Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was one of the best pancake recipes I have had. I took others recommendations and reduced the salt and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. They turned out nice and fluffy and tasted amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was absolutely delicious...both my husband and I loved it! Next time I will add some red peppers and maybe some baby corn...great with jasmine rice! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used 1 1/2 c of my home made chili in place of the canned chili...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Really enjoyed this frosting; I actually didn't take it off of the stove after adding the chips, I kept it on, and poured it over a chocolate cake. If you don't touch it, and just let it do its thing, it is very nice and shiny. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls III

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipes is amazing just as it is.....its good with the bread four too but I find it very heavy so I switched to using all purpose flour instead and amazing! Fallow the recipe to the tee and it should be nice and fluffy and flaky where its needed and the icing is soooo good. :) Also instead of pecans I throw in raisins for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sljackson01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
goodness gracious it was the best recipe ive tried in ages !!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe was really great! I just made little balls out of the dough flattened them out with the bottom of a glass that I dipped in flour. I added some candied cherries prior to baking, and once cool, I drizzled with chocolate and Christmas sprinkles...sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great seasoning mix. As good or better than the package Old El Paso that I normally buy. I added the seasoning after fully browning the meat and draining the grease. I used a cup of water and let it simmer down for about 10-15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Soft Molasses Cookies V

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious and they did stay soft. My husband loves the soft cookies and since my regular one gets hard I thought I'd try this. He loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Linguine with Clams

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
read all reviews and did add the bacon, and extra sour cream. also had some cilantro on hand and added a little with the parsley. Also, do not need to cook clams 20 minutes if you have let sauce reduce some before adding. Also topped with fresh grated parmesan. We love parm. thanks.and you don't have to use dry wine. I prefer pinot grigio or reisling so used the Pinot instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gunline Coffee

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Love it! Even made it decaf. My friends who don't like coffee will drink this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bagel Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
What a great way to use up beef jerkey! I started to make this and realized that I didn't have dill weed, so I substituted 2 Tbl of finely minced dill pickles; I also added only 1/4 cup of grated onion ...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Admiral's Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I will never make another chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe twice now; it was amazing. However, I simply poured the mushroom sauce over the meatloaf and left some sauce on the side for the mashed potatoes. I also added a touch of dry white wine to the sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Apples II

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
loved it. cooked sugar at 4 on electric stove. no higher, turned down to 2-3 at 275 on thermometer. was ready in about 5 minutes after that. put pot into pan of hot water that i had ready, dipped apples. only did 6, rest of candy was to hard to roll by then. I added about 3 drops of pure mint/peppermint extract and the 16 or so drops of the red food colouring. candy is crisp and slightly minty and very good. used couple grannies and some royal gala. apples now resting. perfect day for it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was my fist attempt at making stew. Recipe was easy to follow and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaeljcasey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Like some other reviewers I doubled the recipe but left the cinnamon sprinkle topping the same. i also added extra apples and reduced the sugar a bit. Like everything else in food, it's all a matter of personal tastes! Very nice, moist, snacking cake. Next time I'll add even more apples! Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Delicious! I made these lactose free by subbing semi-sweet chocolate chips and coconut oil. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Delicious! I added a crushed clove of garlic and used vinegar instead of lemon juice (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Coconut Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Mmmm. Loved it. Came out nice and moist and a lovely flavour...very tropical, not at all bland like many zucchini breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States