London - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Mustard Pickles

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This was really good! I say was because every bottle was gone in less than a month. All four of them! The person with the one negative review must have screwed up somewhere or was expecting something akin to Candy perhaps???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elwood T. Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Not to my taste at all. The fatty oily fish and fatty oily mayo combine to make this way too heavy to pair with salad imo… Think I will try a dressing with much "lighter" ingredients in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatieA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I skipped the mushrooms and peppers, as I did not have them on hand. I also added a can of chick peas, used chili ready tomatoes, and frozen corn instead of canned. Good served with grated cheddar jack cheese and tortilla chips. I'd consider using less cumin and more chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit and Vegetable Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Since I had 6 rather large chops I doubled the recipe. I baked covered in the oven for 1 hr at 350f. A bit sweet for my taste and a bit too juicy. Next time I would cut down on the brown sugar and remove lid for last 1/2 hr of cooking. Company seemed to enjoy. Chops were very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Lime Quinoa

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The only change I made was to use 2 tbls of lime juice. This is a wonderful recipe! i will try it again with cooked chicken as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Salad I

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Top with some canned tuna - my favourite lunch/light dinner! I bought sheep's milk feta once and now I will never go back... even though it's a little bit more expensive, I think it makes it so much more flavourful and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatieA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oregon Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I poured out the salmon juice before I realized it was needed so I used 1/2 c milk. It was rather mushy and 1/4 c would have worked better. I added a garlic clove as well. Overall nothing special but a nice change. I had no parsley but added a bit of dill as well maybe 1/4 tsp and could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Loaf

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made a few changes, added 3/4 c coconut and the same in chopped dates. I omitted the walnuts as I was out. Used 1/2 and 1/2 brown and white sugar. Cooked in about 55 minutes in my park model oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was very easy to make and I added a pinch of chili flakes, pineapple chunks, red pepper chopped in cubes and roughly chopped onions. I also sprinkled the green of the green onions over top when it came out of the oven. Make sure to use tin foil to line your pan and spray well with oil. I cooked my boneless skinless chicken thighs at 400 for 40 min., basting twice, and let cool for 10 min. before serving. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastytaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
tip: shake the chicken pieces in a Ziploc bag with the Cajun spice and salt. The butter is a must. I always begin with a base recipe and change things based on what I have in the kitchen. Mostly, I was intrigued by the cream sauce with Cajun...so I just cooked the chicken with the Cajun spice and salt for about 10 min. then added in one diced yellow onion (no green onions on-hand), 2 garlic cloves, a bunch of kale, half a red pepper, and then used just half cup of skim milk and mixed in 1 Tbsp of corn starch to thicken it up. I also didn't have pasta so I served it over jasmine rice. The entire family gobbled it right up. I know, it's not what the recipe called for...but I can tell from the spice mixture that it would be delicious on its own. However, I think 1 1/2 cups of cream is a lot of liquid. I would suggest trying just 1 cup and then adding in the amount you think is needed. If serving over rice, it'll just get absorbed perfectly. If serving over pasta, I think it'll be a tad too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Bland for us. Sprinkling with lemon juice helped, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and made 2 dozen muffins. I didn't have enough blueberries, so used them in about 10 muffins. With or without blueberries, they were gobbled up! I will make again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
It fed us, but it wasn't my cup of tea. I skipped the green pepper and used chicken broth (plus a little extra) instead of water. I prefer Leanne Ely's White Chicken Chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lucky's Quickie Chickie

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
It's hard to believe that something this quick, easy and with so few ingredients could be this delicious! I made exactly according to the recipe - just doubled the sauce as others have suggested. Fresh basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Biscuits with OLD BAY® Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were unbelievably good! I honestly wasn't expecting much - just wanted a quick biscuit to go with salmon chowder BUT they stole the show! The only thing I changed was that I didn't add salt to the topping mixture as I had used salted butter - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So simple and so delicious! I added fresh ginger as another person suggested. Marinated two 6 oz. fillets for 30 minutes per side - baked for 15 minutes - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Fried Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Recipe Group 01/24/ 2015: This was a lovely, healthy, all-in-one side dish I served with baked salmon. The leftovers should make a nice light lunch, as well. I followed the recipe as written except for the following changes which I don't believe significantly changed it: I used brown rice and added 1/4 tsp. of Greek herb mix since the feta I used was plain. I will definitely make this again and will include sauteed onion or shallots and some oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes for extra flavour. Thanks Terry for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Porridge and Molasses Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I can't tell you how many times I have tried to make bread and failed miserably. I thought I would give it another shot since this recipe had oatmeal AND molasses - two of my favourite foods. It turned out perfectly and the taste was beyond delicious. The instructions were so clear, the bread rose beautifully and the dough was easy to work with. The only change I made was to make half the recipe and I ended up with two good sized loaves. If you're a bread-making newbie - this is the bread to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I give it a four because as written I think the sweetness is overpowering. Otherwise, the recipe is wonderful. However, I never stick to a recipe exactly as it is written, so here were my changes: I used 1 tsp of honey and 1 tsp of organic coconut palm sugar (lower glycemic) in place of all of the sugar/honey listed. I also eliminated the lemon juice (I didn't have any on-hand) and added 1/2 tsp of prepared mustard so that the dressing would emulsify. You can really play around with the ingredients a lot. I used plain almonds instead of pecans (didn't have those on-hand either) and I also added a cored, seeded and cut up yellow delicious apple. The avocado is a MUST. You can really use any salad greens you have. I prefer Romaine lettuce, but really anything goes here. If you are sticking with arugula, you might wish to keep the sweetness factor a little higher than I've posted. Got rave reviews from the family! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
A great, hearty soup for a winter's night. I made this pretty much as written - my changes being using a liter/quart container of organic chicken broth and 2 teaspoons of the Creole Seasoning Blend from this site (I try to avoid processed foods and additives as much as possible). I also used an additive free turkey kolbassa for the smoked sausage. The seasoning was pretty near perfect - a nice little kick from the creole seasoning and salsa and a touch of sweetness from the ketchup. I would recommend caution and don't add salt until the end (tasting first) - it was just about right without any additional salt as many of the ingredients already had salt in them. I also found that I needed another 2 cups of broth - and it was still really thick (but we like that). A definite "make again" and will try some of the variations suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States