Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Tami

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I loved it with the addition of 3 minced garlic. I have used a full bunch of parsley and cider vinegar in place of lemon juice and it still tastes great! It was excellent on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious. Really didn't think it would be too great, just wanted to use some of the salsa I have. Surprisingly delicious though! And super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This dough works out great for me every time and my family loves it. I will never get take out pizza again, homemade is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEFROMBARRIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doczues

Challah I

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made excellent Challah, followed recipe exactly and got two great loaves from it. Everyone loved it and need to make more already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I used half coconut oil for the butter. These were amazing. My four year old his behind the dishwasher to steal them off the plate as I was putting them on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
There are two types of recipes in my house, those I would serve to guests and my comfort food; for my family and I...this, well this can be both...I even made it with coconut oil in place of butter, sans icing for our lactose free friend, and still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These were easy to make and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this! Our chops were so thick, I butterflied them and put the stuffing in the middle instead. And I baked at 375 for 30 and then 15 minutes instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmdw

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Finally I can make yorkshire again. It's been many years...I think the eggs have gotten smaller so 3 is a must. I've used both a muffin tin and a popover pan, the popover pan helps them rise a bit more. I love the butter, gives them a nice flavour and I find that the lower temp works out just fine...my old recipe called for 450 so I thought this couldn't work...but it does. My oven, like most new ones has even bake, so to get around this I use a cookie sheet on the top rack to deflect the heat so the yorkshires don't cook too much on top before they can start their rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Don

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Nailed it! Finally. Taste, texture, size, shape...everything!! The one and only change I made was to pre-toast the sesame seeds. Chef John...you da bomb! Update: I've just completed my third crack at these buns; A+++ . Consistently perfect. I grind my own sirloin and a quarter pound patty is a good match for each bun (there's 8 - each weighing 102 grams). Two pounds of beef gives me 8 patties....perfect!! P.S. These bad boys freeze well, but not for long. They will only do you a couple days otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Mushroom Thighs

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious. Wasn't the best thing I've ever had but I'd make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I used the suggestion of Jillian and they turned out amazing! I know I will make these again many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Austrian Peach with Peach Liqueur

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
hmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Focaccia

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I'm glad that you love this focaccia recipe /your welcome big sister!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

{{Honey-Oatmeal Bread}}

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
your welcome big sister!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

{{Pumpkin Donuts}}

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
your welcome big sister!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Volcanoes

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
hmm you love these ones too big sister / they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiesta Pinwheels

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Really delicious...I subbed shredded chicken for the olives...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crusty White Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
An excellent multi-purpose dough. I use this for making pizza pockets, pepperoni rolls, cinnamon buns, dinner rolls, and basically anything where bread is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linkerts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States