Burlington, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

English Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These looked like english muffins on the outside, but the inside was just a regular bun texture. An english muffin should have lots of nooks and crannies. This was an ok bun recipe, but by no means is it even close to an english muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good. I followed the recipe except I only used 3TBSP of flour with 1.5 cups of mashed potatoes. Will make again, the family enjoyed these potato burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This Mac & cheese was very good. I would definitely make this again. I did make a couple changes. I used 1/3 package of sharp cheddar and 1/3 package of taco mixed cheeses. I also roughly crumbled some whole wheat crackers on top and added some pats of butter over the crackers. I might try sautéing the onions next time, but it was tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliadevos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
this is going to be the only mushroom soup i ever make! i followed the recipe almost exactly, only because i have whole milk instead of cream, and i used a chianti vinegar because i don't have sherry. i used a mix of portobellos and cremini mushrooms (yum!), and tossed in a big handful of fresh picked basil leaves near the end. so easy, i whipped it up on my lunchbreak, and my toddler loves it, too! thank you! next time i might add some garlic and green onion to see how that goes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jacky's Fruit and Yogurt Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
omgoodness! these were incredibly moist! i changed a few things so i could share these with my toddler. i used plain yogurt and subbed grated carrot for the fruit. so really i made carrot and yogurt muffins, but really the base recipe works so well! just the right amount of sweetness, too. i also subbed coconut oil for the butter to make it healthier for my lil' guy. i've been subbing coconut oil in all my baked goods that call for butter, and haven't missed a thing :) this recipe made 24 absolutely perfect mini muffins. i split them with my son, and we both LOVED them. perfect recipe for my arsenal, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I added a cup of old cheddar and tablespoon of dried chives and this recipe turned out excellant. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE-ELLIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Granny's Strawberry Preserves-Filled Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I submitted this recipe - as pointed out by ckreestone (thanks), they made an error in the amount of preserves needed. Technically it would be 12 tbsp (or 3/4 cup) but I usually use a liberal tsp so have a full jar on hand! I also wanted to point out I added Before and After photos to show how much these cookies really spread out. Try them, they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Paleo Omelet Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this recipe this morning, it was good. Made as written although I used milk instead of water. I have a larger muffin tin pan therefore using 4 eggs it made 3 larger servings. My husband ate 2 with toast, I had 1 with a slice of toast and we found the portion sizes to be just enough. I found the baking times to be accurate with this recipe. Will make again in the future, thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Italiano

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Simmered only 30 minutes, but changed nothing else. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Dawn's Candied Walnuts

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Big hit! Delicious and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Very much enjoyed these! A nice change from tradional chocolate chip cookies. I drizzled mine with melted white chocolate to jazz them up a bit. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Banana Split Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These didn't work for me. Followed recipe to a "T" and they were mushy and bland in the middle. Too bad, I had high hopes for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Penne Alla Vodka

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This recipe was very good, I normally do not cook with alcohol but the family really enjoyed this dinner. I made this recipe as written except made 3X the pasta. Although increasing the pasta there was plenty of sauce, although I will double the sauce next time. I served with garlic bread. Will make again. Do not let the vodka stop you it is so good. This recipe is good for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Blueberry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
loved the salad but I love all salads. We did not like the dressing as a salaad dressing, too sweet we ate it as a dessert. although looking at the recipe I noticed that I forgot to add the salt. Are you suppose to crush the fresh blueberries as I left them whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Essanaye's Sesame Beef Stir Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Delicious, made as written except I did not have rice wine vinegar, so I used 25% water and 75% white wine vinegar. My husband and son enjoyed this recipe and I have the go ahead to make again. My only complaint would be the beef was over cooked, so next time I will not cook the beef as long before I add the veggies. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Patty's String Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe as written. This was good, although the spaghetti was all suck together when I was trying to serve it up on the plates. I did add a little oil when i cooked the pasta to prevent the stickiness. The ricotta cheese was not melted enough for me, so I will bake it for a little longer next time. The problem may have been I made it earlier in the day and put it in the frig for a couple of hours before baking it. I also though it was alot of extra work for a pasta dinner. I am not sure if I will make again, but it was enjoyed by the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Everyone liked these cupcakes. I have a 23 year old son who acts like 2 when it comes to cupcakes. I followed the recipe as written, and only baked the cupcakes for 18 minutes and they tasted very good. The middle was a nice surprise when you don't know about the gooey cookie. I will try this recipe again with different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Owen's Veggie Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is the second time I have tried this recipe. I did enjoy the meal although I did feel it was still oily and I had only used olive oil to saute the vegetables. I used most of the veggies in the recipe, although I did not use the corn and used sugar snap peas instead. I did use teriyaki sauce ( 2.5 tbsp),fresh ginger, and garlic ( 1 tsp). I will double the spices next time, as I did not taste them very much. I served this with white rice and my husband and son added soy sauce at the table. I will try this recipe again, but I will decrease the oil even more. It is a nice meatless meal although my son would prefer meat with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pepper Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really really good flavour. Eats like chili! I added onions and mushrooms, why not, right? Only other change I made was using a cup of organic chicken broth instead of the bouillon cube, and I halved the recipe. Next time (and there WILL BE a next time), I'll use beef broth. Otherwise, I love this soup just the way it is :) So much easier than stuffing peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese, Spinach Meat Loaf Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Made these into burger patties and loved them. Skipped the spinach because wouldn't fly with husband, but wished I'd made mine with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States