London - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by crafty laura

Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe! Next time I think I will add green onions for some extra flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crafty laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Carrot and Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I love this fresh and satisfying salad and have had it as a side salad and as as a main dish for lunch (keeps well for at least 2 days)! Simple, inexpensive, quick to put together and it uses ingredients that I always have on hand. The cumin gives it a nice Moroccan twist and because I love cumin, I did add an extra half teaspoon and I might try a pinch of cinnamon next time. I also used green onion instead of the white and will try it with a red onion next time. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wow! What a fun surprise to share. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Do NOT use ground italian sausage. It was NOT good. The rest of the soup was tasty, so may try it again if I can find the turkey Italian sausage with casings mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oma's Rhubarb Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was craving rhubarb, and this recipe came with great reviews, so I gave it a shot. Simple to prepare, and very moist, but too sweet for my taste. One of the reviewers made it with half the sugar, so I may try that the next time. After writing the paragraph above, I asked my husband what he thought of it. He loved it, and my 5yo son said he would give it 10 stars, if he could. I'm raising it to a four star, and eating it with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Kale, Avocado, Mango, and Chickpea Salad with Citrus Poppy Seed Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was a lovely combination of tastes and textures. The dressing was perfect - hint of sweetness but not overly sweet. Loved the combination of mangoes and avocados and the chick peas added a bit of substance or "meatiness" to the salad. I made it as per the recipe and it was delicious! If I were to tweak, I would add some dried cranberries for an additional color contrast - but definitely didn't need it for the flavor. I suspect you could also sub spinach for the kale and it would still be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was wonderful on a hot and humid day. It made 4 generous main dish servings - would easily serve 6-8 as part of a larger meal. Loved the zing of the lemon juice and zest - my only tweak was to add garlic and a teaspoon of olive oil - because I love garlic! Luckily, I have a lot of basil in the garden - because I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Lemonade Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My boyfriend was kind enough to lend his muscles to squeeze the lemons by hand for lack of a better and method and we managed to get 1 cup of juice from 6 lemons. We rolled them on the counter before juicing them but I would recommend looking into other methods of extracting the juice more efficiently. It was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Instead of using garlic powder I used real garlic (2 cloves) and grated it up. I also substituted some shredded mozzarella cheese for some of the parmesan since I had the Kraft stuff and didn't want to use it all up. I did't measure it but went by consistency of the sauce. I thought it was delicious and my family enjoyed it too. Much much tastier than the sauce from jars. After I finished making the sauce I added a few big hand fulls of spinach, grilled chicken, and roasted red pepper (brushed with oil and put on the BBQ). Would have added mushrooms but didn't have any around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was good but I think I may have over mixed it because the way that it peaked after baking so maybe it will work out better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this for my mom's birthday and she loved it and wants me to give her the recipe. I used the modifications suggested in the top rated comments. I also squeezed the juice out of the carrots once they were shredded to avoid excess moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Punch Slush

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Easy to make and yummy... but I found it was a little too lemony. Next time I'll try cutting the lemon juice in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sruddach
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mango Salsa

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I didn't have fresh cilantro when I made this so I substituted 2 tbsp. of dried crushed cilantro. Also I don't know if there's a big difference between cider vinegar and apple cider vinegar but I only had apple cider vinegar and the salsa was awesome! Next time I'll dice the tomatoes and mango a little smaller, but other than that I don't think I'll change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittywog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Lasagna III

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
DELICIOUS! My very first time making a lasagna and it was easy to make. Even my hubby (whom always wants meat) liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

Farmhouse Chicken

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Good, but WAY too salty. I even skipped the salt. There's probably such a thing as low-salt canned soup. I'd try that next time. I'm sure my broth was low-salt. I'd cut the salt wherever I could. Other than that, it was tasty. And, I got rid of the stuffing in my pantry! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Chicken Salad I

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Yum!! I used the white meat off a rotisserie chicken, just a little diced yellow onion instead of the red rings, and skipped the cilantro because I didn't have any. Excellent! Thank you for sharing. I made it again, and used diced chicken breast cooked with olive oil and a spice mixture from a friend (salt/pepper/garlic powder). I also switched out the parmesan with grated cheddar this time, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was great!! I skipped the oil, and added the garlic when I added the onions. I also replaced the water with chicken broth--one can plus water to make a full 2 cups. I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so used a can of diced tomatoes with chili seasoning. Fabulous served with sour cream and grated cheese. Yum! Thank you for the quick, easy, inexpensive and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious. Used parmesan instead of romano and added mozza; put all the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
In addition to my traditional Easter ham I decided to take a risk and try this pork tenderloin recipe for the first time for Easter for 20 people. Result: RAVE reviews all around! I followed recipe as written, marinated overnight and reserved the marinade as suggested to make a sauce to drizzle over tenderloin platter. I used 6 pork tenderloins and converted the recipe to feed 20 people (love this allrecipes feature). I added about a tbsp. of cornstarch and a wee bit of water. I grilled the tenderloins on oiled BBQ on medium heat for 20 mins, turning once. Please don't cook any longer or tenderloins will be dry. A little pink in the middle is fine as will continue to cook as you let rest. Let rest for 10 mins under tented (not tightly covered) foil. I sliced tenderloins into medallions and fanned out in rows on a large red platter, drizzled sauce over top and finished off with fresh parsley. The presentation was beautiful - wish I'd taken a picture. Not a slice was left. Wish I'd made more as people wanted seconds. I served with potatoes Au Gratin. Thank you Wkeller for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This asparagus was a hit at Easter dinner! My 13 month old didn't each much else. :) I covered my cookie sheets with aluminum foil before lining up the asparagus. Just before putting them into the 350 degree preheated oven, I sprayed them liberally with cooking spray, and sprinkled with salt, pepper, and a little bit of garlic powder. They were in the oven for 10 minutes, and then I sprinkled them with parmesan and a little lemon juice. Tasty! Thank you for the recipe and the cook's note about removing the woody ends--what a huge difference! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States