London - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
tip: shake the chicken pieces in a Ziploc bag with the Cajun spice and salt. The butter is a must. I always begin with a base recipe and change things based on what I have in the kitchen. Mostly, I was intrigued by the cream sauce with Cajun...so I just cooked the chicken with the Cajun spice and salt for about 10 min. then added in one diced yellow onion (no green onions on-hand), 2 garlic cloves, a bunch of kale, half a red pepper, and then used just half cup of skim milk and mixed in 1 Tbsp of corn starch to thicken it up. I also didn't have pasta so I served it over jasmine rice. The entire family gobbled it right up. I know, it's not what the recipe called for...but I can tell from the spice mixture that it would be delicious on its own. However, I think 1 1/2 cups of cream is a lot of liquid. I would suggest trying just 1 cup and then adding in the amount you think is needed. If serving over rice, it'll just get absorbed perfectly. If serving over pasta, I think it'll be a tad too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Bland for us. Sprinkling with lemon juice helped, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and made 2 dozen muffins. I didn't have enough blueberries, so used them in about 10 muffins. With or without blueberries, they were gobbled up! I will make again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
It fed us, but it wasn't my cup of tea. I skipped the green pepper and used chicken broth (plus a little extra) instead of water. I prefer Leanne Ely's White Chicken Chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lucky's Quickie Chickie

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
It's hard to believe that something this quick, easy and with so few ingredients could be this delicious! I made exactly according to the recipe - just doubled the sauce as others have suggested. Fresh basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Biscuits with OLD BAY® Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were unbelievably good! I honestly wasn't expecting much - just wanted a quick biscuit to go with salmon chowder BUT they stole the show! The only thing I changed was that I didn't add salt to the topping mixture as I had used salted butter - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So simple and so delicious! I added fresh ginger as another person suggested. Marinated two 6 oz. fillets for 30 minutes per side - baked for 15 minutes - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Fried Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Recipe Group 01/24/ 2015: This was a lovely, healthy, all-in-one side dish I served with baked salmon. The leftovers should make a nice light lunch, as well. I followed the recipe as written except for the following changes which I don't believe significantly changed it: I used brown rice and added 1/4 tsp. of Greek herb mix since the feta I used was plain. I will definitely make this again and will include sauteed onion or shallots and some oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes for extra flavour. Thanks Terry for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Porridge and Molasses Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I can't tell you how many times I have tried to make bread and failed miserably. I thought I would give it another shot since this recipe had oatmeal AND molasses - two of my favourite foods. It turned out perfectly and the taste was beyond delicious. The instructions were so clear, the bread rose beautifully and the dough was easy to work with. The only change I made was to make half the recipe and I ended up with two good sized loaves. If you're a bread-making newbie - this is the bread to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I give it a four because as written I think the sweetness is overpowering. Otherwise, the recipe is wonderful. However, I never stick to a recipe exactly as it is written, so here were my changes: I used 1 tsp of honey and 1 tsp of organic coconut palm sugar (lower glycemic) in place of all of the sugar/honey listed. I also eliminated the lemon juice (I didn't have any on-hand) and added 1/2 tsp of prepared mustard so that the dressing would emulsify. You can really play around with the ingredients a lot. I used plain almonds instead of pecans (didn't have those on-hand either) and I also added a cored, seeded and cut up yellow delicious apple. The avocado is a MUST. You can really use any salad greens you have. I prefer Romaine lettuce, but really anything goes here. If you are sticking with arugula, you might wish to keep the sweetness factor a little higher than I've posted. Got rave reviews from the family! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
A great, hearty soup for a winter's night. I made this pretty much as written - my changes being using a liter/quart container of organic chicken broth and 2 teaspoons of the Creole Seasoning Blend from this site (I try to avoid processed foods and additives as much as possible). I also used an additive free turkey kolbassa for the smoked sausage. The seasoning was pretty near perfect - a nice little kick from the creole seasoning and salsa and a touch of sweetness from the ketchup. I would recommend caution and don't add salt until the end (tasting first) - it was just about right without any additional salt as many of the ingredients already had salt in them. I also found that I needed another 2 cups of broth - and it was still really thick (but we like that). A definite "make again" and will try some of the variations suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I haven't made lasagna in years - I was always disappointed in the results for all of the work involved. This recipe has converted me! Honestly, this is the best lasagna I have EVER eaten! I made it exactly as written (very rare for me) - only difference was that I simmered the sauce for about 3 hours and used 9 lasagna noodles rather than 12 because that fit my pan better. Several people recommended soaking the noodles in hot water for 30 minutes rather than boiling according to package directions - I wasn't sure that they would be soft enough and I didn't want to take a chance. Instead, I boiled them for half the recommended time, drained and cooled them. This worked perfectly - the noodles were tender but not mushy. Best of all, I had enough leftover sauce to freeze for another pasta meal. The sauce is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Guinness® Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Recipe Group 1/17/2015: I have to admit when I tasted the liquid before it went into the oven - I began to think about Plan B for dinner! It was very bitter and all I could taste was the Guinness. HOWEVER, after 3 hours the flavour mellowed and it came together really well. I added the potatoes at the beginning and the carrots an hour later. The carrots were perfect but the potatoes a little overdone. Next time I would add the potatoes later, as well. The herbs and seasoning were delicious and the gravy was just the right consistency. In the last hour, I did add a teaspoon of sugar and a tablespoon of tomato paste to round out the flavours. I also found that I needed additional beef broth (but that could just be my pot and/or oven). Nice one-pot meal for a winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Plum Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have tries this recipe and found it to be wonderful just the way it is. I did find it better to keep it slightly warm. I suggest warming it a bit before serving. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLOLINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

Low Carb Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Oh my - we loved this! I rarely make a recipe without tweaking - but made this as written (except for using Italian sausage since that was all I had). My husband, the ultimate carnivore, inhaled it. I loved the high protein and low carbs (no rice for me, alas) and the flavor was outstanding for such a healthy dish. This will definitely be a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was an easy, delicious and healthy dinner. As some others did, I used low sodium soy sauce and that seemed about right for saltiness. I wanted to stay true to the original recipe but I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup (watching sugar carbs) and also added 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to give it a little zing. Rather than steam the broccoli, I just added it right after adding the cornstarch slurry and it was perfect after 30 minutes! I'll definitely make this again - next time I may add sliced onion near the beginning of the cooking and red pepper strips with the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Used brown sugar and chocolate chips, as someone else recommended. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I have made this stew as written and it is excellent, although I have had a problem with the potatoes being cooked in the crockpot. They sometimes come out raw!! Everything else is hot and savoury but the potatoes are absolutely hard. Any thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Chapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make 3X this recipe for a family of 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FinnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I used others' suggestions, and sautéed onions, garlic, celery and carrots in butter. Used all chicken broth, because I didn't have vegetable broth on hand. Added a couple shakes if thyme as well. Diced frozen chicken breasts and boiled with everything else to cook. Cooked noodles separately and added to the soup just before serving. So tasty! Too bad my sickies went to bed early and missed out. I enjoyed all four bowls I got! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States