Ontario - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by LilSnoo

Quick and Easy Baked Carrots

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I hate to give a low review, but I didn't have much luck with this recipe. First off, the directions aren't very clear. How many carrots should I be using? Bunches of carrots vary greatly. I'm assuming we're to leave the carrots whole? I ended up cutting the carrots in thirds cross-wise, then I cut the thicker ends in quarters lengthwise so the carrots were in thinner pieces and would cook evenly. Even still, 20 mins isn't even close to being enough time for these to cook. I ended up cooking them for 40 mins and they were still slightly underdone. I was running out of time for dinner, so I ended up eating them anyway. A full teaspoon of the spices is way too much, especially the nutmeg. I thought this sounded like a lot from the get-go, so I only used 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg, cinnamon and sugar and that was still a lot. I wasn't a fan of the I Can't Believe it's Not Butter spray. I kept having to spray more throughout the cooking process. These would be better made with butter or oil. I made the recipe as written (except for half the spices) and they had a bitter taste. I don't know if this was the butter spray, or the nutmeg. The carrots also didn't have much in the way of a "glaze" on them. They were more dry than anything. This also isn't enough for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Debra's Pickled Eggs in Beer

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I LOVE pickled eggs, and this recipe is no different. I was a little skeptical of the beer, but the flavor is very mild. It just all works perfectly together. I used Sam Adams Boston Lager. Next time I will experiment with something different and see what happens. These are perfect for a quick snack or on-the-go breakfast. Btw, this recipe should really have a higher rating - one of the reviewers left a favorable review, yet mistakenly only gave it 1 star. Perhaps they put too much beer in their eggs? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is the best salad ever. I also add cubed cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Katie's Yogurt Veggie Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I'm sorry, I didn't like this as much as I thought I would. I love raita, so this recipe sounded like a nice twist on that. I ate it the first night with some roti and it made for a nice light summer meal. Today I brought some for lunch, planning to eat it "by the spoonful" as suggested by the recipe submitter. I really didn't enjoy it on its own, and only ate a couple spoonfuls. The flavor was very strong and sour because of all the yogurt. I made the recipe exactly as written. In my opinion, there is an excessive amount of yogurt in this recipe. I'd recommend adding more cucumber because I couldn't taste them at all, and using less yogurt. I also recommend eating it as a dip or a topping for kebabs, lamb, chicken or wraps, instead of on its own. Eaten on it's own it's a 1 star recipe - in small quantities as a topping or dip, it's 3 stars. A very healthy recipe though! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My daughter and I really love watching Chef John's videos and trying out his recipes (they look SO good in the videos!) We made these pancakes by following the recipe except I threw in a teaspoon of vanilla since I like it. The pancakes have a wonderful light, fluffy texture. A real hit with the kids who ate a lot more of them than they do the boxed mix. It cooks well too on the griddle..nice thick batter. Thanks again Chef John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Markon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dutch Babies II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe, I ended up with a pretty uneven "lift" puffing only one side of my skillet. It was still tasty, but having made it three times now I have finally mastered it. First, I use my handheld electric mixer and make sure my eggs are extra fluffy. I was nervous to over-beat the mixture but I went for it and once everything was added I made sure it was still getting fluffy. I used to use my hand whisk and didn't get the same results. I do pull out the hand whisk after I add the flour but I'm pretty sure I could get away with using the mixer on low even at that stage. I find the vanilla suggested by other reviewers to be kind of perfect in this (you can really taste it!) and a bit of sugar in the batter -- a teaspoon is fine -- really gets it nice and golden. Oh, and tons of powdered sugar to serve! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parsley Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Goes well with the Puff pastry salmon recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Puff Pastry Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I am glad I tried this recipe as it showed me how easy puff pastry is. As Danigirl days, it really does only take a few minutes. After reading a few reviews, I did up the seasoning, and I added a few cubes of feta. I used extremely well-drained frozen spinach and had no issues with a soggy crust. It was in fact delightfully crispy. I finished with a creamy white parsley sauce as it goes so well with salmon. Thanks Danigirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Soft Garlic Breadsticks

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I didn't have bread flour so I used all purpose flour and these turned out great. These are very dangerous to have in the house... I can delete all other breadstick recipes I've found over the years. This is my Go To recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Button

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Easy Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Yum super easy! I used fresh lemon juice and zest of 2 small lemons. My dough was not firm enough. Probably due to the lemon juice. Luckily I had another lemon cake mix. So just added a little more mix! Smells delish and it was quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I have made this many times and enjoy it more and more. I don't put the pasta in because I really don't like pasta in soup. I have it on the stove right now and the house smells wonderful. This time I am using a whole turkey breast as well and the ground turkey. I have used purple and green kale in this batch. Almost makes going to work tomorrow something to look forward to because this will be in my lunch box! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a few changes according to what I had on hand. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs that I browned in a wide Dutch oven with a bit of butter, then let them rest/cool/chop while I cooked 4 slices thick bacon, then took them out to cool/chop while cooking the veggie mixture in the drippings. I found this an easier way for a one pot meal. I misread and just added the bacon and chicken in together, and it tasted pretty good this way. I used cream of celery soup and salt free chicken broth. Grocery store was out of biscuits so I used Bisquick for dumplings (2 cups bisquick 2/3 cup milk) and simmered them covered on top of stew for 15 minutes. I like the wide Dutch oven for this because there is more surface area for the dumplings to steam. I also added a bit of dried herbs (bay leaf, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder,sage, poultry seasoning). I will make again without bacon and maybe add some peas. Great comforting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i followed the suggestions of the most helpful member and added the pkg brown gravy mix and frozen peas and carrots. Excellent. Will make again but I am going to make several meals and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Perfect recipe. The only icing I will use for my sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Soft sugar cookies, mmmm soooo good. The only recipe I will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody

Poetic Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
How do I love thee, Poetic Pumpkin Pie? Let me count the pieces we ate. A break from my traditional pumpkin pie recipe, we loved the graham crust and the silky smooth filling. I followed the recipe to the letter, with one small deviation. We couldn't wait for it to cool, so I topped each piece with the whipped cream instead of spreading it over the entire pie. It was nicely set even while still warm. Beautiful texture. We are looking forward to another taste tomorrow. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic idea and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Onion Rings

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic way to make easy onion rings! I just add spices to the pancake mix (salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic) to taste and perfect! I've used this idea to bread fish as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Excellent. I went lighter on the salt by using low sodium soup and less bullion that called for. I added a bit of garlic and some sage. I served it with biscuits. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Zucchini Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Good but I added a few extra spices to taste like garlic. I did not use as much veg oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States