St. Catharines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ground Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this with some if the changes previous reviewers suggested. I didn't use mayo because I don't like it warm, so I added 1/2 a can of mushroom soup. I didn't have beef broth so I used two packs of beef oxo and put 1/2 in with the noodle water. I also added garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce, and oregano. Everyone in the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CodyS

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It's a great looking bread but nothing too too special. Maybe if you added cranberries or chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CodyS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eganville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindy's Snappy Sensational Superfood Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Tried this yesterday and it was a big hit (well, with ME and Jackie, anyway!) And if our friends don't like it...well, tough! All the more for us.) Thanks, Cindy! I stuck with the recipe except I didn't have the fresh Basil. No biggy...just doubled up on the dried. BONUS, I DID have fresh ginger, so doubled up on that too, using my cheese grater. Yummmmmmyyyyyy! Also, you can make this recipe in HALF the time by nuking the turnip, carrots and potatoes till tender first, then chucking them into a big soup pot with the lentils, herbs and spices. Bring everything to a boil then simmer for two or three hours. Leave chunky...or put it through the processor for a creamy bowl of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRESIDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I decided to make a chocolate pie one day and came across this recipe. It came out perfect and was gone in a day. My whole family loved this pie. It has been a request every time I say i will make a pie. So far we have made 6 of them and I have made the recipes as directed and never had a problem with it at all. Would rate it higher in stars but I just can't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Muenster-Bacon Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Would have rated it higher but as written it needed changes as other reviewers suggested. I found the bread crumb mixture was way too much to cover our 3 chicken breasts. I also omitted the salt as others suggested and very glad I did as we didn't miss it. I also made my own Cajun seasoning and cut back on the amount of hot pepper sauce only because I don't like overly spiced foods. I couldn't find Muenster cheese in our area so took a suggestion from the cheese store to try a Saint Paulin cheese instead. Well worth the work for this dish. Served with steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Banana Yogurt Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Used greek style yogurt as the only change. I made 15 muffins and you don't even taste the bran. Lovely banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by jacquie

Mango, Peach and Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The only thing I changed, was that I didn't add the sugar and water. I served it with grilled lemon garlic shrimp for an appetizer. My husband loved it! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Beer Spice Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made these into cupcakes and the recipe made 15 amazing moist cupcakes. I used a banana bread beer. Frosted with the Allspice cream cheese icing following the changes other reviewers suggested by using an 8oz cream cheese and 2 cups icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Wish I could rate this higher. Amazing icing and not overpowering allspice like I thought it would be. I used this to frost beer cupcakes also on this site and a red velvet cake. 2 cups icing sugar was plenty and used 8oz cream cheese. I now want to try this with the Spanish bar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
A new family fav! A very moist loaf and a nice touch with the sliced apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Easy Sesame Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I did change this recipe a bit, but I'm giving this a good review because the base is good. I didn't have any sesame oil on hand so I blended some sesame seeds in olive oil and used that. I also added some ground mustard. Another reviewer mentioned that it separated quite a bit. Mustard is an emulsifier so it keeps the oil and vinegar from separating and doesn't change the flavour too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was pretty good. I didn't have any ricotta or cottage cheese, so I used sour cream with garlic powder mixed in. I also didn't have ground beef, so i used Italian sausage. I took others advice and didn't bother with lining the pan with foil, but I did put some sauce on the bottom. I put the spaghetti (without the butter) next, sour cream, and finally the sauce with the sausage and some red peppers. It fed 3 adults (with seconds), 2 children and there's still leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe. Only thing is that I found it too spicy. Honestly the hot sauce is not really needed in this recipe. Marinated for about four hours and was extremely tasty. I will definitely be making this again. Cooked on a charcoal barbeque, made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Potato, Carrot Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
my baby carrots were very thick so they did not cook in the stated time, had to add another half hour, potatoes needed that extra time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I am not fond of ham but rest of family does so this Christmas I tried this recipe in my slow cooker and it turned out amazing! I had a spiral fully cooked 8 lb. ham and it was done in 4 hrs. on low. I only used about 2 cups of the water and left out the Worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke since I was out. Still turned out amazing, fall off the bone and I was nibbling every time I basted it. I will be buying ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Classic Hamburger Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Gotta say that I really didn't like this. Not traditional Shepherd's Pie at all, too sweet in the meat layer, not enough proper spicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great comfort food on a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Cabbage Roll Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did cut the rice down to 1 cup and upped the water in the soup to 5 cups from the 2 cups the recipe called for. Tasted very close to cabbage rolls. I would try maybe adding more meat and maybe adding a pork/beef/veal mix like I would when I do Cabbage Rolls. Makes lots of a very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very simple to make and tastes amazing! There is no reason why you should never know what's for dinner because you probably have these simple ingredients on hand. If you don't like parmesan try it with Romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe was perfect. The "only" thing I really did differently was soak my raisins in hot water at the beginning for about 10 minutes. The cookies were chewy and not hard at all. After three days they still taste fresh. No more purchasing cookies from the local supermarket. I would highly recommend making this recipe. I was very hesitate after reading some reviews of the batter running while in the oven; however, using my amazing Kitchenaid mixer, made the recipe work like a charm. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States