Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great seasoning mix. As good or better than the package Old El Paso that I normally buy. I added the seasoning after fully browning the meat and draining the grease. I used a cup of water and let it simmer down for about 10-15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Soft Molasses Cookies V

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious and they did stay soft. My husband loves the soft cookies and since my regular one gets hard I thought I'd try this. He loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Linguine with Clams

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
read all reviews and did add the bacon, and extra sour cream. also had some cilantro on hand and added a little with the parsley. Also, do not need to cook clams 20 minutes if you have let sauce reduce some before adding. Also topped with fresh grated parmesan. We love parm. thanks.and you don't have to use dry wine. I prefer pinot grigio or reisling so used the Pinot instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gunline Coffee

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Love it! Even made it decaf. My friends who don't like coffee will drink this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bagel Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
What a great way to use up beef jerkey! I started to make this and realized that I didn't have dill weed, so I substituted 2 Tbl of finely minced dill pickles; I also added only 1/4 cup of grated onion ...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Admiral's Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I will never make another chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe twice now; it was amazing. However, I simply poured the mushroom sauce over the meatloaf and left some sauce on the side for the mashed potatoes. I also added a touch of dry white wine to the sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Apples II

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
loved it. cooked sugar at 4 on electric stove. no higher, turned down to 2-3 at 275 on thermometer. was ready in about 5 minutes after that. put pot into pan of hot water that i had ready, dipped apples. only did 6, rest of candy was to hard to roll by then. I added about 3 drops of pure mint/peppermint extract and the 16 or so drops of the red food colouring. candy is crisp and slightly minty and very good. used couple grannies and some royal gala. apples now resting. perfect day for it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was my fist attempt at making stew. Recipe was easy to follow and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaeljcasey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Like some other reviewers I doubled the recipe but left the cinnamon sprinkle topping the same. i also added extra apples and reduced the sugar a bit. Like everything else in food, it's all a matter of personal tastes! Very nice, moist, snacking cake. Next time I'll add even more apples! Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Delicious! I made these lactose free by subbing semi-sweet chocolate chips and coconut oil. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Delicious! I added a crushed clove of garlic and used vinegar instead of lemon juice (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Coconut Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Mmmm. Loved it. Came out nice and moist and a lovely flavour...very tropical, not at all bland like many zucchini breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Hunan Kung Pao

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Really good...I made 2 changes, I used 1 Tbl chili paste in place of the chilis and didn't use the peppercorns...that made it excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Ranch Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used all fresh ingredients and dressed my cobb salad with this dressing. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Million Dollar" Chinese Cabbage Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Good salad, a little sweet for my taste though. I will definitely try it again, but will modify the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I pulled 4 good sized tomatoes from the garden, and one nicely ripened red pepper for this recipe (an afterthought). I roasted and peeled the pepper and just tossed it in to simmer with everything. After 20 minutes, I used the immersion blender but found the consistency a bit off yet, so I passed it through a wire strainer. Charlotte, this was an awesome bowl of soup! For you.....5+ stars. Thank you for this. UPDATE: I tried this with chopped garlic. I'm glad I did...a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fish

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I am not a fish person but I cooked this using white fish I got on sale. The price was right so Ibought it. I used oil to fry it but it was nice and cruncy and good flavor to it. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a really good homemade rice pudding! Everyone I have made it for, just loves it!! People ask me to make it for them. I followed the advice of the other reviews and it was perfect. I used evaporated milk and skim milk, rather than cream. I cooked the vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg in the milk mixture. I also beat the eggs into the last addition of milk with a already hot mixture so that the eggs will not go lumpy and you pieces of eggs in the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Creamy Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
So delicious, we are serving this at my sister's wedding in August
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States