Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These turned out great. I used a 9x13 pan and I was very impressed. It was an interesting technique to cream the butter, sugar and cinnamon together like a spread. I had always melted the butter and sprinkled the cinnamon/sugar combination over it. I think the spread technique kept the cinnamon where it was supposed to be. Great recipe. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mom's Raised Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I followed the directions exactly and they turned out perfectly. I didn't glaze them since we like them coated in powdered sugar. I'm sure I'll try them with glaze, filled with lemon filling or with cinnamon sugar. Thanks for the amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It was good. I was a tad taken aback at how different it was from the canned version. But GOOD different. I found it a little thick after the recommended time. I added some water and it quickly smoothed out to my desired consistency. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Made this for a catering job which was a huge risk because I never made them before. I used flour tortillas and did as others suggested and baked them 15 mins before adding sauce and cheese. I wiped the tortillas in sauce to make them easier to use, did not heat them. I did my chicken with the sauce in the slow cooker so no shredding required as the slow cooker does that for you. Topped with some green onion. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious. Used parmesan instead of romano and added mozza; put all the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Just had two bowls of it on rice. Slow cooked 7 hours, I put the peppers in about halfway through but still too soon, they were mushy so next time I'll add more towards the end. Delicious! I did use chicken stock because I didn't have beef but I would make it that way again because it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jennifer's Granola

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I haven't made granola for many years but recently have been eating more nuts & seeds so thought I'd try making some. The proportions of things is great.Because I'm a mild diabetic I used mostly sugar free syrup with just a tablespoon or two of real maple syrup. I also left out the brown sugar & cinnamon and no salt. I was concerned that with little real sugar in it that it wouldn't caramelize but it's wonderful. Top with some Greek Yogurt and you have a great start to any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg Woods
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was good. Soy sauce was a little over powering. Might make it again, but it wasn't amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I loved it with the addition of 3 minced garlic. I have used a full bunch of parsley and cider vinegar in place of lemon juice and it still tastes great! It was excellent on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious. Really didn't think it would be too great, just wanted to use some of the salsa I have. Surprisingly delicious though! And super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This dough works out great for me every time and my family loves it. I will never get take out pizza again, homemade is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEFROMBARRIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doczues

Challah I

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made excellent Challah, followed recipe exactly and got two great loaves from it. Everyone loved it and need to make more already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I used half coconut oil for the butter. These were amazing. My four year old his behind the dishwasher to steal them off the plate as I was putting them on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
There are two types of recipes in my house, those I would serve to guests and my comfort food; for my family and I...this, well this can be both...I even made it with coconut oil in place of butter, sans icing for our lactose free friend, and still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These were easy to make and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this! Our chops were so thick, I butterflied them and put the stuffing in the middle instead. And I baked at 375 for 30 and then 15 minutes instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmdw

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Finally I can make yorkshire again. It's been many years...I think the eggs have gotten smaller so 3 is a must. I've used both a muffin tin and a popover pan, the popover pan helps them rise a bit more. I love the butter, gives them a nice flavour and I find that the lower temp works out just find...my old recipe called for 450 so I thought this couldn't work...but it does. My oven, like most new ones has even bake, so to get around this I use a cookie sheet on the top rack to deflect the heat so the yorkshires don't cook too much on top before they can start their rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Don

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Nailed it! Finally. Taste, texture, size, shape...everything!! The one and only change I made was to pre-toast the sesame seeds. Chef John...you da bomb! Update: I've just completed my third crack at these buns; A+++ . Consistently perfect. I grind my own sirloin and a quarter pound patty is a good match for each bun (there's 8 - each weighing 102 grams). Two pounds of beef gives me 8 patties....perfect!! P.S. These bad boys freeze well, but not for long. They will only do you a couple days otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Mushroom Thighs

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious. Wasn't the best thing I've ever had but I'd make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States