Milton, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Famous No Coffee Pumpkin Latte

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This was excellent, easy to do, and makes plenty. Served it to 14 people, some of whom added some coffee. I think the addition is excellent - maybe about 25% at most. I doubled the recipe and had plenty left over for seconds. Liked it enough to serve to guests again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed this ice cream. I forgot the vanilla but will make sure it's added in next time. Very, very good. Next time I may substitute some milk for half the heavy cream and see what happens. Makes a really nice strawberry milkshake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Chicken Scampi II

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I thought the picture of the dish looked palely unappealing so I sauteed/browned the chicken in the butter/olive oil right at the start. When it was cooked, I removed the chicken, then added the garlic and herbs to the pan, added 1/2 c. white wine along with the tablespoon of lemon juice, did a reduction to get all the good bits up off the pan. I cooked some bowtie pasta (I had no linguine) and combined everything for a nice meal. I used less salt and probably half the butter called for. I'll likely make this again but I will cut the chicken in bite size pieces and salt it directly before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Dee Dee's Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
That picture that accompanies the recipe doesn't do this dish any justice. I use the AR search facility for a cake recipe using apple pie filling but no cake mix - came up with Aunt Dee Dee's recipe. Just excellent. Dusted with icing sugar - perfect with coffee. We didn't find it boring, we didn't think it needed vanilla and I didn't break up the apples - just carefully spooned the filling over the batter layer. Really good, enjoyed by 25 people - I had two cans of filling so I doubled the recipe. I'll be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Wow Wow Wow was this ever good! As another person has already said, definitely double the topping. Next time I'll also increase the milk/flour mixture to make it creamier. The cheese was a lot but I wouldn't reduce it at all. I didn't have quite the required amount of Asiago Cheese (about half) and no Vermont cheese. I made up for both with a mixture of other hard cheeses I had on hand. This is THE best Macaroni and cheese I've ever had. Thoroughly enjoyed by all who ate it for dinner this evening. Served it with a simple tomato salad- sliced tomatoes, crumbled Feta cheese and Italian salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
We absolutely loved this dish. I had used this recipe once before and the only change I made this time was to increase the wine by half and add a couple tablespoons lemon juice. After adding the wine/juice to the pan, I removed the shrimp so that I could deglaze the pan and reduce the wine a bit, adding an extra intensity to the sauce. Wow, was this good! I made this for my husband's birthday and he's still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Kohlrabi Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This was an excellent soup. We had never tried kohlrabi and were nervous to try it at first. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable like a few reviewers suggested and added a tsp garlic and used seasoned salt. This recipe is fabulous. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by COOKINKIWI

Flat Iron Steak Grilled to a 'Tea'

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
When I saw this recipe I had to try it. It's one of those things that make me ask "what made this person come up with this recipe?" Anyway, the steak is very tasty and very juicy. However, the meat was not tender. We bought two steaks so the next one I'll tenderize with a mashed kiwi fruit for 20 minutes, followed by the mustard/tea coating. As per the recipe, which I followed to a "tea", I lightly oiled the grill but the coating still stuck to the grill. If I can get this work, I'll buy a bunch more of these steaks and stock them in the freezer for the summer. Apparently, this cut is to become the next IN meat cut, which means the price will rise. I served the steak with fresh green beans and Greek Oven Baked Fries both of which I also cooked on the grill. Regardless, thanks to Donna, the poster, for the recipe. Update: tenderizing with kiwi, which works for other cuts, didn't work enough with this. It was still very chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
A nice light dish but as another reviewer suggested I cut down the pasta amount and slightly otherwise I would have had too much pasta overwhelming the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Whiskey Marinade

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Really nice marinade. I've tried it with different type of whiskey and every time it came out divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Old-Fashioned Lemonade

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Simple to make, truly old-fashioned as the recipe is called, and absolutely perfect. Nice on a hot summer day. Made exactly as directions state. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Yummy Pork Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Great flavor. Followed the recipe pretty closely except that I had no canned soup in the cupboard so I used two cups of roast pork gravy instead. I also used corn flakes and melted butter for the crumb topping. Next time I'll double up on the veggies. Good recipe to have on hand for the last of the roast. I eliminated any extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Three Bean Salad with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I followed the recipe pretty close:I had no white beans, so I used chickpeas, and I having no canned Rotel-type tomatoes, I used fresh. The fresh tomato was really quite nice but still, overall, the salad seemed lacking in flavour, even after it sat for 3 hrs. So I added a Tbsp of granulated sugar, 2 TBSP of white vinegar, increased the feta to 1c (we really like it), and added an extra Tbsp Greek seasoning - that brought the salad to life. I'll make it again with these amendments. The recipe makes a lot. I'd say the servings should say at least 12, not 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Baked Greek Fries

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Very good. Followed the recipe to a T. Would really like the potato to be a little crispier. I'll add a little more seasoning to them next time. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Greek Mango Salad

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
We totally enjoyed this salad, though next time I'll use white balsamic vinegar for a better looking presentation. I might also include feta cheese as we really do like it. Mmm, mmmm good. Would be even better when local fresh grown produce is available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Eggplant

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This was a wonderful dish made just as recipe instructed. This is now my go-to dish for Asian eggplant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Baked Orange-Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly but the end result was too bland and too liquid-y. The 4 stars are because it had a lot of promise - the meat was very juicy - I used breast meat as well as thighs. The next time I added 1/4 c. Thai Chili Sauce, 1/4 c. brown sugar, a little vinegar and more orange juice mixed with cornstarch to thicken it up. The thickened sauce stuck to the chicken really well - the meat acquired a beautiful color from baking. Served with steamed rice and cut up sauteed fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
DEE licious. Except for reducing the sugar as others did, partly because my pie shell was a bit smaller than average and I had slightly less than the required rhubarb. But wow is this pie great!!! The only thing I will likely do next time is to prebake the crust a bit before adding the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Nice marinade for shrimp. Made exactly as recipe instructed and came out a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Thanksgiving Beets

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
My husband is a beet lover so I made this recipe. I had never made beets before. I followed eh recipe exactly and this dish was a hit. Will definitely be making this dish again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States