Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by MORTGAGEBABE

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I browned chicken thighs in with the onions and garlic, toasted (and doubled)the spicies before adding in the sweet potatoes. After reading other reviews I halved the peanut butter and added garam masala.. MMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORTGAGEBABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Look out recipe box...there's a new family favorite topping the chart. Instead of giving you my variations, let me just thank all the reviewers who added so many great ideas to change up such a versatile dish despite how perfect it is all on its own. Chines, you are a genius and thank you for sharing such a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Mezzi Rigatoni with Chicken Thighs, Rosemary, Lemon Zest and Roasted Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I was really surprised at how much we liked this. I never buy jarred sauces, since I like to make my own, however the simple addition of rosemary and lemon really transformed this whole dish. It tasted homemade! To make the chicken easier to chop, sauté the chicken thighs whole, then chop when cooked. Also chop up the rosemary. A great recipe to have on hand for busy week nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

White Fiber Mini Shells with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Another one of those recipes that is so simple, yet very tasty. I added in some garlic when the onion was almost cooked. I love the freshness of the ingredients. Makes a perfect summer meal. Next time I will add more basil because the flavor was very mild. I do have to say this is much better right after you make it. I found when it was reheated the next day the flavors were quite bland. I ended up having to add more cheese and some seasonings. I used a mix of red and orange cherry tomatoes A fresh, colorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
After baking, my meatballs were still formed, but had a "moist" texture to them. I think I had 1); too much cream in my bread crumbs (I used 4 slices of days old sliced French bread), or 2); not enough meat to egg ratio. I doubled my recipe too, which may also have been another factor. Otherwise, the flavour was FANTASTIC! I will definitely make this again, with some adjustments. P.S. I served my meatballs over whole wheat stroganoff noodles, as an alternative to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Yummy! Lots of flavour and easy to make. I followed this recipe exactly and I was very happy with the results. It makes too much for 2 people, exactly enough for 3 people but wouldn't be enough for 4 people. Next time I will make double the batch. Really, really good. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Making Crispy Onion Rings

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made these for supper tonight and only changed the liquid, substituting beer for the club soda because I didn't have any. We really enjoyed them so will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
One word... Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Easy to make, made exactly as written. I mashed and threw into my blender for a puree. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Nice all around recipe! Ended with a fantastic gravy, no need for corn starch at all. I left it in the slow cooker over night on low and had it the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt.lynnette
Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Photo by gurl_cbl

Cool Summer Cucumber and Tomato Toss

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Simple, extremely quick to put together, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bean with Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a great bean and bacon recipe. I, like Nicolette, added diced carrots (no garlic though) for the colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I use butter- not margarine, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar and usually about 5 bananas. This one is a favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joe Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
OMG this was awesome!!I loved it!The only thing I did was used all my assorted peppers as I had to use them up. I would be making this again for sure.Maybe try different pasta to make it different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was really good! Even my 17yr old liked it and he is such a critic on my cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I thought this was delicious. I used swiss cheese slices and chopped almonds. Loved it, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Spinach Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I'm with others who say this salad was okay but a little disappointing. I followed directions exactly except holding off on adding spinach just before serving like some reviewers suggested. That was unnecessary. It made enough for two meals for us so even though I was expecting the spinach to be wilted the next day, it wasn't. I just didn't like the dressing on this so maybe that's the source of my disappointment. I used a low calorie Italian because I have to eat low fat and found it to be a bit tart. I will try again though and use a different dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Italian Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Wow this is great. Used Kraft Zesty Italian dressing and 1/2 tsp. of minced garlic (instead of garlic powder). Also had 4 boneless chicken legs and a large boneless breast. There was plenty of marinade for the whole lot. DS#2 BBQ the chicken after it marinated for about 6 hours. Meat was juicy and great flavour as the dressing did not over power the chicken. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious. I used French bread and added chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Raspberry Pie III

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Good, but too sweet and it came out runny, like raspberry soup. Need to figure out the consistency issue. I'll be trying again because my backyard bush produces about 4 cups of berries every other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States