Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Chili Thai Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Definite keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great simple recipe. I always review ingredients prior to cooking and it was very clear to me that if you use broth it almost always has plenty of salt and therefore no need to add ANY more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast and Easy Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Ohhhhhh my goodness this is good! I made up a batch tonight so I'd have some to take for lunch this week. I had to force myself not to eat it tonight! And the crazy part is, it's SO amazingly easy with only a few ingredients. Very impressive flavor. I haven't made a recipe this good with so few ingredients in quite a while. The only thing I might suggest is using less chicken bouillon because I found it slightly salty. I didn't have bouillon cubes, so I used the equivalent of 7 cubes in Better Than Bouillon chicken base (7 teaspoons), which may be the culprit, although from what I've heard, the cubes are more salty anyway. Next time I will try 5. And there will definitely be a next time. Oh, and one more thing....this makes a lot of soup, like 4 gigantic servings or 6 "normal" size servings. Thanks for the amazing recipe Jilly Bean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I would definitely make this again. It's a quick and easy weeknight meal. I decided to kick it up a notch and I used Johnsonville Sweet Italian sausage instead of the ground beef. I kept everything else the same. I don't normally use oil when I brown ground beef, or any other ground meat, so I omitted it. I served this over basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Buttery Caramel Apple Jam

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This tastes heavenly! I was looking for ways to use up a lot of extra apples this year, and someone told me about this recipe. I also made a variation where I added in some rum when I stirred in the sugar. Whichever way you do it, this recipe is sure to impress! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Turnips

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
These were not to our liking. They needed more water not to burn and they were too sweet. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
What a great apple bread recipe. I used half white and brown sugar ( not quite a full cup)Next time I will add vanilla extract. I used my chopper from pampered chef for the apples. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arubagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I'm confused. There is no need to soak split peas. This sounds like a white bean recipe. Even the package on my split peas says: do not soak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Like another reviewer my batter came out extremely heavy but unlike that person I certainly didn't throw it out. I added a some milk to lighten it a bit - they ended up taking about 40 minutes to bake. I had no crystallized ginger so I put in about 2 tbsp powdered ginger. Next time I'll do what another person did and put the grated fresh ginger into the batter. The flavor is good but not outstanding. I'll try one tomorrow and see if more of the flavor develops overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I added a tbsp of minced garlic and a bay leaf to the liquid, seasoned the roast well with Worchestire sauce, no salt seasoning mix and pepper. When I removed the roast the liquid was just salty not really beefy tasting so I added a pouch of sodium free bouillon, pepper and some horseradish sauce, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Followed recipe except use brown rice instead of white. Added cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma's Date Squares

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I also did not use sugar with the dates. I used apple sauce, butter & coconut oil. It seems to hold the oats together(coconut oil). I also baked the bottom layer first. Thank-you very much for the basics, I just added my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianabouchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This chili is fantastic. I would surely love to try the recipe of people that say they don't like it, because if it's better than this it must be godly. Remember, heat and spice are very dependant on who is at the end of the spoon, this is why you "taste and adjust seasoning" after two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary Mackesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudge

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and this was the EASIEST and BEST fudge I've ever made! So simple, and not sickeningly-sweet like most fudge! Thanks for sharing! We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Southampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I cooked up some red pepper, onion and mushrooms. Flavour was great but i found it a bit dry. Next time i would add more chicken broth and only cook one half hou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Just made these last night. Super easy to make; followed the recipe, except used chopped apple instead of shredded. I must have made them small, because I got about 46 cookies out of the recipe. I was babysitting a friend's son and he was helping me out, but was disappointed when I added the nuts (a mix of walnuts and pecans), because he doesn't like nuts. Didn't seem to stop him; he ended up eating 4 before going home :) Added a bit of cinnamon to the glaze too. And yes, they come out of the oven looking the same as when they went in. Delicious cookie, definitely worth the minimal effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I make these often and sometimes use other fruit. After eating one of these, one of my homestay kids said "you should open a bakery". The recipe is very good. Make extra topping and freeze it - it makes it a bit quicker to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
5 stars because it is the right ratios for making a good fruit pie. I used frozen blueberries. The filling was a nice consistency - not to stiff but it wasn't runny that when you served it the filling flowed out. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is the only way I prepare ribs - family favourite so I won't mess with perfection. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very good! Good ratios and it seems to work every time. Follow the recipe and you will have a great apple crisp. Use the same topping for other fruit crisps; it works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States