Kitchener - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
If you like very very dry and flavourless cookies this is for sure the one for you. It needs something to spice it up bring it to life cinnamin , allspice.,Nutmeg,chocolate dipped, vanilla when mixing. Anything sweet and tasy! Jam portion is out I used my measuring scoop to make finger holes and used only 1/8 to 1/2 of jam to fill. Only made 24 cookies. Only reason I'm giving 3stars is because my husband said their good with the jam and cooked perfect and yes bland but like a shortbread cookie. He will be the one eating them all. I made this recipe without any changes. Next time I will try with a few changes of my own if that doesn't work it goes to do not use pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Cheese Thing

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Great easy dish. I used diced tomatoes with chili flavour and a combination of shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Fudge

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and this was the EASIEST and BEST fudge I've ever made! So simple, and not sickeningly-sweet like most fudge! Thanks for sharing! We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Southampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Jane Byle

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I did some of the recommendations mentioned: added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, 1cup of corn, and cooked the chicken mixture in 2cups of broth instead of water. When I added all the extra broth and milk in it took an extra 20 minutes in the oven to thicken up but it was worth the wait! Delish! Instead of pie crust I topped it with puff pastry in the last half an hour of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Jane Byle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastry Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made this twice now and both times it was PERFECT! Followed the recipe exactly. No clumps if you whisk the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious. I substituted coconut for the nuts, because I had it, not the ,on hands. I used plain flower not whole wheat flower. I also substituted a basic white icing instead of the icing provided. Easy to follow recipe. It would be nice if there was a sub heading for the icing. It tasted very light, carroty, and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Lemon-Buttermilk Pound Cake with Aunt Evelyn's Lemon Glaze

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I made this for a pot luck, and everyone loved it was so moist and light. I did make a couple of substitutions, but they didn't really make a big difference to the recipe, just a personal preference. I cut the sugar by half a cup, replaced 1 cup of butter with applesauce, and used lemon juice and lemon zest in place of the lemon extract. Then I added a cup of fresh blueberries. I used someone's suggestion of coating the bundt pan with sugar, then used a lemon glaze Days later the cake is still as moist as the day I baked it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Mexican Chip Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
While I did make a few changes, the basics were there. I couldn't find Mexican corn locally so I used two cups of thawed frozen corn and one small can of diced green chilies. I used sliced green onions instead of shredded onions. I also added a drop of hot sauce, a few shakes of dry Taco seasoning and a LOT of shredded cheese. This is an excellent, quick dip. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe. My family loved it. I am making it again for the second time this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The rice pudding looked dark, and it had the texture of oatmeal, not a custard, and it tasted too sweet. I was hoping for a milky custard dessert. Perhaps using soy milk changed the recipe to something less than it would have been with regular milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Loved the variety of ingredients in this recipe. And you can see the ingredients , not weighted down by the dressing. Only thing I would change is just a little less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShamrockAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Did not like this recipe at all. Very bland. Quick and easy yes, but no taste! I also found it very dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShamrockAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These were the best pancakes I have ever tasted! we made them and added homemade butter to the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies III

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very chocolaty cookies! They satisfy the chocolate craving and stay chewy! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate and Cranberry Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made these cookies on Saturday and they are a winner! I did use vanilla instead of brandy but that is the only change I made. Make nice soft cookies and everyone loved them. I think next time I may put a little lemon zest in them and see but they are great on their own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I don't normally rate a recipe high if I have made a lot of changes to it, but that is the reason I'm rating it so high. You can sub out ingredients to create a healthier muffin, or follow the recipe. I used whole wheat flour, egg substitute, reduced the sugar, and used apple sauce instead of oil. Also, you can change what you put into the muffins, I didn't have an apple so I increased the carrots, and I substituted dried cranberries for the coconut, and added some muslix too. I baked them Friday, and they were as fresh and moist today as they were then. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Sarah Hoover

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Making these right now. Not having a problem with them spreading too much, I fact I wish they would have been flatter. I did change things a bit though so that could have made the difference. I used half butter and half coconut oil. I used sucralose Brown Sugar blend and splenda in place of some of the sugar. The flavor is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Beer Dip I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and this was the only thing not devoured at the party. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is an awesome cheesecake! I made it for my mom's birthday, and everyone loved it. The trick to getting the cheesecake to not be too sweet is using good quality white chocolate. I don't recommend using white chocolate chips, they are far too sweet, spend the extra. I used frozen raspberries, and made a bit extra, which I spread on the top of the cheesecake after it had cooled. (we used the excess raspberry in the strainer and made raspberry daiquiris) I have a convection oven, which is the best for baking. I baked it for 55 minutes, in a water bath, then let it cool in the oven with the door open. It didn't crack or hill. My family said it was my best cheesecake yet. I will definitely make this again. Update, made this again, and got rave reviews, it is the creamiest cheesecake I have ever made, rich and not too sweet. I doubled the crust ingredients and omited the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Excellent cake, moist and very easy to put together. I made it twice - once exactly as written and the second time I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13. Both times it took closer to an hour to bake but well worth the wait. Will be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States