Burlington, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Penne Alla Vodka

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This recipe was very good, I normally do not cook with alcohol but the family really enjoyed this dinner. I made this recipe as written except made 3X the pasta. Although increasing the pasta there was plenty of sauce, although I will double the sauce next time. I served with garlic bread. Will make again. Do not let the vodka stop you it is so good. This recipe is good for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Blueberry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
loved the salad but I love all salads. We did not like the dressing as a salaad dressing, too sweet we ate it as a dessert. although looking at the recipe I noticed that I forgot to add the salt. Are you suppose to crush the fresh blueberries as I left them whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Essanaye's Sesame Beef Stir Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Delicious, made as written except I did not have rice wine vinegar, so I used 25% water and 75% white wine vinegar. My husband and son enjoyed this recipe and I have the go ahead to make again. My only complaint would be the beef was over cooked, so next time I will not cook the beef as long before I add the veggies. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Patty's String Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe as written. This was good, although the spaghetti was all suck together when I was trying to serve it up on the plates. I did add a little oil when i cooked the pasta to prevent the stickiness. The ricotta cheese was not melted enough for me, so I will bake it for a little longer next time. The problem may have been I made it earlier in the day and put it in the frig for a couple of hours before baking it. I also though it was alot of extra work for a pasta dinner. I am not sure if I will make again, but it was enjoyed by the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Everyone liked these cupcakes. I have a 23 year old son who acts like 2 when it comes to cupcakes. I followed the recipe as written, and only baked the cupcakes for 18 minutes and they tasted very good. The middle was a nice surprise when you don't know about the gooey cookie. I will try this recipe again with different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Owen's Veggie Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is the second time I have tried this recipe. I did enjoy the meal although I did feel it was still oily and I had only used olive oil to saute the vegetables. I used most of the veggies in the recipe, although I did not use the corn and used sugar snap peas instead. I did use teriyaki sauce ( 2.5 tbsp),fresh ginger, and garlic ( 1 tsp). I will double the spices next time, as I did not taste them very much. I served this with white rice and my husband and son added soy sauce at the table. I will try this recipe again, but I will decrease the oil even more. It is a nice meatless meal although my son would prefer meat with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pepper Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really really good flavour. Eats like chili! I added onions and mushrooms, why not, right? Only other change I made was using a cup of organic chicken broth instead of the bouillon cube, and I halved the recipe. Next time (and there WILL BE a next time), I'll use beef broth. Otherwise, I love this soup just the way it is :) So much easier than stuffing peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mobychic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese, Spinach Meat Loaf Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Made these into burger patties and loved them. Skipped the spinach because wouldn't fly with husband, but wished I'd made mine with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this for supper tonight, the pork tenderloin was marinading in the frig for 9.5 hours. Although I did find this to be slighty salty,not unplesantly so, I will make again as my husband and son also liked this recipe. Baked it at 325 in a convection oven for 70 minute in a covered french white casserole dish. Next time I will uncover for the 20-30 minutes to bake the sauce on the meat better. I did omit the salt and I used reduced sodium soy sauce (33% less) I also did not have honey dijon mustard so I used 2 tbsp dijon mustard and 1 tbsp honey as other reviewers suggested. I served it with baked mini potatoes and baked carrots. Everything in the oven so a very easy dinner to prepare and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this for supper tonight, the pork tenderloin was marinading in the frig for 9.5 hours. Although I did find this to be slighty salty,not unplesantly so, I will make again as my husband and son also liked this recipe. Baked it at 325 in a convection oven for 70 minute in a covered french white casserole dish. Next time I will uncover for the 20-30 minutes to bake the sauce on the meat better. I did omit the salt and I used reduced sodium soy sauce (33% less) I also did not have honey dijon mustard so I used 2 tbsp dijon mustard and 1 tbsp honey as other reviewers suggested. I served it with baked mini potatoes and baked carrots. Everything in the oven so a very easy dinner to prepare and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Honey Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made for supper tonight, it was okay. The only changes I made was I used 1 pound of ground beef and only 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I was not sure what to serve with it any suggestions? I did not think rice or potatoes was a good side dish. I served it with grilled asparagus, but I did not think it was a well rounded dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Honey Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made for supper tonight, it was okay. The only changes I made was I used 1 pound of ground beef and only 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I was not sure what to serve with it any suggestions? I did not think rice or potatoes was a good side dish. I served it with grilled asparagus, but I did not think it was a well rounded dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Honey Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made for supper tonight, it was okay. The only changes I made was I used 1 pound of ground beef and only 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I was not sure what to serve with it any suggestions? I did not think rice or potatoes was a good side dish. I served it with grilled asparagus, but I did not think it was a well rounded dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe did not work out for me. They did not rise as high as the photos suggested about 10% higher than when they were put in the oven. Followed the recipe without tweaking, very easy to put together, worked the dough to a minimum just till all ingredients were together. I was expecting a fluffier biscuit. Also the shortening I thought was too much at 3/4 cup turned out heavy could not eat any more! Will have to look for a recipe that suits my fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. I had 125 made within 30 minutes. I toasted the pecans at 275° for 5 minutes. As the pecans were toasting I placed the mini pretzel and mini rolo on a waxed paper lined cookie sheet. Popped the cookie sheet in the oven for 2 minutes and then lightly pressed the pecan on the pretzel. I only placed one cookie sheet in the oven at a time as I wanted to put the pecans on the pretzel before they cooled down too much. Each cookie sheet had about 30 pieces, and that gave me enough time to place the pecan on top before the next batch came out of the oven. I then let them cool for about 1 hour then placed then in an air tight container, with wax paper between each layer. One reviewer mentioned the cost per piece. To cut the cost I used my local dollarama store and bought a bag of mini pretzel ($1.25 for 454gms) I used half a bag and mini rolo candy ($2.00 for 130grams) I used 2 bags of candy. The expense is with using the pecans. I used the mini size as I have made these treats for my small grand children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Fondant

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was soooo easy to make!!!! I will NEVER EVER buy premade fondant again..This was cheap and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Chocolate Covered Cherries

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were good!!! Followed the advise of others and froze the cherries after I covered them with te fondant. I also put them in a paper lined mini muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Nice and tasty and easy to make! I drizzed mone with some melted white chocolate after they cooled...perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Almond Crunch

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made this exactly as written and quite liked it but felt it lacked a depth of flavour. Changed the sugar to vrown and boy what a difference! Loved it that way and will continue making it with brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States