Guelph - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I doubled it and used 1 tbsp. of hot curry paste instead of powder. Also added carrots to use them up. Thank-you.....I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGUGLIETTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Boy, Lindsay is not kidding when she called these brownies 'the best ever'!! I bake gluten-free for my mother who has celiac, but this is the recipe I'm going to use whenever I bake brownies. I followed the recipe except that I used 3/4 cup of 'Cup4Cup' gluten-free flour in place of the three different flours and eliminated the xanthan gum. They were simply DELICIOUS!! Props to Lindsay L.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Brown Rice Salad

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Just made this with left over basmati, some dried cranberries and chopped red onion, but sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts (I'm allergic). Made my own balsamic dressing. A nice combination of sweet and salty, soft and crunchy... Curious to see how it holds up after a day - that will be the test of whether it is a potluck-worthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Seared Lemon Tilapia with Parmesan Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was super tasty!! My husband and I are not big fans of fish, but are trying to find creative ways to add it to our menus for the health benefits. This was definitely one we will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowybaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Substituted butter for shortening, and used all brown sugar for the base. Used a food processor to cut in the butter. Chopped frozen peaches for the fruit layer so it took longer to bake. Didn't adjust anything else except that it baked in a 12 x 8 pan so the base was a bit thicker. Next time would possibly add a handful of coconut to the crumb topping, or try chopped apples and more cinnamon. Kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe as written except for substituting canola oil for the butter (I had run out). I used frozen berries. The muffins had a pleasant crisp top, were moist inside, and kept well for the 2 days I could keep them in the house. It was a loose batter and I was skeptical, but they turned out great. They did need more than 20 minutes - I baked for 28 minutes and they were perfect. The cornmeal taste was not very pronounced, perhaps because I used very fine ground cornmeal. Still a nice change from regular blueberry muffins. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. My niece wanted something for her 19th birthday with chocolate, and this worked great. I replaced the topping with a ganache recipe found on the site. Only 2 changes I would make in the future are both with the crust. I love cinnamon, but didn't think it worked well with the crust. Also, crust had a bit too much butter in it and barely enough for a 9" pan, I'd keep the amount of butter the same but would add another 1/2 to 3/4 cup of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THRobinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Exeter, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Never heard of bittersweet, and sadly listened to my Mother who said it was the same as unsweetened... so first batch didn't come out smooth and still got that taste in my mouth. ended up doing a second batch using semisweet chips instead because short on time and used what I had, and came out great. The rum added a nice bit of extra flavour. Used it on a cappuccino cheesecake recipe. tasted great and helped fill in a few small cracks as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THRobinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Exeter, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Agree with other reviewers ..been making this for years. Add a little water to bottom of pan to keep moist and stop skin from burning...score the squash and add the butter, brown sugar right from the start..keep both sides face up in the pan....cook 45-60 min. I also add nutmeg ..you could add cinnamon if you prefer that taste instead ..and I love the idea of adding walnuts ...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I breaded the chicken as suggested ..and feel that is a great idea ..the sauce sticks to the chicken better. I took the chicken out ..and added some veggies to my wok..whatever I had on hand ..peppers etc. Returned the chicken, added cashews ...and the sauce ..which I doubled. I used siracha for my hot sauce. The sauce was a wee bit sweet...a wee bit sticky..and had a wee bite to it. It thickened with no trouble. My only criticism ...too much soy sauce.. I would reduce that next time. I will look over other reviews and see what others did next time ..and follow this advice. It was a wee bit overpowering...and definitely use low sodium soy sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I used the suggestion of Jillian and they turned out amazing! I know I will make these again many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grampa’s Cheesy Collaboration

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Love this, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Pattitude

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
After the amount of reviews on here I'm probably not going to say anything new but - SERIOUSLY, YOU NEED TO MAKE THIS THE WAY IT'S WRITTEN BEFORE SWITCHING IT UP!!! The Cream of Potato Soup really makes a big difference, members of my family have been making this for years but always with different kinds of soup (mushroom or chicken)and I liked it then and certainly wouldn't turn it down BUT the potatoe soup makes the difference, I don't know why and I don't care, from now on when I'm at family gatherings all I will think of is the fact that I've had better. The next time I made it I added more ham, left out the parm and sprinkled bread crumbs on top and it was also amazing. You can certainly do whatever you please for this recipe to meet your taste but DO NOT substitute out the soup!! I really can't stress this enough... Don't do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moist Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
These muffins were awesome!! My kids ate them like they were going out of style lol Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbz
Home Town: Paisley, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Peach Crisp

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
A very quick and tasty recipe! Takes hardly no time to prepare and everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I only rated this 4 stars..since like others I made some slight modifications to the original. But it was delicious and so simple to make!! I added some sour cream to alleviate the dryness others spoke of..and cooked it at a lower temperature for about 20 minutes and it came out creamy and far from dry. I omitted the mushrooms but loved the suggestion to add some cayenne pepper ...what a great little kick it added! I always use sharp/old cheddar cheese as I love the stronger flavour..and i added it all into the main ingredients ..not in the topping I used a Ritz cracker topping .. but that was what i had on hand ..and it was equally yummy..although now i want to try some of the other suggestions. Overall, it would definitely make it again..and perhaps this time I will mix things up and try some new ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Michael's Foccacia Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Oh dear, really disappointed with this recipe. This does not have the texture of foccaccia bread at all, despite following the instructions as written. The only change I made was adding dried italian herbs to the dough. It's certainly edible, but I was hoping for a nice fluffy foccaccia that could be sliced to use for sandwiches. This barely rose more than a pizza dough, and I did proof my yeast and knead with my KA. Used the right size pan too. Hmmmm... maybe will try again to give it a second chance but so far, not so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
NEED MORE STARS! This recipe lived up to the hype. Great crust, amazing crumb, nice flavour. I substituted 2 cups multigrain bread flour and used butter instead of lard, also cut the salt in half. I used my KitchenAid Artisan and after initial mixing, kneaded for 4 minutes on speed 2. Baked for 35 minutes to an internal temp of 200F. Perfect loaf (it was loaves, but one is already gone). Thanks for this go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Just made this to frost a chocolate birthday cake. I followed the suggestions to use icing sugar, and was concerned about the texture not being firm enough to pipe, but it did firm up in the fridge after a couple of hours. The flavour is outstanding, and I mixed about a cup of the frosting with a half cup of natural peanut butter for the middle of the cake. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janette's White Whole Wheat French Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wonderful, soft and light! Bread ready on the table in around 2 hours. Light, delicate whole wheat bread --so unlike what whole wheat's notorious for. You'll be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States