Burlington, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Jackie Héroux

Slow Cooker Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Turned out great but my grocery store was out of lean beef so used pork instead. Was amazing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Héroux
Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Héroux

White Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Amazing pizza!! Our grocery store was out of Italian blended cheese cause it was on sale, so I had to improvise and use regular. Also added a little Italian seasoning to it as well and it turned out awesome! :D Great pizza:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Héroux
Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made this soup without any additional changes knowing that I could save this if necessary by making changes after it was done. It did come out a bit thin in consistency for a ham and potato soup for my liking and did taste a bit bland though I was aware that the author suggested to add extra ingredients to improve it to our liking. Did add ingredients to thicken the soup by mashing some of the potatoes till the consistency was just right (you may add 1/4 cup 10%cream in place of 1/4 cup of the milk when making the recipe.) I topped off by adding savoury, and fresh thyme. It is important to add the pepper as freshly ground from a pepper mill. As well, a good recipe done as is without any changes – compliments to Ellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Tomato Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Made this tonight with Spinach & Chives linguini, and loved it. I made only 2 servings, but doubled the spinach from the original amount (it cooks down to nothing anyway). We didn't find it quite spicy enough; at the table I added hot pepper flakes and hubby added Sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Avocado Sauce Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I mainly used this recipe for the avocado sauce (which was excellent), as I skipped the bacon and tomato, but added ham, garlic, spinach and mushrooms. Also, I toasted the muffin and didn't put olive oil on it, but used that to saute the vegetables instead. Still, the avocado sauce made this and that gets a 5-star rating from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Kingman's Vegan Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I am not a vegan and coming from India I love vegetarian and bake my own bread for 3 years now. Was very excited to try this at first but on reading the ingredients was shocked by the 2 cups sugar, never mind the uswt. apple sauce! I thought it might be too sweet as in my baking I use no more than 2 TBSP sugar for the proofing of yeast. I decided to try this hoping that the ingredients would balance out and offset a bit the sugar. Very disappointed that it turned out much too sweet and mushy – even for a cake! Sorry but this was a waste of ingredients, time and electricity. Diabetics and overweight Vegans beware! To be noted with a bit of humor that there is a video posted on top of the reviews of this recipe "5 minute blood sugar killer!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
The beef was dry and fibrous even though it was cooked on low for 10 hours and was falling apart nicely! No body ate the beef but the sauce and veggies were gone even though the potatoes and veggies were over cooked, discolored and mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Yum yum!! Made these for a party with store bought meatballs too, in a crockpot, everyone loved them. I am getting brave tonight and using the same sauce to marinate some chicken drum sticks then I'll roast them and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margarida

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano

Acorn Squash Gnocchi with Parmesan Sage Beurre Blanc

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I think a lot of the negative reviews on here are from people missing the point. Acorn squash in itself, is pretty bland, hence why people add spices, etc to it. I do believe the creator of this recipe had that in mind as she said she didn't care for it and therefore was wanting to disguise it. There is a bonus in that it cuts down substantially on the starch as opposed to potato gnocchi. For those wanting to be able to *taste* the squash, I suggest you use a Butternut Squash as it has a stronger flavour. This recipe is a great starting point. You can tweak it in so many directions. Yes, you do have to be mindful of the ratio of flour to squash, but that depends on exactly how much squash you have. Therefore people, you should not take the flour amounts verbatim! I used a small squash, which yielded about 4 cups of cooked squash, I used only 1/2 cup of the whole wheat flour and 1 cup of AP flour plus more for kneading in until I had a soft dough that was no longer sticky. Reason for only using 1/2 c ww flour is personal preference, I find any dough can get overly tough with too much ww flour. Gnocchi's are supposed to be soft, little pillows, not tough, rubbery nuggets. This did make a huge amount (I was just making it for me as I was solo for dinner) so I froze the rest on a cookie sheet for doling out later. I didn't make the sauce but chose to use my own spicy homemade pasta sauce. Delectable little pillows indeed. Thank you SPEARL20 for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Easy! Wow! Very tasty and got great family reviews. Used the tip of heating up the pumpkin and spices a bit before baking, which seemed to work out well, and used a graham cracker crust for the first time with a pumpkin pie. I made this for my Dad's 75th birthday as it is his favourite, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha Church

Chocolate Cream Pie II

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was easy to throw together and thickened up quicker than I thought it would. I wanted it really thick and rich, so I followed the advice of reviewers and added an extra tbsp of cornstarch. I also threw in a tbsp of PB. My 2 yr old son said we should add marshmallows, which I thought might be a great idea, but instead I toasted some and used them as the topping (with a graham cracker crust!). When chilled, it didn't set up as stiffly as I expected (more like pudding) but the flavour was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Boy, Lindsay is not kidding when she called these brownies 'the best ever'!! I bake gluten-free for my mother who has celiac, but this is the recipe I'm going to use whenever I bake brownies. I followed the recipe except that I used 3/4 cup of 'Cup4Cup' gluten-free flour in place of the three different flours and eliminated the xanthan gum. They were simply DELICIOUS!! Props to Lindsay L.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This is a great recipe and has become one of my favourites. I've shared this with my family and coworkers and they all love it. Delicious served with goat cheese and warm bread. The second time I made it I didn't have black beans so I used chick peas. I've also added diced cucumber, diced avocado and on occasion, sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Pecans

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Only made 4 ozs. I used 1 tbsp egg white, 1.5 tbsp white sugar, used 1 teas vanilla and 2 teas water, 1/4 teas cinnamon and omitted the salt. Baked for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. Yummy in salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Only used 2 pork chops but kept the other ingredients the same. I did not use the instant beef. I found the sauce a little spicy (? steak spice), Served with mashed potatoes and snap peas. Husband says the recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Excellent. I made an error as I baked the bottom layer for approx 7 minutes before the cream cheese was layered on. I also pureed a few fresh strawberries and layered them on top of the cream cheese. Will make again. Looking forward to trying different fruit with this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Love this salad. Followed recipe as written. The whipping cream is the ingredient that makes this salad extra special. Always a hit at potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Seven Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I have made this many times and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Creamy Dijon Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe as written except did not cook the mushrooms in the slow cooker and I used a pork roast instead of the tenderloin. I put baby carrots in the crock pot with the roast. Very nice flavour and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Strawberry Salad with Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made for supper tonight. I used 1 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette to cook the 3 chicken breasts,. The salad had a nice flavor. I used feta cheese for my salad and cheddar cheese for my husband's. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States