Burlington, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Excellent dish! Pan frying in butter is a must. Our variation is a little different. Wash, gently press both sides with Club House, La Grille "Spicy Pepper Medley". We do not coat with flour... but.. simply pan fry on medium high for about 4-5 minutes each side (do not over cook.. think of shrimp cooking time) and server hot on a bed of rice. OH ! La la... enjoy. GPG PS: if you want to coat think of a bread crumb or cracker mixture. You will need to increase the heat and cooking time to compensate for the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy Giroux
Home Town: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made as written, loved it. Baked in a convection oven at 275° in one hour. The recipe for the frosting can be cut in half as it makes a large amount. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I am really impressed with a)how easy this was to make, and b)how GOOD it turned out. Gotta love a recipe that gives you a great return on investment ;) I actually used a thawed 1 lb turkey breast, with "Diana" bbq sauce, and balsamic vinaigrette for 3 hours on high. Only regret was that I didn't make coleslaw with it. Can't wait to try it again, especially since I ate it all before my hubby got any!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Edamame Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
When this recipe is followed exactly this is a good safe recipe and reminds me of a bean salad. Definitely worth making again. After tasting I personally add more of every spice/herb and onion, and wish I had put less than 1/4 cup vinegar. I will experiment in the future with another additive, feta cheese or bacon maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cake9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Honeyed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Love this recipe, have made it many times, always a family favorite. Have cooked it as written but have also used the crock pot, either 4 hrs on high or 7 hrs on low. The gravy is great either on rice or mashed potatoes. You can thicken the gravy but it is not necessary. Try this recipe you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Pot Roast I

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I made as written but cooked in the crock pot. I found it rather bland, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Strawberries

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My husband and I liked the cream cheese but, I had trouble getting the cream cheese into the strawberries. I finally gave up and cut the strawberries in half and just put the cream cheese on top. Tasted great but the presentation was not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Excellent. Takes only a few minutes to make. I made this for Valentine's day dinner, I made it the day before . The only change I made was I omitted the instant coffee I do not like coffee, and I made 2 servings not 4. Very rich, I love chocolate and I had trouble finishing a serving. I will definitely make again. HELP !! The first time I made this it was great. I have made it twice since and it has turned out grainy. What am I doing wrong? I would appreciate any help. Thank you Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

121 Whipped Cream

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is great. Will not be buying whipping cream in the can or cool whip again. It takes only a few minutes to make and tastes so much better than store bought brands. I did chill the bowl and beaters for 30 + minutes prior to making whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Tried making this recipe as written. The first pancake was too thick and took too long to cook throughout. So, I diluted with more milk. After tasting the pancakes, all I tasted was salt. Will not make these again. My son did not finish his pancake. I`ve tried better pancake recipes from this site. Wish I had saved the last one! But this was definitely not one for the recipes box. Update: I decided to give this another try. I probably used sea salt last time, because I didn't notice the salt this time around. It was still too thick (like cookie batter). Don't know what I'm doing wrong. So again, I added more milk to make the batter less doughy. I tilted the pan to spread the still thick batter, but it cooked evenly this time and tasted incredibly good. I added some vanilla extract, almond essence, cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliadevos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Cream Sandwich Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This cookie is amazing! The only thing I would change next time is to leave out the extra 1/4 cup of flour and I did add a bit of salt to the dough. I thought marblel sized balls would be too small, but they make for a perfect bite sized delight! for the filling I had leftover caramel I made for another recipe so I just used that mixed with icing sugar. I will definitely be making this cookie a new holiday tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Loaf

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezemozel@cogeco.ca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe was absolutely fantastic right off the bat I read the reviews....and agree wholeheartedly "Do Not Change a Thing" Please everyone....try the recipes on this site, just as they are written,at least the first time ...then make any changes that may suit your tastes. Yes this is a very simple method, BUT it works brilliantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA-LENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've made this several times, and I love the amount of banana that goes into it, as well as how simple the recipe is. The last time I made it, I only had enough bananas to make half what was called for so I subbed pumpkin puree in for the rest and added about a quarter cup maple syrup. It turned out really nice! One time I added 3/4 cup of cocoa powder, and the chocolate version was great. To the original recipe, I always add a cup of walnuts because I love them, and a healthy dash of cinnamon because it helps regulate blood sugar and lower the glycemic index :) One other tip is when I use my wider, more shallow silicone baking dish, the bread only takes 45 min at 350. Less waiting to dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I pressed the cookie dough with a fork to flatten somewhat during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cochrane-Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe is perfect as written, but after reading other reviews, I decided I should double the crumble and add a layer to the bottom. Definitely don't regret it, but it came out really sweet! So to remedy this, I'm putting a dollop of vanilla yogourt when serving it because it adds a tangy creaminess that balances the sugar very, very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Some of the best cupcakes I've ever had! I might reduce the sugar in the recipe a tad but that's just personal preference. Everybody loved them just the way they were. Does anyone have a terrific Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting recipe to share? Lisa O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
added a slice of black forest ham to one along with the cheese and asparagus - will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cochrane-Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cochrane-Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I'm sorry, I'm easygoing, and I only like to post good reviews, but I have to say this recipe was a big let-down. I followed it exactly and set the slow cooker to 4 hours on high. It was soup. I had to serve it with a slotted spoon :( That's not what I'm looking for in a jambalaya. I think I should be looking for a recipe that incorporates a roux. I love sauce, and this was just watery. The flavour was okay, but again, I was even disappointed considering how much seasoning went into it. Could barely detect the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States