Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very simple and delicious as they are, but easy to customize for flavour change-ups.ie: orange zest and orange glaze. cocoa powder and chocolate glaze...yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Mom's Baked Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Love the recipe, made it exactly as recipe called for and was excellent. Then made it with a ham, onion, egg scranmble and was great too, finally made it with some hot peppers added in to wake me up in the mornig and was also great. Plan on making this one a lot more all three ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Baked Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Love the recipe, made it exactly as recipe called for and was excellent. Then made it with a ham, onion, egg scranmble and was great too, finally made it with some hot peppers added in to wake me up in the mornig and was also great. Plan on making this one a lot more all three ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chocolate Covered Coconut Macaroons

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Oh my goodness these are fantastic!! I added a tablespoon of cold brewed coffee to the chocolate as I did not want to add milk. I used semi sweet chocolate chips and the taste was phenomenal. As other reviewers have said, you need to watch these as they will over cook and turn too crunchy quickly. I took them out as soon as I saw the coconut getting a bit toasty and they came out sooooooo good and chewy and delish!!! They keep well in a plastic tub only they never last long enough to find out just how long they will keep :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was so good! I changed it a bit after looking at reviews, but not too much. I just added extra baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, a bit of ginger, and a bit of honey. And I used one ripe banana and a bit of applesauce (used a bit more than 1/2 cup). So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I always add more raisins cause I love lots of them.... and the first time I made this recipe I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon as well, it was good. But WHOA....The second time I made this I used 1/2 cup coconut milk instead of the whole milk in the second stage and added 1/4 cup flaked coconut and 1 cup raisins - let soak in the egg mixture while cooking the milk and rice. OMG!! It came out sooooo darn yummy delish!!!! I had to make a second batch because I ate the whole first batch and didn't save any for anyone else. It did not last 2 minutes after serving, will have to double the recipe next time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Broccoli Soup IV

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
really bland soup had to add spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Yellow Pea Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I did not have dried peas so I used frozen green peas. I added ham to it as I had left overs. I pureed the mixture as it was to watery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
very good soup I did not have any chicken bouilon or Chicken stock so I used beef. I also blended half the mixture and added Bacon. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I will not be making this again to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
So yummy! I made mine much smaller, used half white chocolate chips and half semi sweet, and only baked for 9 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was so yummy! Definitely a little salty, but I love salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is almost the same as a recipe I've been using for over 20yrs. The changes are...1/4 tsp nutmeg, use shortening instead of the butter or marg, in the batter(the batter stays whiter) and before you bake, drizzle the melted butter (use butter for this part) over top of each muffin and sprinkle with the cinnamon sugar mix, then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Have made this twice now. Once subbing 1/2c flr with whole wheat. This made it a bit denser but still delicious. The white bread is so soft and fluffy, it filled the 2lb breadmaker. By far the best machine bread. I'll be making this at least once a week. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made exactly according to recipe. Great healthier scalloped potatoes, but ultimately bland. Might be a good for a base recipe though, but as presented I can't give it more than 3 stars. Prep time for me was certainly longer than 5 minutes and it really doesn't need 2 hours at 325F, came out a little softer than I would have liked. Others suggest that one hour at 350F is sufficient and I'd wager that is likely true. 3 Adults were not fond of it and found it lacking in taste. One fussy 5 year old at them with no complaints...and ketchup. I don't think I'll make it again, but if I did I would certainly be looking at other reviewers additions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cookie Dough for Ice Cream (Eggless)

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yum! I made these to go into that chocolate chip cookie/cupcake recipe where you put cookie dough into the middle of a cupcake before baking, and I wanted to make sure I wasn't risking anything with raw eggs. This recipe is perfect! Good balance with the cupcake-y goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Butter Cream Frosting I

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Quick and easy!! I used it for my daughter's birthday party cupcakes and I had none left!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Very yummy. Kind of reminded me of just the muffin tops. I used only unsalted butter, since I didn't have any shortening, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cow Pies Candy

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
So quick and easy! Used semi-sweet chocolate chips but that is just a preference. I did not have any nuts on hand and still wanted a bit of a crunch to the treats so I added 1/2 cup semi-crushed up bran flakes along with the raisins. Fantastic!! Goodbye store bought chocolate covered raisins forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These were so yummy! I cooked them at 325 for about 12 mins. I cooked some on the cookie sheets and I cooked about half on silicone on the cookie sheets. The ones on the sheets were a little more browned on the bottom, and I personally liked the cookies that were baked on the silicone sheets better. They were less crispy, and really chewy. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States