and pepper. I added chopped garlic to water and boiled the ribs for 20 minutes. This removes some of the fat and liquid from the meat. I replaced the chili sauce with a bbq sauce I had on hand. Finally, I put the ribs under the broiler with additional sauce basted on the surface to get a beautiful caramelization. Excellent results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wow! So good. I made it exactly as written. No changes at all. However, I did cook it for closer to 45 minutes, constantly stirring and adding the broth. Really worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Works perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Babin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaican Plantain Tarts

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blk Pearlz Dezine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf's Sour Cream Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Terrific! I wouldn't change a thing. I didn't even have an opportunity to take a picture because my family devoured it too soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Banana Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Made them today and they were great. My 13 year old boy told me he hadn't gone to the bathroom for a couple of days and asked me if I would make bran muffins to help so here they are. He also asked to make them so they didn't taste like horse food! Long story short he loved them and his problem solved. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rosemere, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I haven't tried this, but it sounds awesome. However, my suggestion is, and I assume this is something that would be made for family, or friends. If you are going to go through the trouble, and expense, of making this; go all the way. Crack open a pound of snow crab legs, or use lump crabmeat, instead of that awful canned crab. In fact buy a couple of pounds of crab legs, so that everybody's plate can be garnished with a crab leg or two when you serve up these awesome enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious. I used French bread and added chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Raspberry Pie III

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Good, but too sweet and it came out runny, like raspberry soup. Need to figure out the consistency issue. I'll be trying again because my backyard bush produces about 4 cups of berries every other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Braised Beef Shank with Wine and Tarragon

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made this dish last night ... it was good and I meant to take a pic but we were sitting down eating when I remembered! I added a couple cloves of garlic, a couple carrots and a parsnip to it ... I would make this again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Refreshing Cucumber Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Love love love this recipe, I make it without the cucumbers or the oil, always a big hit and very refreshing in summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie-France Allaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Peanut Curry Yogurt Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
As is the recipe needs extra flavour but it is very easy to tweak to your taste so that is why it gets 3 stars. My family enjoyed it with slight alterations, it was fast enough to do for a busy weeknight meal and was very filling. I added extra garlic and some red curry paste . It also needed a splash of milk to thin out the sauce just because my all natural creamy peanut butter was far too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is comfort food at it's best. We throughly enjoyed this and will make it again and again. I made very few adjustments. I used fresh garlic instead of the powder, added a little dried parsley to both the burger and the gravy and added used some thinly sliced mushrooms because they needed to be used.. Oh, and I doubled the gravy. Thank you so very, very much Anne Marie. Top notch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren
Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was a yummy recipe ... added 2 carrots, 1 parsnip, an onion and served it on egg noodles ... oh yeah and the white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Garlic Scape Pesto

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have to admit, this recipe wasn't my favorite. I had never used garlic scapes before, and I doubt I will again. Scapes are quite tough and the resulting purée remained slightly chunky, even with additional olive oil. I served the pesto over spaghetti and had to eat some of it on toasted baguette to cut the intensity. It's REALLY garlicky and super strong. I think it might be good if you turned it into a cream sauce or added it to other dishes as a garlic replacement, but as a straight-up pesto, I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
THE BEST BANANA MUFFIN RECIPE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!OMG! fantastic. I've been making another banana muffin recipe for years, kids love it but this time I thought I would try something new. Beyond fabulous. Sooooooooo moist, topping was crunchy and sweet. !2 muffins made and almost devoured in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVEYLU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

QUICK AND EASY LEMON LOAF

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The title it perfect because this is quick and easy, but also delicious. I took this to a pot luck and it was gone in a flash. I made this as is with the exception of adding lemon zest to the batter, as others suggested. I had no trouble getting the loaf to release, I ran a sharp knife around the edge as soon as I took it out of the oven. After 15 minutes I took the loaf from the pan and added the topping. Thanks Manella, this one is going to my make again file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren
Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made a batch of this Rice Pudding, and although hubby and I were the only ones who ate it and enjoyed it, we loved it just the same. Didn't add raisins, I think I used a bit more spice tho, great recipe, Erica G, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I did not think this would come out good because it was so "gloppy" when I mixed it. I'm glad I was wrong. If you're not worried about calories try this with the "pot roast gravy" on this website (1 pack brown gravy, 1 pack Italian salad dressing, 1 pack Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing, 2 tablespoons of flour, 1 1/2 cups of water). I know it sounds weird but it's absolutely AMAZING...I have to get another slice:) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Really good hamburgers. I used veal/pork/beef combo. Since, I didn't have any evaporated milk, I just used milk instead. I added garlic powder and omitted the cayenne, since we have some spice weenies in my home. Husband couldn't stop raving about the flavour and juiciness of the burgers. This is my new go to hamburger recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States