Milton, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grinch Kabobs

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was a lot of fun to serve. Used lemon juice to keep the banana from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Don't know what happened - the pumpkin layer was veeeerrrry soft. However, everyone who tasted it, said it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ugly Duckling Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very nice cake. Used pecans rather than walnuts. Served it with whipped cream with very little sugar added. Was very much enjoyed by all who had it. Will make again if ever I have canned fruit cocktail in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. Made for 45 people for lunch at our senior centre, got raves all round. Followed the recipe exactly. Am making it this evening for my husband and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Texas Sheet Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe up last week and while it didn't come out white, it really got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe for a larger cookie sheet. I cut it in half and used raspberry jam for the filling. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I'll make this cake again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enhance That Jar of Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I love the principal here and that's to take any jar of pasta sauce and doctor it to something approximating homemade. I used Tomato sauce instead of paste,added Italian seasoning and a bit of brown sugar to counter the acidity. As per another website, I also added a pat of butter at the very end - it's supposed to smooth out the sauce and help eliminate acidity. To put this recipe to a real test, I bought the store's cheapest pasta sauce. The end result is really great. The benefit of going this route rather than the 'totally from scratch' route, is a shorter cooking time, and, really, a more reliable end product. I would use this for company any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Danish Pastry Apple Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I wowed the members of my meeting today when I brought in these bars. Totally easy to make. Did as a couple of others recommended - used my food processor for the pastry. Added the egg/milk mix in quick pulses to avoid over-beating. The dough was a little wet in parts but I just sprinkled extra flour on it - no big deal. I rolled the dough out on waxed paper that I had laid over a glass cutting board. (Putting a splash of water between the board and the paper eliminates any shift while rolling out the pastry). When it was the right size/shape, I placed the baking tray (a jelly roll pan) over the pastry & flipped the whole lot (glass cutting board, pastry & bake tray) - just had to peel off the wax paper - really easy. I agree that the size of apple can vary hugely so why not just say "10 cups or about 10 apples". In my case, I used large Honey Crisp and only needed 8 to give 10 c. I thought the amount of sugar called for was perfect. I cooked the apple mixture in a saucepan for about 10 minutes on low heat to soften them a bit. Baking time was right on. Finally, after baking and cooling, I drizzled on an icing of Confectioners sugar & milk, just for presentation. The taste of the apples really come through,I will be making this again for sure. Thanks to poster Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Winter Root Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious. Didn't have rutabaga but had everything else; added potatoes. Per Linda-da's suggestion, used a glass baking dish but usually do so anyway. I might add some onion next time and instead of basil would consider a bit of Rosemary. One thing's for sure, I'll do the root veggies the same way again. Excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is a good recipe. Followed the recipe using slow cooker. You certainly couldn't tell there was pumpkin in it but so what? The spices were interesting. Good way to get more vegetables in the diet. I steamed one small pie pumpkin to get the puree I needed. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is an excellent soup. The baked potato adds a distinctive taste and texture that we all very much enjoyed. It serves a lot more than 6, though. It becomes a problem when calculating an increase in servings as I was - 50 servings - and I ended up with a lot more than that - probably double. I served the chives and bacon on the side for people to add in themselves and just in case there might have been some vegetarians. Served it at our Senior Centre Bazaar Lunch - went over very well. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scallops Provencale

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as far as step 4 - I added the scallops to the pan, let it come to a bubble. By then everything is cooked - I couldn't see the point of a further 10 minutes in the oven. Served it with toasted buttered, homemade rolls to soak up the juices. It certainly turned out darker than the photo. One commenter said it was too vinegary - 2 teaspoons?! I wonder if they used more than was called for, anyway, we found it a great balance of flavor and texture. I'll make it again, though with larger shrimp, and perhaps serve it over pasta or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It's very tasty, very simple, very quick, and very easy to put together. I had no corn on hand, so I used our frozen green beans instead, thanks to suggestion by Volleyballmom. Rather than ketchup, my husband had salsa on his and I had Spicy Thai sauce on mine. We really quite enjoyed it and I'll definitely make it again. Made my white sauce with 3 tbsp flour, 1 c water, 1/3 c skim milk powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and S & P to taste. Thank you to Eileen, the recipe poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Good dressing IF you greatly reduce the sugar quantity. It's seriously sweet otherwise. I wholeheartedly recommend you start with only 1/4 of the quantity called for and increase the amount of sugar gradually. I don't think you will go any further than half the amount called for. It's pretty, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Like another reviewer my batter came out extremely heavy but unlike that person I certainly didn't throw it out. I added a some milk to lighten it a bit - they ended up taking about 40 minutes to bake. I had no crystallized ginger so I put in about 2 tbsp powdered ginger. Next time I'll do what another person did and put the grated fresh ginger into the batter. The flavor is good but not outstanding. I'll try one tomorrow and see if more of the flavor develops overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lasagna Roll Ups

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Pretty darned good. I felt the jarred pasta sauce needed boosting with some extra herbs - added oregano, basil, thyme and Rosemary. I didn't use the tofu - replaced it with ground beef which I browned with garlic and onions and added it into the cheese, spinach mixture. I was making the recipe up for 100 servings and the quantities are surely out of whack when working that kind of number. Too much pasta left over - 3 boxes and I still made up 132 rolls - slippery little devils trying to roll those things up but all in all it went quite well. Another reviewer suggested more sauce and I quite agree. I certainly ran short - My recommendation is to double the jars of pasta sauce, putting a good layer in the pan before the rolls go in. I had quite a few pieces of lasagna pasta scraps that I couldn't use for the rolls - broke while cooking or fishing it out of the water - so I made a regular casserole using the broken bits: layer of sauce, layer of pasta pieces, layer of the filling, another layer of pasta, covered with pasta sauce, cheese, baked it - delicious. One beef I have is with the pictures that accompany the recipe - the pic here looks like the sauce was mixed in with the filling, which is NOT what the directions say to do. Leads to expectations differing from results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Balls

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I didn't have the ground pork or beef but went ahead anyway with just the ham - reduced the other ingredients accordingly. Had to sub corn flakes crumbs as I had no graham crumbs. I didn't have the soup either but picked up on a reviewer's comment about ketchup - used that as my base. Made 12 good-sized ham balls. Covered with foil for the first 25 minutes. The sauce becomes very thick while baking - I thinned it down with the veggie water before serving. Served with white rice and a vegetable - this was one very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salted Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious. I didn't like the look of such a dark sauce as in the photo, I made mine the traditional camel-caramel color. Followed the recipe and the video instructions. I ended up with a few hard bits, like caramel candy, in the sauce so I put the pot back on the stove at a very low temp for a few minutes and it soon melted back in fine. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Tarte Tatin

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent. After watching the video I did some research on the tarte, learned it was originally made with puff pastry, which I happened to have on hand, so that's what I used. I made it with Honey Crisp apples and, as per other reviewers, I added cinnamon and also a dash of ground cloves. The tarte came out of the pan perfectly, although I have to say there was more moisture in my tarte than in Chef John's, which probably helped. Delicious, oh so easy. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving. It's really nice to have such a great looking dessert that one can put together so quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Curried Roasted Chicken and Vegetables

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was excellent. Very tasty. Used chicken breast pieces, didn't bother pre-cooking any of the veggies and everything was ready after an hour at 375f.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Not my cup of tea but then I love baked sweet potatoes with just butter and a bit of salt. I can make that my meal at any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States