Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Everyone in our house loves this stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Wiseman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosenmunnar

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Amazing! Read a few reviews - added 1/2 tsp of vanilla, used raspberry jam. I yielded about 3 dozen cookies from this recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blushing_unicorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for a lunch for 40 - was a big hit. I used pecans instead of walnuts, feta instead of goat cheese, and granulated sugar to candy the pecans rather than maple syrup. As per the reviewer who commented that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the entire Andorra fleet, I cut the dressing in half and there was still plenty. Next time I might cut it by 2/3. Too much dressing can ruin this salad. As per a number of reviewers, I decided to bake the beets - I'll never do that again. For this salad I much prefer the texture of a boiled or canned beet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oysters Rockefeller

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I followed this recipe with no changes. Very disappointing. Like another review I belive the boiling was the problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldina Wahlers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great basic shortbread recipe! I halved the recipe and it still made over 2 dozen. I rolled and used cookie cutters since I have no press. Worked well, good consistency for rolling. Also rolled in some icing sugar to give a little more sweetness. I also added nonpareils in christmas colours to add some festive-ness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Porkchop9024

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it always turns out perfectly! Just can't get enough of the crunchiness of the oats! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this 4 times, so obviously I think it's delicious. But no matter what I did the first three times it cracked horribly. Still tasted great, so I didn't mind too much but it bothered me a little. The fourth time I made it I omitted the raspberry sauce in the cake and just drizzled it over the slices instead. No cracks! It came out absolutely perfect. So I won't put sauce in the cake again. Everyone I make this for loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very tasty! he cajun spice was a little hot but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Although these cookies tasted great, they did have brown peaks which were difficult for my husband to get over. He is used to traditional shortbread, but he did like the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renata Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I often use skor toffee bits instead of nuts as I have many friends who are allergic to nuts. My friends love it so much it has the nickname of crack because it is so addictive! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sex in a Pan I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is my absolutely favorite desert!! I also find the layers are too thin if you follow the recipe, so I double the recipe every time and I use a slightly larger pan, but not much bigger 10x16. Other than that, I don't change a thing!! It's the best!! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada

Make Ahead Lunch Wraps

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I like it, but want to let it sit for a bit. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added taco seasoning to the brown rice. I added onions and red peppers to the pan with some olive oil and a bit of brown sugar before adding the corn and green chilies. I pureed the pinto beans with some of the black beans and the onion mixture. I added lime juice and drained diced tomatoes along with a good bunch of chopped cilantro. Right now it seems to need something. I wonder if I should have added more spice to the mixture, such as cumin or cayenne. I've already made the burritos, so will serve with spicy salsa after reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very quick and easy to make, didn't taste too bad and looked nice decorated, would recommend to someone in need of a quick and easy recipe. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Sweet Tart Smoothie

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is such a refreshing smoothie with a clean and tart flavour. I made one for my daughter who loves smoothies. I had fresh cranberries on hand for the holidays so it was a perfect. She loved it… I made her a second one because I had to "sample" the first….. I used frozen grapes and sort of eye balled the amount of water for the thickness that we like… Thanks Linda (LMT)….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Sweet Teriyaki Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
It was good. Next time I will marinated some more veggies to go on the kabob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Krista's Sticky Honey Garlic Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These wings were really good - even my kids liked them! I used 24 split wings (12 whole wings) and cut the sauce ingredients by 1/3 and it turned out great....nice and sticky sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Amazing! I was so unsure about cooking my roast this way...I had fears that it would come out raw, but it was perfect! I cooked a 4 1/5 lb roast, and the end result was a beautiful roasted piece of meat that was cooked to medium all the way through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this rice as written and yes it is very good but felt the flavours needed a little waking up. So next time will do one of the following tweaks 1. add the onion and spices to the broth so this way they will blend better with the liquid or 2. as the broth is coming to a boil in a small fry pan sauté the onion and spices in a little oil and butter. Once the broth is at the boil add along with the rice. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

No-Bake Chocolate Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Super easy. I used butter instead of margarine. They turned out great. I put them on lined cookie sheets, then stuck them in the fridge to harden quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

CHOCOLATE CHIP OATMEAL COCONUT COOKIES

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
When I first read the recipe and noticed that there was no vanilla extract thought that maybe it would be missing something. Well I was wrong I just finished eating two of these cookies and they are great. Also had no coconut this was skipped. LOL do not think that these will last very long in this house hold. Thank you manella for a wonderful recipe. will be doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States