Milton, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by COOKINKIWI

Bacon-Cheese Appetizer Toasts

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
These were pretty tasty. I don't keep Velveeta in the house, so I doubled up on the cheddar - even at that I will try a good sharp cheddar next time. Thanks for the recipe, Mattsbelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Granola Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I was excited about trying these cups & followed the recipe exactly but the resulting product was not what I anticipated. The cups are not crispy at all. You need to have some water on hand when shaping them as the batter really sticks to your fingers. I think the ingredients need to include butter or margarine or oil or something that would allow them to crisp. Eliminating all fats isn't necessarily always a good thing. I'm really sorry I can't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Milkshake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
delicious. nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Lentil Curry

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was delicious and very easy to make! I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by COOKINKIWI

Almond-Poppy Seed Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made these muffins up today...I got 18 out of the recipe. At the last second I realized I had no almond extract but by then it was too late, so I added in 1/4 c. poppy seeds and doubled the almonds, which I ground up very fine. The muffins didn't rise very well but, as another reviewer said, it has nice crumb, the texture is very nice. It does need more flavour so as soon as I get some almond extract, I'll make them up again to give the recipe a fair chance. The other reviewer said the almond taste is too strong but given they are called Almond Poppy Seed Muffins, one should expect a definite almond flavour. I will update after using the almond extract and adding at least 2 tsp baking powder. They also took double the time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was an excellent dish. I followed the recipe exactly although I halved the quantities for just the two of us. I ended up adding a whole avocado as it was a very small one. Regarding the salt quantity - the recipe now shows 1 tsp of salt but next time I would even reduce that amount a bit. When I drained the pasta, I kept a small bit of the liquid in the pot to keep the pasta moist, while I finished off the shrimp- that moisture combined with the sauce made this one mighty fine dish. I'll be making it again. Absolutely delicious. Kudos and thanks to "Slipmaloney".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Lemon Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
The picture DOES NOT match the cake. The icing is delicious, the cake has a really nice lemony flavour. It's a rather coarse cake. One warning: do NOT open the oven door to check on the cake until you're pretty sure it should be done. Two of the cakes fell - quite a bit. If I make it again,I'd eliminate that sugar/lemon juice syrup in between layers - it doesn't allow for a bond between the two layers - I made rectangular cakes - when we cut the cake, the sides fell away. Or I'd just make a single layer cake and poke holes and add the syrup on top and then ice. Or if I make it again, I'd thicken the filling with cornstarch for a more substantial filling. I just wouldn't make it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pull-Apart Easter Blossom Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
What a nice presentation this makes! Made this for my baking class this week - they all loved it. I put everything into my KitchenAid stand mixer - all the dry ingredients first, then the wet. The assembly instructions are excellent but the photographs, especially of the cut dough, especially help. The one thing I'll do next time is not tuck the outer "flowers" too close into the center flower. Orange zest can be substituted for the lemon for an alternative pleasing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Héroux

White Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Amazing pizza!! Our grocery store was out of Italian blended cheese cause it was on sale, so I had to improvise and use regular. Also added a little Italian seasoning to it as well and it turned out awesome! :D Great pizza:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Héroux
Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Pie Crust

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I followed this recipe to a T - it's very good - good for a savoury (bacon and egg) pie, as well as a sweet one (Treacle Tart). I doubled the recipe and froze the shells. Used two this morning and they're great. My husband even commented on how good the pastry was. I'll be using this recipe again. Thanks Jean Haseloh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Treacle Tart

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Just like we used to have in New Zealand when I was growing up. It brought back memories. I used Best Ever Pastry from AR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is an excellent chill recipe. I wasn't sure because it was so easy and I thought it wouldn't be that great but it was a hit. How can something with so few ingredients taste so good? This does and its my go-to recipe for chill every time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is my number one BBQ recipe for fish in the summer. Everyone raves about it and it is foolproof If I can do it, anyone can make it and look like an amazing chef. Highly recommended for guest cooking. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
As another reviewer wrote, don't bother making this recipe without the Golden Mushroom soup that it calls for. It is truly the secret ingredient that makes this stroganoff different from others. This is a wonderful recipe that turns out every single time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Bananas Foster I

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Have made several versions of bananas foster but this is by far the best recipe I've ever had. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Made this just as recipe states with no variations. Have made this several times and love it every single time. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Chef John's Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Excellent recipe. Made just as stated with no variations. A little bit of work but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Mushroom Sauce Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Have made this several times but no matter what I do something just seems to be missing in the flavour when made as recipe states. My sister made it and added a beef billion cube and it added some zest. Also, no matter how thin the potato slices are, they just do not cook completely all the way through. Frustrating recipe for me anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Nutmeg Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this cake this morning following instructions exactly, except I won't using the icing recipe - made butter cream frosting instead. The only problem was getting the cakes out of the pans - it was a bit of a mess. Next time I'll have to use parchment paper as well as the greasing and flouring. As others have mentioned, the nutmeg flavor is subtle so next time I may increase the amount by 50%. As did others, I used fresh grated nutmeg. Delicious cake, nice crumb, rose beautifully. I'm taking it to a meeting this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toasted Oats Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. Cookies are pretty good but they sure didn't spread while baking. I don't know why the instructions say to place them 3" apart. And it was hard to get them to hold together long enough to even form a cookie - very crumbly dough. For the second pan into the oven I pressed all the cookies with a floured glass so at least those presented better. IF I make these again, I'll add some kind of liquid or another egg or something so they will hold together and spread a bit. Mine look nothing like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States