Halifax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I liked this method - much less mess. The bacon did turn out nice & straight which I really liked. Cooked evenly too. I agree with the other reviewers - I had my oven on 425 and it still took about 30 minutes. I also used regular bacon (not thick sliced) and it worked fine. You can get other things done while your bacon is cooking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is delicious and the garlic flavour is an enhancement to traditional roasted squash. Thanks for the idea MChele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Fiesta Pinwheels

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Really delicious...I subbed shredded chicken for the olives...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I really love this recipe. I tend to make a deep dish pie so this recipe will give me one double pie crust plus some cut outs for the top. I can get two double pie crusts when using a fairly flat, traditional pie plate. I shred my 'frozen' shortening into the dry ingredients and then I use a pastry cutter until I have a fine meal. I found that after 30 minutes of chilling- this dough was extremely easy to work with. Remember the less you work with the dough when rolling- the better it will be! The more you work it that tougher it becomes (this is true of most pie dough recipes!) This makes a beautiful pie crust! I use an egg wash on my crust before baking. And, if it is a fruit pie I will sprinkle sugar overtop as well. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Dijon Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
A tasty and easy to prepare recipe. After reading some other reviews, I halved the amount of pepper. As well, while the pork was cooking, I dry roasted [in a frying pan] 1/4 cup of chopped pecans and sprinkled them over the chops before the pouring sauce. Great flavour and texture addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is an easy to prepare and tasty recipe. I made as directed, except used 2% milk and thickened with flour (as another reviewer suggested). I added additional basil and thyme and had lots for leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
made these tonight, subbed coconut oil ( healthier fat ) for both butter and shortening, I didnt add cream of tartar as I didn't have any...baked for 9 minutes, perfect!!!! crispy edge and chewy center....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Roasted New Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Simple and delicious! I used sea salt, freshly ground pepper and fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Cutlets with Apples

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The flavor is good enough but the chicken would have been much better IF it had been salted immediately before cooking (the salt makes the juices run out of the meat). As soon as these leaf thin meat slices have been cooked in butter, they are ready and any cooking after that only serves to make them tough and dry. Keep warm for as short a time as possible while the pan is deglazed with the sherry etc. I also find the dish too sweet, omit the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clapshot

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is always good and we have been making it for years (my mother did too) but this is the first time I knew it had a name.......thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
An unusual change for salmon and very very good but not the sort of recipe I would use on a regular basis. Definitely use fresh cherries, if possible, just no way that artificial tasting cherry pie filling is going to suffice. It is indeed unfortunately that some reviewers actually wrote a review after having used the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce I

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved this recipe it's simple and you have most ingredient at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
First time very disappointed because of the texture and then realized that it did not have any baking soda (which is necessary when using buttermilk). Anyway, now use 1 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp. of baking soda hence it tastes more like my own soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Love pumpkin and ginger so the combination is great but away too much sugar for us and even cut it in half. This is because we do not like anything too sweet and also cutting back on sugar for health reasons. You could substitute some Splenda for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Wellington

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a stellar recipe, which a friend and I made for a reunion of a dinner club (we hadn't met for over 30 years!). The recipe is relatively easy to prepare if you watch the video a few times, read the allrecipe reviewers comments, and start with a quality tenderloin. We used a meat thermometer, cooked the Wellington on a rack in a pan, and did use the pate. The flavour was exceptional - the slices weren't the easiest to cut so I might let it stand a tad longer the next time, or make individual servings as others have suggested. From another site, a suggestion was made to put the uncooked but prepared Wellington in the fridge for a few hours, which we did - so the times given (needless to say) were off, but that's another reason why the meat thermometer was so helpful. A great recipe for a reunion dinner club - all the people in attendance raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Outrageous Lemon Berry Trifle

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is super quick to make. Whole thing from start to finish took about 30 minutes. If you are using instant lemon pudding, it does not take an hour to set-it really only takes about 10 minutes. This ends up being a very light tasting dessert. It is not overly lemony, so if you are looking for a strong lemon taste I would use a lemon pie filling layer instead of pudding. I often use cool whip instead of whipped cream, but did not this time and I think it takes the receipe up a notch. The other thing I would try next time is whipping in a package of cream cheese into the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Special Salmon Steaks

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Have had your recipe in my files for quite awhile but only got to making it last weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed it and my husband said it was even better than our normal barbecued ones...so that is really good. I am going to make it again tonight but will add some lemon zest besause we really like lots of lemon. Thanks for a recipe that will also be used to company....it is simple and deightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
The recipe was delicious but a little too sweet. Next time I'll be using less sugar and more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Podgorski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Trio of Mashed Roots (Parsnip, Turnip and Carrot)

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Guess this is the first time I have ever seen this mixture in print. My goodness (coming from N. Ireland) this was very very popular and even now I still make it. My Canadian husband loves it. You can adjust seasonings to your liking but do like this one for a change. Highly recommend as a side dish plus it is also healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States