St. Catharines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This recipe needed tweeking to get some seasoning involved. I added the same seasonings to this as I would to my chicken pot pie. I also made my own dumplings from bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Super easy to do and was very good. I didn't have such a big turkey breast so I only used 1 envelope onion soup mix and used chicken broth instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
very good! added mushrooms and a tomato, and used pork instead of beef. otherwise exact to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeatherMaven

Sour Cream Blueberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
very yummy! made almost exactly as written. only change was i used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, and didn't use nuts (allergy). Took a few extra mins to fully bake, but worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken a la King III

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent, particularly with a few more spices, onion etc. as suggested by others, and in puff pastry also as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Monkey Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
doubled the recipe. thought the batter was too thin at first, but it was fine. omitted the nuts as we have an allergy. used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose. Served it with peanut butter...died and went to heaven...so so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

SpiceBurgs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious .. The most moist burgers I have ever tasted. The Sour Cream is the "secret" trick. I added some real bacon bits, and some Epicure Selections spices and used real garlic. Mmm Mmm good. I will be using this recipe from now on to make my barbeque burgers. Did I say Del-i-cious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I LOVE! This recipe and have made it coutless times :) I love onions, so I think the amount is ok but I add more pasta. I use low sodium chicken broth not water,a splash of white wine, I cut back on the oil and butter but I add more extra vergin olive oil at the end if I think I need it, 2 cloves of garlic, italian sesoning, some pepper to taste, and my favorate part! 6 strips of bacon broken into chunks! soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy G.

Ground Beef Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Large mild casserole. I added a small amount of milk to the cream of mushroom soup. I only simmered the beef mixture for about 20 -25 mins. A very versatile dish which is kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Hamburger Hash Browns

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Quick meal to throw together. I would add a little extra pepper to the hash browns. I thought the hash browns still tasted uncooked but hubby had seconds. I will do this again adding extra cooking time or maybe cooking the hash brown layer a bit first before topping with the ground beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Cranberry Beef Stir Fry

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I did not care for this recipe! I added more vegs. and an extra clove of garlic. This did not cook as quickly as recipe stated. I liked the tang from the cranberry sauce on the vegs while hubby disliked the whole dish. I think this would have been better using round steak cut into thin strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Sweet Baby Carrots

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I liked the sound of this recipe except for the crazy amount of butter so started reading reviews and found 1 that I did use by TYLERDEN. Cutting back the butter to 3 TBSP, 3 TBSP brown sugar and 1 TBSP honey with a dash of cinnamon made my sliced carrots perfect with just the right amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These potatoes disappeared so fast. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It is not too cakey and not too dense. I also like that it does not make too much as leftovers are not the best. I made in a large 6 muffin tin pan and was exactly enough. Delicious with chili. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used 3/4 cup of milk with 1/4 cup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved it. Combination of original and other reviewers created a simple, low-fat, one-pot version: caramelized the onions with the garlic and some butter; added everything else except the chicken and simmered gently for 10 minutes; added the chicken, a green pepper, and a few carrots and simmered for 25 minutes. Swapped the tandoori masala for curry powder, and swapped the cream for a can of coconut milk and a can of evaporated milk. Cut the butter to 1/3 C total and reduced the salt to 1 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This a very nice cake-it has a nice light texture--most likely from the extra step of folding in the egg white mixture instead of just beating in the eggs whole. I also like that the cake is not too big. Just 2of us at home now and is just enough for a couple of days-I hate waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Ham and Great Northern Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I used a ham hock which I boiled in enough water to cover it. I added the carrots, garlic, beans, bay leaves and onion to this while cooking. When the meat was falling off the bone I chopped it up, adding it back to the pot and also kept the bone in. I kept this on a slow simmer for an hour. I added the salt and pepper just before serving. We liked the soup but I think I will even try adding some diced potatoes to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Quick Hoppin' John Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Good soup but on the mild side. I made it exactly as written but added hot sauce to leftovers which was very good for the second night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Cape Cod Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made the meatballs larger so I could serve it as a supper and it was very good. Very moist meatballs, sauce just had a touch of sweetness and was very good served with rice. I would definitely do this as an appetizer at a party or potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cathy G.

Wedding Soup Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Lots of steps to this but it was well worth it! I was worried there wouldn't be enough broth left by the time I got to the step of boiling the lasagna noodles but there was. First time I have actually not overcoooked my pasta LOL! Leftovers were great and the whole family enjoyed this. Thanks for posting this very different version of Lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States