Kingston, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very nice recipe. I like to take bean salads for lunch during the week, and this one doesn't disappoint. Like others, I substituted chicken broth for vegetable broth. I also threw in leftover shredded carrot, chopped celery, half a red bell pepper, some fresh salsa and a chopped fresh jalapeño. Will make again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Molasses Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Excellent molasses flavour and the raisins are a lovely perk in this bread. I am not a very experienced bread baker so I found I had to keep a close eye on the baking time but that was just me… thanks Nadine…this is so tasty toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Very nice, moist banana bread with appealing texture. I took liberties with the recipe by adding extra banana and a dash of cinnamon and left out the nuts (due to allergy). Can't wait to have a piece toasted with butter….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
After a miss because someone who gave me the recipe neglected to mention the butter...sigh...I found this one! I melted the butter and drizzled it on top, and it turned out perfectly! As others have mentioned, it's more cobbler than cake consistency, but everyone raved, and the vanilla ice cream is a must! I'm looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Strawberry Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
My first thought was to double check the amount of oil…seemed like a lot…but I followed the recipe and although the batter sure was thick it did bake well. I altered pan size to make 2 9x5 loafs and reduced temp to 325 in convection oven. The loaves turned out well, although a bit crumbly where the strawberries were..next time I might try to mash the berries a bit..The cinnamon in this makes your kitchen smell lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Green Chile Frittata

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe almost exactly, the only difference is that I used fresh rather than canned green chilies. (And I halved it, because it's just my husband and I at home!) It turned out beautifully! I was skeptical about using cottage cheese in a frittata, but it worked out well. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Wing Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this today, and although I enjoyed it, I did feel as though it was lacking just a touch in flavour. When preparing the soup, I added about 30% more hot sauce than the recipe called for, and even then, I found it needed more post cooking. In addition to the carrots, celery and potatoes, I added onions. The recipe is right to say that the dish needs to be stired throughout the cooking time; I didn't stir mine throughout and came home to some veggies which were cooked just fine and some which were a bit undercooked. But that's not the recipe's fault! All in all a good dish, albeit not your healthiest option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stuffed Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Really good and very filling…. I cut the cream cheese amount in half but added a bit more shredded cheese. Great way to get spinach into your family dinner…next time I would add mushrooms just because I know the family likes them…. Thanks to Rebecca for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by ellie

Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I can't count the number of different banana bread recipes I have made over the years… this one is right up with the best we've had. I did use 3 medium bananas instead of measuring and I baked in a 9x5 loaf pan. My son had a warm piece fresh from the oven that he said tasted like yummy buttered banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Beef and Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This comes together so easily and begs for tweaks if you are so inclined. It is perfectly yummy on its own as is but I have made it a second time now adding in small peas and scallions. A childhood fav for my hubby, he was looking for the plate with the bread and butter cut in half like his mom use to make.. This is a tasty and comforting dish that you can have on the table with very few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Easy Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is one of my "go-to" salad recipes. It's super easy and tastes just great, I can't get enough! I usually end up omitting the avocado because I tend to put leftovers in the fridge for the following day and I don't like the texture of the avocado after it's been sitting exposed for a while, but I don't find that this particular omission takes away from the salad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Ingredient Carrot Slaw

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This recipe basically tasted like carrots with salad dressing. (Which is more or less what it is.) I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I cook and eat spaghetti squash on a regular basis, and I was excited to stumble across this method of cooking it. Even though it was ridiculously easy to prepare, unfortunately I found that the squash came out tasting a bit funny. I cooked it according to instructions, but left it on warm for several more hours; perhaps that was the issue. (Usually not a problem with most slow cooker recipes.) I don't think I'll be making spaghetti squash this way again, I will stick to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Willis Farm Applesauce

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Simple and tastes great… kids loved it. I increased the amount of cinnamon candies to almost 1/2 cup and cut the sugar in half to 1 tablespoon. I had fairly tart apples to use and they seemed to work well. Easily adaptable to your own tastes with chunkier or smoother texture… Served with pancakes to the kids and they thought it was fun and good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delicious Chowder!! I was happy with the easy to follow directions and only made a couple of minor adjustments… I did add celery and a 3rd can of clams with juice, otherwise stayed true to the recipe. Now that I know how simple and delicious this is, I will be making it again and again. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Sesame Vegetable Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I found this to be a little bland, I ended up adding oyster sauce to give the dish more flavour. A healthy dish from a vegetable content standpoint, but the sodium level is high. (I'm assuming that the nutritional information below is based on using low sodium soy sauce, and even then it says that this recipe constitutes 50% of one's daily recommended instake! And that's before I added the oyster sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I'll be honest . . . I cooked and ate this on an evening when I ended up having one too many glasses of wine. As such, my association with the dish isn't a positive one, lol. That said, my husband LOVED it, he said more than once that the combination of pecans and sweet potatoes is a great one. I peeled and boiled the sweet potatoes, and put everything together in the morning in preparation for cooking it later that day. The boiling option in my opinion was much easier than baking the potatoes in order to mash them. I'm sure I'll be asked to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Using Mamaspice's additions this was excellent. Everyone in the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I made these tonight, and they turned out so well that I helped myself to a second one despite that I was already full from "round one". I had a hard time mashing up the beans "manually", so I threw them into the food processor along with the onion, pepper and garlic once I had chopped them separately. The end consistency was quite smooth, and I became worried that I would be making some sort of black bean meatloaf instead because the mixture did not appear as though it would be amenable to being formed into patties. But once I added the bread crumbs (I added probably twice as much as the recipe calls for), the patties formed just fine. I grilled the burgers on our indoor grill, and served with the usual burger toppings. I am by no means vegetarian, but for health reasons am trying to eat less meat and incorporate more legumes into my diet. This recipe will definitely remain on my radar! Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portobello Mushroom Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
As with another reviewer, my own husband saw me making this dish and thought it was weird that it didn't have a "sauce". But despite that, we both found the dish to be quite flavourful. I chopped the veggies in the food processor, and added red onion and a tomato chopped by hand. I also added cracked black pepper. I am making an effort to eat vegetarian a few days per week for health reasons, and this receipe will definely remain on my radar. My only complaint is that one would have to add a ton of parmesan cheese for it to make an impact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States