Belleville, Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Prosciutto e Melone (Italian Ham and Melon)

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Yes. This has always been a popular 'starter' in Europe; Italy in particular, but also very popular at 'nice' restaurants in England. I'm English, now living in Canada, and have eaten and served this for more years than I care to share! lol Often powdered ginger, in a shaker, was/is provided, and this also made a very nice addition on occasion. As a matter of fact, tomorrow evening we have friends coming for supper, staying overnight, and having breakfast before continuing their journey home. I'm serving this as a light starter, followed by Chicken with Capers/Cream Sauce, Garlic Smashed Potatoes, French Green Beans and fresh Asparagus; no dessert, but double cream Brie with green grapes and fresh raspberries. Some nice wine too of course! ;o} Brenda, Ontario, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Awesome flavour, moist, easy recipe! The only thing I did differently was added 1 cup milk chocolate chips :) and I used vanilla sugar instead of regular white sugar. A keeper recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jacolyn's Herbed Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I only gave it 3 out of 5 because I felt it was missing something. I added Italian seasoning and more vinegar, it helped brightened it up. A nice base dressing, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Terrific recipe! The only thing that I changed was cutting back on the butter a little, and I dipped the finished cookies in melted milk chocolate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon in Lemon-Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sauce split... :( ...but it still tasted great. I also added some garlic and baked the fish seperately from the sauce. I will try it again, it WAS yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Dumplings I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
CHRYSALIS34...thank YOU for putting your spin on this recipe! Let me put it this way...my husband just came in to get another one! lol The only thing I changed was half brown suger, half Splenda but that's it! They turned out great, thanks to you & Carol for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mustard Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wanting something zippy and tangy to go with the salmon dinner I was making, I tried this recipe. My only change--I put all ingredients into a salad dressing jar and shook it up instead of whisking it together, it really didn't need anything else! Very nicely balanced flavors, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Chip Muffins I

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I also doubled the chocolate chips and added vanilla...very yummy! I made mine in mini muffin tins, took some to work and kept some at home...watched them disappear at both places! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir-Fry Pork with Ginger

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wonderful flavors, simple to make, takes no time at all to prepare! I had this with a side of stir fried veggies & some left over rice! The only thing I did differently was used rice wine vinegar and added some fresh chopped garlic as others suggested. Thank you for a nice dinner idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was awesome! Nice flavours, very tender pork! I marinated for 2 1/2 hours but will leave it longer next time. The only thing I changed~~I didn't have any sherry so I substituted rice wine vinegar. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Easy for sure. Comfort food, but fairly boring I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Sugar Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I, too, have tried other low sugar cookies and they don't compare AT ALL to these! I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of the packets as suggested by others, and added 1/4 tsp of ground cloves. Awesome recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Calamari

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just what I was looking for! Don't over cook!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada

Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi)

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made it as written...minus the sesame oil..I was out. My 14 year old son and I loved it!! Did it in the crock pot and served with egg noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Awesome! I added a little ginger like someone else suggested (just because I like ginger!) and pan-fried in a cast iron pan....came out fantastic! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Sauce was amazing!!! Halved the recipe and used less butter, based on a reviewer's comments. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blushing_unicorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I've tried many meatloafs, including one stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon, and this is the one I chose to review. It was fantastic! I think I put too much milk as it wasn't very solid, but the brown sugar and ketchup at the bottom was such a nice change. Will make it again and just try to make it more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phantazmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

Chef John's Beef Goulash

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Wow! This was amazing! The subtle flavours of balsamic vinegar, caraway, garlic....fantastic! Thank you for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Yakisoba

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Sorry, but it was VERY bland! I was really looking forward to trying this but was very disappointed...ended up smothering it in sweet Thai chili sauce just to get some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
8 January 2013 I had a couple of really, (really), ripe bananas that I didn't want to throw out! I haven't made banana bread for many years. We're now down to two in the household and we both watch our intake of carbs, sugar and calories. However, I was intrigued by this recipe and decided to give it a go. However, I did make a couple of changes - I didn't have enough brown sugar on hand so used a mixture of brown sugar and palm sugar; I also didn't have white flour so used unbleached flour; I also added milk chocolate chips. Otherwise I followed the recipe! It was/is delicious. We sneaked a small slice as soon as it came out of the oven and the chocolate chips were wonderfully soft, runny and gooey. Delicious. I've saved the recipe with my changes, as we both really like the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States