St. Catharines - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Beer Spice Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made these into cupcakes and the recipe made 15 amazing moist cupcakes. I used a banana bread beer. Frosted with the Allspice cream cheese icing following the changes other reviewers suggested by using an 8oz cream cheese and 2 cups icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Wish I could rate this higher. Amazing icing and not overpowering allspice like I thought it would be. I used this to frost beer cupcakes also on this site and a red velvet cake. 2 cups icing sugar was plenty and used 8oz cream cheese. I now want to try this with the Spanish bar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
A new family fav! A very moist loaf and a nice touch with the sliced apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Easy Sesame Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I did change this recipe a bit, but I'm giving this a good review because the base is good. I didn't have any sesame oil on hand so I blended some sesame seeds in olive oil and used that. I also added some ground mustard. Another reviewer mentioned that it separated quite a bit. Mustard is an emulsifier so it keeps the oil and vinegar from separating and doesn't change the flavour too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was pretty good. I didn't have any ricotta or cottage cheese, so I used sour cream with garlic powder mixed in. I also didn't have ground beef, so i used Italian sausage. I took others advice and didn't bother with lining the pan with foil, but I did put some sauce on the bottom. I put the spaghetti (without the butter) next, sour cream, and finally the sauce with the sausage and some red peppers. It fed 3 adults (with seconds), 2 children and there's still leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe. Only thing is that I found it too spicy. Honestly the hot sauce is not really needed in this recipe. Marinated for about four hours and was extremely tasty. I will definitely be making this again. Cooked on a charcoal barbeque, made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Potato, Carrot Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
my baby carrots were very thick so they did not cook in the stated time, had to add another half hour, potatoes needed that extra time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I am not fond of ham but rest of family does so this Christmas I tried this recipe in my slow cooker and it turned out amazing! I had a spiral fully cooked 8 lb. ham and it was done in 4 hrs. on low. I only used about 2 cups of the water and left out the Worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke since I was out. Still turned out amazing, fall off the bone and I was nibbling every time I basted it. I will be buying ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Classic Hamburger Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Gotta say that I really didn't like this. Not traditional Shepherd's Pie at all, too sweet in the meat layer, not enough proper spicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great comfort food on a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Cabbage Roll Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did cut the rice down to 1 cup and upped the water in the soup to 5 cups from the 2 cups the recipe called for. Tasted very close to cabbage rolls. I would try maybe adding more meat and maybe adding a pork/beef/veal mix like I would when I do Cabbage Rolls. Makes lots of a very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very simple to make and tastes amazing! There is no reason why you should never know what's for dinner because you probably have these simple ingredients on hand. If you don't like parmesan try it with Romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe was perfect. The "only" thing I really did differently was soak my raisins in hot water at the beginning for about 10 minutes. The cookies were chewy and not hard at all. After three days they still taste fresh. No more purchasing cookies from the local supermarket. I would highly recommend making this recipe. I was very hesitate after reading some reviews of the batter running while in the oven; however, using my amazing Kitchenaid mixer, made the recipe work like a charm. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosenmunnar

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Did not work at all for me. Not sure what I did wrong, I bake all the time with no problem. It seemed like a pretty simple recipe to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken and Herbs

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very good recipe and despite not having a grill I went ahead and did this recipe in a 350 oven for 30 mins. I mixed all the ingredients in a pie pan, coated the chicken breasts on both sides easily and then just left them in the pan to bake. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Swedish-ish Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I think my pinches must have been a bit too much on nutmeg so that was my fault. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Paired with iced apple wine (creates a toffee apple combo on the palate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Best served with blueberry wine :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Had no idea what to make for supper but had a small ham steak and found this recipe. So quick to throw together with everything I had in the house. Perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Pasta Bean Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used 1 1/2 lbs. sausage because we like meat in our soups. I did notice on leftovers for the next day that the spinach and pasta tended to soak up a lot of the stock so had to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States