Barrie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern Dill Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Made as directed but accidentally bought celery seed instead of celery salt. It was really good, but kept thinking it needed something more...like thinly sliced radish. If you have a party to go to, you can trust this recipe as is and be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Loved it. I had never thought about using carrots as the main ingredient in a soup. I was out for lunch with a friend and carrot soup was on the menu. It was so good I had to find the recipe. This is it!! Delicious, and I have taken to the taste of cilantro and it goes great with this carrot soup...use a little or a lot. For those who don't like cilantro I see there is a ginger-carrot version I'm going to try next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
It's a great recipe. Add to this about 1/2 cup of buttermilk for a little more tang and a reduced consistency. Thanks Dawnia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Just 1 cup of sugar…that's enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdknu57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Chocolate Macaroons

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry-Gin Cocktail

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Mmmmm...I tried this with coconut sugar a frozen strawberry and sparkling water (what I had on hand) and the taste was so great! Perfect after a stressful day at work! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Pepperoni Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
So good!! I just throw in as many veggies as I have on hand...whole family enjoys!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Jam

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Very nice recipe. Allspice....who'da thunk? Everyone really enjoyed this jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very good chili. I like celery so I use it. If you want to add more spices...then go ahead. I change things up depending what is in the pantry and fridge. Mushrooms, corn, carrots, spinach, a can of maple beans, the possibilities are endless...go ahead and add what you like in a chili, but this is a good base to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent. The added pecans is what made these really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I often use skor toffee bits instead of nuts as I have many friends who are allergic to nuts. My friends love it so much it has the nickname of crack because it is so addictive! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate and Cranberry Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I substitute the white chocolate chips for chocolate chips and use cherry flavored dried cranberries. I also use vanilla instead of the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These were good. I put chocolate chips in them too. If anything, I like my cookies a bit more chewy but I still definitely enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmdw

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Fantastic. Baked it in my cast iron skillet for 25min. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Photo by kmdw

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving (Canadian). Simple and delish. I threw in some cranberries for some festive flair. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe!! Switched half cup of Flour to oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
A nice change from the traditional bean salade minus the sweet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made these last night...used a couple tbl of batter per fritter and cooked until dark golden...also used peaches in them too...both fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Spaetzle Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very easy to prepare. Served with chicken paprikash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Sanderson Gable

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Midhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States