Brantford - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bean with Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a great bean and bacon recipe. I, like Nicolette, added diced carrots (no garlic though) for the colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Brazil Nut Fruitcake

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect! I used whole brazil nuts, pecans, and chopped almonds. I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves. I followed the recipe exactly. It was a long 1 hour and 45 minutes waiting for it to bake, but after 30 minutes of cooling I served it to my family and guests and everyone loved it. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillJol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast in Bangkok

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I found the flavour was wonderful but it was SOOOOO thick I ended up making it into soup and it was wonderful. Not sure what I did wrong but definitely not a morning drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greywolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anne's Homemade Chorizo

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe. I don't like the store bought stuff as I'm not fond of snouts and other random stuff that is typically inside (ie gristle and gross bits lol) but this chorizo is wonderful. Keeps a very long time. My husband is in seventh heaven when I take the time to make this for him (which will be again this weekend!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYFROG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Beth's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a few years now and it's a favorite. The only thing I change is adding cinnamon and reducing the baking time. :) The cookies are perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vorondwen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this a few times now for my family and extended family for a total of 9 people, ranging from 7 years old to 70. Everyone loves it. It's been a couple months so I'm making it again tonight at my wife's request. Tastes delicious and easy to prepare. I skip the wine and the cream, and of course I add a lot more of each ingredient to accommodate the additional servings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillJol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Oatmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I don't have a waffle iron. Has anyone tried these as pancakes? Sounds really yummy and zucchini season is here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Zucchini Oatmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I don't have a waffle iron. Has anyone tried these as pancakes? Sounds really yummy and zucchini season is here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is a very good recipe, producing a good tasting lemon meringue pie. The only complaint, thus only 4 star rating, is that there wasn't enough filling for the 9" - deep pie plate I used. The amount of filling would be enough for a shallow pie plate. When I use this recipe again I will increase the filling by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I like the traditional apple dumplings my mother used to make but I also like this version also. Initially I made the dumplings exactly as stated in the recipe. I now have modified it to suit my preferences & tastes. I like others cut down the sugar as I found it way too sweet. I don't have a large family so I half the recipe & I usen4 whole peeled & cored apples & use the Grand size crescents which is 4 large triangles which I shape around each apple. The only other change I make is that I put 1/2 tsp vanilla in with the sugar, cinnamon & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!! I took the advice of others and added vanilla, etc. (did not have nutmeg) and these muffins were amazing! Even my 8 year old and 3 year old LOVED them! Excellent recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lefty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this just as it says and we couldn't get enough. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I added some cooked chicken. One pot meal....awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it exactly as written. It was delicious, however, it was pretty sweet and a bit too runny for my taste. When I made the recipe the second time I added a 1/2 Tbsp of flour and I grated the rind of a small lemon and added the juice from the lemon. The sweetness of the crisp was cut and it was runny .... perfect I think, especially with a scoop of quality vanilla ice cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This turned out amazing. I noticed one reviewer indicated their loaf was dry - I used a full cup of orange juice and used frozen cranberries and increased the cranberries to 2 cups. My loaf was really moist and I got rave reviews at work at a pot-luck. I will definitely be making this one a lot.....I also left out the nuts because of allergies and I don't think anyone minded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greywolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crackle Top Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe exact and they were Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hackwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Orange Beef

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I started making this one night for dinner thinking it wasn't going to take me very long to make. The prep time was longer then I thought. I cut the beef up into small strips, that took awhile, then to dry and refrigerate and dip each peice into cornstarch, seemed to take forever. Maybe if you put the beef peices into a bowl and tosted them around to cover them with cornstarch, would have been a great way to save time. I tweeked the recipe a little, I doubled the sauce like others suggested, I added red pepper flakes for a little heat, and I also added chopped onion to the ginger and orange zest, then cooked them in the sauce till tender. It turned out amazing! The only thing I would probably change. I would add a little more red pepper flakes maybe 2 tsp instead of one,...if you like some heat, and I wouldn't add as much grated ginger to it. All I could teast was the ginger,...but was still out of this world. Definetly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Best Recipe ever. My whole family loves its
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Potatoes with Green Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Every summer for the past 3 years this is how I love to make my potatoes on the BBQ. So easy and sooo tastey! Definetly a favorite with my family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

French Onion Soup II

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Soooo easy and so yummy! I used croutons instead of a crust of bread, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States