Hamilton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Streusel Topped Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I have made this recipe a couple times. My family including myself just love this recipe. These are the best blueberry muffins I've had. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I think perhaps the best part of this recipe is that you can eat the wings (or what ever you chose to cook, eg. legs/tenders) without any sauce at all. Several of my young grandchildren are not yet into hot sauces and these are perfect for them without the sauce... and with the sauce... OMG OMG OMG... they were to die for! As much as I love wings I have never made them as all the recipes I have researched are too fussy and too many steps. This has no deep fat fryer to stand over and worry about the obvious drawbacks to frying - no par boiling, nor 'par baking'- just oven time and times between flipping is perfect to do whatever else is needed. I admit I did use 'Frank's' but the even ratio of hot and honey was perfect. Thank you Chef John - you have scored again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
For those of you who felt the 20 min. is not long enough, I suggest you 1) use a high-straight-sided frying pan to make your risotto. 2) Make sure your broth is warm enough, it should not 'sizzle' when you add it. It should be pretty much the same temperature. 3)Turn the heat up just a wee tad and I don't think you will be disappointed. I geared this down for serving 2 with enough left over to try the Risotto al Salto today. (Still used a frying pan) Was short on mushrooms but was just as tasty. I heat my chicken broth in a glass measuring cup in the micro, specifically so I can give it a quick zap when I feel it is cooling. This leaves my other burners free but still gives me the important heated liquid to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Amazing - even with 3 different things changed. 1. I did not have any buttermilk ready so thinned down some greek yogurt with milk and soaked them for about 20 min. 2. I also accidentally grabbed some marmalade and added 1 Tbsp to the brine before realizing. Left it in and still added 2 heaping Tbsp of honey. Do not believe it changed a thing. 3. As some other reviewers did, I used powders not salted for the garlic and onion. And I too was a bit worried about the length of time to fry chicken breasts that were not flattened or halved but felt I had to trust Chef John's judgement especially seeing as he specifically mentioned it would work! IT DID!!! Absolutely delish with the thin (not burnt and NOT greasy!) fried coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

LJ's Easy Penne with Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
oh boy, I'm having a very difficult time choosing the perfect Vodka Sauce. This is delish. I did sprinkle fresh basil over when serving when I read another reviewer who added some. I also find that using crushed tomatoes in these recipes really reduces the risk of being too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I love the creamy smoothness of this sauce, which I find more traditional to Vodka Sauces. With the exception of the heavy creme, for which I sub with a lighter one, this is very, very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Pasta in Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I have been trying a lot of the vodka sauces. All are great hits. So far this is my favourite. Appreciate the half'n half rather than the heavy creme's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Most vodka sauce recipes add the vodka much earlier in the cooking process and reduce and cook off the alcohol then. When making this recipe I did add the vodka with the tomatoes but let it simmer for an hour or so. Added the creme just before serving. Delish. I have also frozen some sauce in small containers, defrosted in the micro, heated on the stove - still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Tracie

Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Try this last night and we just loved it. I plan on freezing some rhubard to make this in the winter. Served it to guest and it was a hit. Next time I will make it with half the sugar. 5 stars from my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Tasted fine, but it was overcooked, making the rice somewhat mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This was good. Not very appetizing looking, but tasty nonetheless. It was great to try a recipe with such a different combination of ingredients. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Made this for Thanksgiving Dinner in New York with my extended family - it crossed borders! 3 years later, and they are still raving about that one dessert: and there were MANY selections that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Salad Singapore

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
When I first started making this recipe, canned bean sprouts were the only ones easily available. Nowadays fresh sprouts are very common at the grocers. I much prefer fresh but canned is still acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Shrimp in Sherry Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
When your stove konks out and you only have a microwave to cook with you get inventive. You can make amazing meals with your micro, it is another complete stove at your fingertips. So I actually use my microwave alot anyhow so this recipe fit in well. I made the rice first (in the micro), set aside, defrosted the shrimp (in the micro), started the onions and butter (in the micro) while I peeled the shrimp. Mixed everything straight into the casserole, including the shrimp and cooked on medium/high, stirring occasionally for about 10 min. (Micro's differ in strength so you will have to check). I did find you need to be careful on how thick the sauce gets. A 2 dish meal! One casserole for the rice, one for the shrimp. Used a paper plate/towel to defrost the shrimp. How to defrost shrmp in the micro. Arrange on plate with tails all towards the centre. Micro using the 'muffin' setting- usually about 10 sec. on a very low strength, keep you eye on the so they don't cook, turn plate, zap again - peel. Of course running under cold water works well too but aggravates my arthritic hands. Love my micro! Thanks Aimee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
We thought these were great! I tried to take a short-cut and do the chicken in the frying pan with the seasoning before adding the veggies. Most of the seasoning congealed in the frying pan so lost a bit of flavour and made myself more work (take heed & learn from my mistakes!!, LOL) They were still fantastic, but looking forward to the extra seasoning being on the chicken when I do it the way it is written :) I did them in the small tortillas, more like a sandwich instead of folding over the bigger ones. I sprayed a small amount of olive oil on the pan which gave them a tiny crunch and served with pico de gallo, sour cream & avocado. Definitely will be making these again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Easy Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
So delicious! I made a few changes:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLoo

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Awesome recipe! I did take the advice and double up my tortillas and it turned out fantastic. I added corn and rice just because I had leftovers in the fridge. With some sour cream, salsa, and lettuce it was a big hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Minute Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Perfect! Put it on a coconut cake and sprinkled with coconut. Wow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, but it turned out way too thick. They would have been pan-balls if I hadn't flattened it out a little bit with the spatula. My pancakes were irregularly shaped and really didn't taste that great either. Edible when doused with maple syrup, but I honestly can't figure out why they have so many good ratings. I don't know if I had a bad ingredient or what, but I really think I did everything right, without very good results. I'll be trying a different recipe for pancakes next time (or even a mix is better), that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Roth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Basil-Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I have tried this recipe except for the 1/2 cup of butter. Also, I thought the fat in the whipping cream would be enough to give it that depth of flavor and I was pleased that it did. I thought it was a little bland and next time would add some onion, maybe a little garlic and rosemary. But the tomato and basil flavor was excellent! I grow herbs and have fresh basil on hand all year round. PS: I grow my own tomatoes. Instead of the sugar, I add 1/2 tsp of baking soda so I don't get acid reflux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States