Milton, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Like another reviewer my batter came out extremely heavy but unlike that person I certainly didn't throw it out. I added a some milk to lighten it a bit - they ended up taking about 40 minutes to bake. I had no crystallized ginger so I put in about 2 tbsp powdered ginger. Next time I'll do what another person did and put the grated fresh ginger into the batter. The flavor is good but not outstanding. I'll try one tomorrow and see if more of the flavor develops overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lasagna Roll Ups

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Pretty darned good. I felt the jarred pasta sauce needed boosting with some extra herbs - added oregano, basil, thyme and Rosemary. I didn't use the tofu - replaced it with ground beef which I browned with garlic and onions and added it into the cheese, spinach mixture. I was making the recipe up for 100 servings and the quantities are surely out of whack when working that kind of number. Too much pasta left over - 3 boxes and I still made up 132 rolls - slippery little devils trying to roll those things up but all in all it went quite well. Another reviewer suggested more sauce and I quite agree. I certainly ran short - My recommendation is to double the jars of pasta sauce, putting a good layer in the pan before the rolls go in. I had quite a few pieces of lasagna pasta scraps that I couldn't use for the rolls - broke while cooking or fishing it out of the water - so I made a regular casserole using the broken bits: layer of sauce, layer of pasta pieces, layer of the filling, another layer of pasta, covered with pasta sauce, cheese, baked it - delicious. One beef I have is with the pictures that accompany the recipe - the pic here looks like the sauce was mixed in with the filling, which is NOT what the directions say to do. Leads to expectations differing from results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Balls

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I didn't have the ground pork or beef but went ahead anyway with just the ham - reduced the other ingredients accordingly. Had to sub corn flakes crumbs as I had no graham crumbs. I didn't have the soup either but picked up on a reviewer's comment about ketchup - used that as my base. Made 12 good-sized ham balls. Covered with foil for the first 25 minutes. The sauce becomes very thick while baking - I thinned it down with the veggie water before serving. Served with white rice and a vegetable - this was one very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salted Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious. I didn't like the look of such a dark sauce as in the photo, I made mine the traditional camel-caramel color. Followed the recipe and the video instructions. I ended up with a few hard bits, like caramel candy, in the sauce so I put the pot back on the stove at a very low temp for a few minutes and it soon melted back in fine. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Tarte Tatin

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent. After watching the video I did some research on the tarte, learned it was originally made with puff pastry, which I happened to have on hand, so that's what I used. I made it with Honey Crisp apples and, as per other reviewers, I added cinnamon and also a dash of ground cloves. The tarte came out of the pan perfectly, although I have to say there was more moisture in my tarte than in Chef John's, which probably helped. Delicious, oh so easy. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving. It's really nice to have such a great looking dessert that one can put together so quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Curried Roasted Chicken and Vegetables

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was excellent. Very tasty. Used chicken breast pieces, didn't bother pre-cooking any of the veggies and everything was ready after an hour at 375f.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Not my cup of tea but then I love baked sweet potatoes with just butter and a bit of salt. I can make that my meal at any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Fish Steaks

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I will definitely halve the salt next time. I'm going to be drinking water all night! I was in a hurry to put the ingredients together or I would have noticed it was a lot of salt for two servings. Another thing I won't do next time is to put the fish on the open grill - suggestions to use foil are good but I think I'll use a frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amatriciana

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
While this was a good dish, I felt it needed more punch. Next time, I'll add a lot more bacon or do as another reviewer suggested, use pancetta instead. I'll also add more basil and more red pepper flakes. The dish didn't need any salt. I served the dish with Naan, which went well with it, and breaded chicken strips, which I had prepared ahead of time. One good thing about this dish is that leftovers reheat really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Last Minute Chicken Dinner

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent dish. However, next time I make it I won't used prepared soup. I'd rather have less salt content. I'll make a roux with my own chicken stock instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Meat Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My family loved this recipe. Thank you so much! the only thing I didn't use was the oil. Was amazing hot out of the oven and cold leftovers. Yummy. A keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sumner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pudding from Scratch

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is an excellent pudding. It's way better than any packaged mix, most of which will start to separate after a day or two. This (at least what was left) was still in fine shape three days later. I made this for dirt pudding for our senior center lunch on Wednesday - yeah with the gummy worms and flowers "growing" out of the "dirt". Great consistency - an excellent pudding to which you can add fruit or eat by itself. I made it with 2% milk and was generous with the vanilla extract. I also replaced 2/3 of the sugar requirement with store brand of Splenda to accommodate the diabetics. Everyone enjoyed the custard. Oh, I also took the suggestion of one of the other reviewers to add a bit of food coloring - great idea - white custard just doesn't have the same appeal as one with a bit of color. Thanks to the recipe poster - this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Coffee Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This coffee cake is delicious. I found the batter to be too thick to spread in the pan. I added perhaps 1/4c milk and it was much better. It did rise very nicely, is very tasty, nice texture. I cut back quite a bit on the sugar as per other reviewers - and it; still plenty sweet enough. In place of walnuts and in the absence of pecans, which I prefer, I used chopped, toasted almonds because that's all I had. Won't bother using them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These are wonderful muffins - the best rhubarb muffins I've ever made or tasted. I increased the rhubarb to 2c but will make it 3c next time to get more flavor of the rhubarb; I'll also add cinnamon in the batter, as well as the topping. The only reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5: it's a stretch to say you get 24 muffins out of this recipe - I did get 24 but there some very small muffins in the batch. I'd say 20 might be more realistic. I'll juggle the ingredients a bit to get 24 good-sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The pie, overall, was okay but I didn't enjoy the topping, though my husband did. I found the topping way too greasy. If I were to make it again, rather than lessen the quantity of butter, I'd use more of the other ingredients because I would have preferred more topping. Also,if there is a next time, I'd add cinnamon to the rhubarb mixture as well as the topping. Rhubarb and cinnamon - just made to go together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Decadent Truffles

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Thank-you so much for sharing this delicious, simple and quick truffle recipe. I promised my 7yr old we would make truffles today and I was dreading it all morning, I was delighted to find an all recipes video based on this recipe. We decided to take the advice from numerous others and re-dipped the truffles in the extra melted chocolate which was left over after we measured three cups. I do have some advice, my truffles were very large and way too rich for what I enjoy but, my daughter made small ones formed with her tiny hands and they were the perfect portion size for the extreme sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Crustless Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Made this exactly as per the recipe - except that I forgot the nuts. The almond extract was not overpowering, it was perfect. I made this to serve 45 people, everyone of whom totally enjoyed every bite. I'll be making it again for 150 people at our Seniors' Centre Christmas dinner. I'll probably used toasted almonds or pecans instead of walnuts. And I'll put a dollop of whipped cream on the plate. This dessert is a winner - thank you to Jean, the poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joe Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
OMG this was awesome!!I loved it!The only thing I did was used all my assorted peppers as I had to use them up. I would be making this again for sure.Maybe try different pasta to make it different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was really good! Even my 17yr old liked it and he is such a critic on my cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good and Easy Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I had a different kind of chili sauce and turned out very spicy so I have to try this over again with a different chili sauce.But other than that it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States