Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by kmdw

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Fantastic. Baked it in my cast iron skillet for 25min. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Photo by kmdw

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving (Canadian). Simple and delish. I threw in some cranberries for some festive flair. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe!! Switched half cup of Flour to oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
A nice change from the traditional bean salade minus the sweet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made these last night...used a couple tbl of batter per fritter and cooked until dark golden...also used peaches in them too...both fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These turned out great. I used a 9x13 pan and I was very impressed. It was an interesting technique to cream the butter, sugar and cinnamon together like a spread. I had always melted the butter and sprinkled the cinnamon/sugar combination over it. I think the spread technique kept the cinnamon where it was supposed to be. Great recipe. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mom's Raised Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I followed the directions exactly and they turned out perfectly. I didn't glaze them since we like them coated in powdered sugar. I'm sure I'll try them with glaze, filled with lemon filling or with cinnamon sugar. Thanks for the amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It was good. I was a tad taken aback at how different it was from the canned version. But GOOD different. I found it a little thick after the recommended time. I added some water and it quickly smoothed out to my desired consistency. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Made this for a catering job which was a huge risk because I never made them before. I used flour tortillas and did as others suggested and baked them 15 mins before adding sauce and cheese. I wiped the tortillas in sauce to make them easier to use, did not heat them. I did my chicken with the sauce in the slow cooker so no shredding required as the slow cooker does that for you. Topped with some green onion. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious. Used parmesan instead of romano and added mozza; put all the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Just had two bowls of it on rice. Slow cooked 7 hours, I put the peppers in about halfway through but still too soon, they were mushy so next time I'll add more towards the end. Delicious! I did use chicken stock because I didn't have beef but I would make it that way again because it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jennifer's Granola

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I haven't made granola for many years but recently have been eating more nuts & seeds so thought I'd try making some. The proportions of things is great.Because I'm a mild diabetic I used mostly sugar free syrup with just a tablespoon or two of real maple syrup. I also left out the brown sugar & cinnamon and no salt. I was concerned that with little real sugar in it that it wouldn't caramelize but it's wonderful. Top with some Greek Yogurt and you have a great start to any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg Woods
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was good. Soy sauce was a little over powering. Might make it again, but it wasn't amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I loved it with the addition of 3 minced garlic. I have used a full bunch of parsley and cider vinegar in place of lemon juice and it still tastes great! It was excellent on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious. Really didn't think it would be too great, just wanted to use some of the salsa I have. Surprisingly delicious though! And super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This dough works out great for me every time and my family loves it. I will never get take out pizza again, homemade is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEFROMBARRIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doczues

Challah I

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made excellent Challah, followed recipe exactly and got two great loaves from it. Everyone loved it and need to make more already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I used half coconut oil for the butter. These were amazing. My four year old his behind the dishwasher to steal them off the plate as I was putting them on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
There are two types of recipes in my house, those I would serve to guests and my comfort food; for my family and I...this, well this can be both...I even made it with coconut oil in place of butter, sans icing for our lactose free friend, and still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These were easy to make and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States