Hamilton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Samantha Burmudzija

Fresh Fruit and Yogurt Ice Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I made it with fresh strawberries and banana, and with plain Greek Yogurt. I used silicone molds with tin foil over top and popsicle sticks. They came out great! Next time I will probably try honey instead of sugar though. Otherwise, I'll definitely make this again - it's a really healthy and refreshing snack in the summer. (For anyone interested, I plan to write up my experience with this and other popsicle recipes on my Tumblr, which you can find at whoknewicouldcook.tumblr.com.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Burmudzija
Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Just the right blend of soft and moist with a little bit of crispiness. Over time, I made some minor tweaks because of allergies and ingredients on hand. I use all butter instead of shortening and margarine (my husband has a soy allergy). I add an extra 1/2 cup oats, and also cut the salt back to 1/2 tsp, since my peanut butter and butter have salt in them. They turn out fabulous every time, even when I make them gluten free with rice flour. I love peanut butter cookies and these are my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coriander (cilantro) Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe should read "Coriander - dried flakes" which is the same as Cilantro. You can buy the flakes in spice jars or bulk typically. Happy BBQ'ing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Coriander Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe should read "Coriander - dried flakes" which is the same as Cilantro. Not sure how this translation happened but I have never used the seed so not sure how it would work and I am sure the amount would have to be adjusted. You can buy the flakes in spice jars or bulk typically. Happy BBQ'ing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Simple and Delicious Kale Soup

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious and wholesome, for lunch or a light supper. I added a cup more broth and used cannelloni beans as suggested by an other reviewer and added some hot sauce and grated Parmesan before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyawayrobin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp Caprese

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Loved it. But I also thought that heavy whipping creme was too much. I used half n half. That was my only change. 1. Shrimp only need to be marinated 20 min to an hour IF there is an acid in the marinade. You could potentially marinade this for hours with no harm. 2. Yes, the instructions could have been a bit better. Marinade, make sauce, boiling the water for the pasta and while that comes to a boil thread your shrimp for the grill. 3. The time it takes to grill the shrimp depends entirely on their size. Medium to large shrimp can easily go 2 to 3 min. per side! 4. The mozzarella is not added with the Parmesan, only at the end just before serving and won't clog up. I found it served up very well. 4 of us pigged out on this recipe which says it is for 6. We are big eaters so Yes, I would have added an extra 1/2 lb of shrimp for 6 people. Took me many embarrassing lessons to learn to read and visualize the steps in a recipe before actually starting to cook. LOL Way to go Gretchen, super yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delicious and fairly light, so a keeper for sure. Even though the instructions missed when to add the Parmesan, I added it along with the light sour cream after reducing the broth. I added mushrooms in the saute. Next time, I'll reduce the cayenne to 1/2 tsp as it was a wee bit overpowering and will definitely saute onion with the peppers. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyawayrobin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This recipe was deemed a keeper by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great soup. Nice and thick. Added a couple of cups of shredded cheddar to the milk and cream mixture. How can you go wrong with broccoli and cheese! Yum!just made it again. This time I added a couple of cups of diced cooked ham. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe is perfect. I make a crust by crushing up graham crackers then mixing it with some melted butter(just google graham cracker crust recipe). Then follow this recipe as directed and it turns out perfect(I have made this twice and about to make it again tonight) I do find the longer you let the pie chill the better it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Blackberry Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have been sitting on my tush with a broken leg dreaming up food cravings and a craving for blackberry pie has been tormenting me. Last night my hubby was a sweetheart and made me this! We only had about 3 cups of berries, so we made this in a 6" pie plate and used Pillsbury pastry. We used 1/3 cup of sugar to compensate for the amount of fruit and it was delish with some ice-cream! The idea of putting the apple on the bottom really worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good. For my taste, I would reduce the chocolate chips to 1 1/2 cups, as I feel the chocolate taste overwhelms all the others, and I would increase the coconut by 1/2 cup, as I was really having a hard time identifying that. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Chicken Tortilla Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Simple and delicious. The kids loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big daddy macs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Pork Fried Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
For the oil, use what you feel you need to keep the stir-fry moving. If you can do that on 2 tsps. total, great! I think the trick to using less oil is to get your pan just the right temperature. If the heat is too low the oil gets sucked up quickly. I never measure when I cook my tried and true recipes so estimating the amount of oil was difficult, I admit. I have switched to light olive oil in my kitchen for almost everything. Grapeseed oil would be best for this as it is really light and can tolerate higher heats without compromise. For those saying the recipe needs flavour - follow the recipe!!! I know powdered ginger doesn't give the flavour, hence I advise FRESH in the recipe and should be used to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Easiest Pot Roast Ever

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was very easy, and my husband liked it a lot. Rubbed the roast with salt, pepper, garlic powder and basil and added a bay leaf to the crock pot. Used beef broth (10 oz) and no water, and thickened the liquid with a flour water slurry while the roast rested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Champ

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was lovely and a different way to have mashed potatoes. Used a little less green onion, and that was perfect for us. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is how I made it, and the meat eaters in my family loved it. Second helpings all around. I sautéed a medium onion and 2 celery stalks in some canola oil until they were tender. Removed them and melted the butter in the same pan. Added 1 tsp tarragon, salt, pepper, and a pinch of cayenne, as well as the flour. Followed the rest of the recipe other than sprinkling the top with some panko as well as the rest of the parmesan, thanks to other reviewers. Baked for a little less time than indicated, just until the top was beginning to brown and the casserole was bubbly. Thanks for the great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Family loved this cornbread. I am a calorie saver so I halved the sugar as I thought it would be too sweet and used fat free sour cream. I am glad I did. It was still sweet enough. Leftover cornbread froze well. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I decided to make a chocolate pie one day and came across this recipe. It came out perfect and was gone in a day. My whole family loved this pie. It has been a request every time I say i will make a pie. So far we have made 6 of them and I have made the recipes as directed and never had a problem with it at all. Would rate it higher in stars but I just can't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Crescent Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was yummy. I make a similar dish but tried it is his way to see which I'd like best. I make mine pot-pie style...layer of crescents rolls on bottom of dish, then chicken and other ingredients, layer the top with crescent rolls. I don't shred the chicken but cut it in halves. My way provides a crunchier pastry. All a matter of preference though! Loved the spin on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States