St. Catharines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot but next time will use 1/2 the amount of dijon mustard. It overwhelmed the cranberry flavour. Also made quite a bit so unless you have a large crowd--plan on storing at least 1/2 in a jar in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada

Crustless Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was surprisingly good. It produced a decent sweet crust. The flavour is just tart enough for cranberry lovers. Even my DH who hates cranberries--asked for seconds! Very easy and quick to make. I only used 1/2 tsp almond extract--I think the whole amount would have been too much and would have overpowered the cranberry taste.i didn't have walnuts on hand so I used pecans--and was excellent! Was still very good the next day. I will definitely make this again. Thank you Jean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Shannon O'K

Crustless Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was a simple yet amazing recipe. My Dad and boyfriend who don't even like cranberries said it was reaqlly good and had seconds. I changed the recipe by only putting in 1/4 tsp of almond extract and 3/4 tsp of vanilla. Also, instead of walnuts I used pecans. So good! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Candied Apples II

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
loved it. cooked sugar at 4 on electric stove. no higher, turned down to 2-3 at 275 on thermometer. was ready in about 5 minutes after that. put pot into pan of hot water that i had ready, dipped apples. only did 6, rest of candy was to hard to roll by then. I added about 3 drops of pure mint/peppermint extract and the 16 or so drops of the red food colouring. candy is crisp and slightly minty and very good. used couple grannies and some royal gala. apples now resting. perfect day for it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cream Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Wish I could rate this higher, it is a fantastic pie! I read all reviews and finally decided to cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups as everyone seemed to agree the pie was very sweet. I agree it could even be cut down more but oh my this was delicious. I added the cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix and sprinkled pumpkin pie spice over the pie. My pie took almost an hour baking to almost set it completely but when it cooled it was perfect. I never told anyone what the "secret" ingredient was and nobody guessed but everyone raved about how delicious it was. I will be doing this again soon LOL. I froze some of the pieces to share with others and it froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Chicken and Pumpkin Goulash

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good and hearty. Loved the use of pumpkin in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I have never had fish that turns out right for me but this recipe was perfect. Thanks for a great recicpe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
More flavor was needed in this dish. The spaghetti squash is watery and bland and I will not buy again. The sauce made lots and I had to tweak it so I added some leftover spaghetti sauce, garlic, oregano, italian seasoning and a little salt. The sauce then worked great served over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Emergency Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I had chicken out for another recipe but forgot to buy a key ingredient (oops) so needed something quick and delicious and found this recipe fit the bill perfectly. Served with a side salad and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza from Pillsbury®

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really good although next time will try a mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Pumpkin Muffins II

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I read past reviews on these before making and cut back on the spices by half except for the cinnamon which I kept as the whole amount. These are good, kept their shape nicely and would be good with some nuts. I was going to do a streusel topping but forgot and I am glad I did because the muffins rose nicely. The whole family liked them although they said I could have used the original spice amounts called for. I will be making these again using the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Sausage and Red Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Quick to throw together with a minimum of fuss. I forgot to add the bacon but it was still good. Leftovers were good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
These pork chops came out very tender and moist. I took another reviewers suggestion and used 1/2 cup each on the ketchup, soy sauce (low sodium) and brown sugar. Made ample sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Bierrocks III

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These turned out nice. Used crescent roll dough and the coleslaw mix with green and purple cabbage and carrots. Only used groung beef and added a bunch of seasoning, garlic, ground mustard, parsely flakes and s/p. Good base recipe for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

'Welcome Fall' Roasted Chicken and Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
We really enjoyed the mix of vegetables in this and the flavor was wonderful. Hubby went back for seconds on the vegetables which he rarely does. This smells so good cooking. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and next time I will season them with more than salt and pepper. I didn't even have a chance to take a picture of this as it had our mouths watering. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Sweet Potato Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Nice flavors in this. Sweet potatoes were done way before the 5 hrs on high. I didn't have the 1/2 ground beef handy so made whole amount with the ground turkey. I will do this recipe again but will cook on low and just throw all the ingredients in the slow cooker at the same time, no prebrowning I think is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was so delicious and fell apart easily it was so tender. The few leftovers were absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Al's Baked Swiss Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I added a 28oz can of tomatoes since I had more meat than recipe originally called for. I also added more carrots, left out celery since we don't care for it and didn't bother with the cheese. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Turkey Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Hubby and I are divided on this so that is the reason for the 3 star rating. I like this healthier version of meatloaf but he prefers others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Easy Weeknight Tuna Pot Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We really enjoyed this quick and easy meal. I needed a good meal but was short on time and since I had everything in the house this fit the bill perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States