St. Catharines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this the other day and it did not set at all! I still gave it a 2 because the pie still tasted good. I'm going to use cornstarch instead of flower next time like some of the other reviews said and see if it works. If it does then I do think this recipe will be a keeper after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Justin and Christine's Hurricane Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Interesting blend of flavors. I forgot to season with salt and pepper so did that on our plates and yes it did need the extra seasoning. We were not fans of the baby carrots in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Chicken Sweet Potato Skillet

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used leftover cooked chicken. I even made sure to buy hazelnuts for this and toasted them which was very easy to do. This recipe was delicious and a good way of getting a lot of healthy items into my hubbys diet in one dish. Spinach cooked down so much that even more could be added without overpowering the taste of this lovely hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Kim

Lemon Cooler Cream Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I just made this yesterday for a family members birthday as her favourite flavour is lemon! It turned out really well and everyone enjoyed it. I used lemon pudding instead of vanilla which turned out well. Next time I probably won't put the jello into the whipped topping, it leaves a bit of an after taste. Overall this was a good dessert and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Slow Cooker Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
too salty, will stick to better recipes for meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Pork Chops to Live For

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Aside from seasoning chops with salt and pepper no other changes were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Cheesy Italian Tortellini

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I was disappointed with this. It did smell absolutely wonderful though. This would just have been as easy throwing in the oven as others did. The jarred sauce does nothing for it. I did find the pasta cooked perfectly in the amount of time called for. I would try this next time with my own sauce made from scratch so the slow cooker would enhance the flavors simmering all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This recipe needed tweeking to get some seasoning involved. I added the same seasonings to this as I would to my chicken pot pie. I also made my own dumplings from bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Super easy to do and was very good. I didn't have such a big turkey breast so I only used 1 envelope onion soup mix and used chicken broth instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Special Rhubarb Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Found this recipe last year. Double the rhubarb for sure!! I used maple syrup instead of sugar for the sauce (and also added an ounce or 2 of a liqueur I had handy). I substituted whole plain yogurt for the buttermilk. Substituted cream for the evaporated milk. I use coconut sugar for the cake portion . Also added some cinnamon to both the cake and sauce. HIGHLY recommend. The first time I made this my girlfriend who does not eat desserts tasted a bit out of politeness and ate 2 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
very good! added mushrooms and a tomato, and used pork instead of beef. otherwise exact to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeatherMaven

Sour Cream Blueberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
very yummy! made almost exactly as written. only change was i used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, and didn't use nuts (allergy). Took a few extra mins to fully bake, but worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken a la King III

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent, particularly with a few more spices, onion etc. as suggested by others, and in puff pastry also as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Monkey Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
doubled the recipe. thought the batter was too thin at first, but it was fine. omitted the nuts as we have an allergy. used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose. Served it with peanut butter...died and went to heaven...so so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

SpiceBurgs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious .. The most moist burgers I have ever tasted. The Sour Cream is the "secret" trick. I added some real bacon bits, and some Epicure Selections spices and used real garlic. Mmm Mmm good. I will be using this recipe from now on to make my barbeque burgers. Did I say Del-i-cious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I LOVE! This recipe and have made it coutless times :) I love onions, so I think the amount is ok but I add more pasta. I use low sodium chicken broth not water,a splash of white wine, I cut back on the oil and butter but I add more extra vergin olive oil at the end if I think I need it, 2 cloves of garlic, italian sesoning, some pepper to taste, and my favorate part! 6 strips of bacon broken into chunks! soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Laplante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy G.

Ground Beef Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Large mild casserole. I added a small amount of milk to the cream of mushroom soup. I only simmered the beef mixture for about 20 -25 mins. A very versatile dish which is kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Hamburger Hash Browns

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Quick meal to throw together. I would add a little extra pepper to the hash browns. I thought the hash browns still tasted uncooked but hubby had seconds. I will do this again adding extra cooking time or maybe cooking the hash brown layer a bit first before topping with the ground beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Cranberry Beef Stir Fry

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Not a fan of this. I added more vegs. and an extra clove of garlic. This did not cook as quickly as recipe stated. I liked the tang from the cranberry sauce on the vegs while hubby disliked the whole dish. I think this would have been better using round steak cut into thin strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Sweet Baby Carrots

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I liked the sound of this recipe except for the crazy amount of butter so started reading reviews and found 1 that I did use by TYLERDEN. Cutting back the butter to 3 TBSP, 3 TBSP brown sugar and 1 TBSP honey with a dash of cinnamon made my sliced carrots perfect with just the right amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States