Halifax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Girls love these, I used oatmeal instead of flour and graham crumbs( time to clean out the cupboards). As we use these for training treats rather than use a cookie cutter I roll the dough out on parchment paper and cut it into half inch squares using a pizza cutter, place on a cookie sheet and you are done, fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowloader
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this! Our chops were so thick, I butterflied them and put the stuffing in the middle instead. And I baked at 375 for 30 and then 15 minutes instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
hubby & I just finished this very delicious meal.. food is so tasty in a slow cooker & I was looking for a recipe to add vegetables later on ,so this was very helpful thanks Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Peanut Butter Popcorn

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
yummmmmers!!! and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by chocoluvs

Hot and Sour Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
great soup, not too hot, didn't have bamboo shoots, but other than that didn't change a thing! Hope to find some bamboo shoots for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
excellent! our new Year dinner & I cooked it as written, the only thing I changed was on high for 6 hours & I can't eat cabbage even though I love it so I cooked it in a separate pot for my hubby with the broth for 20 mins, he is on his second helping now. this is a keeper.. thanks for sharing & Happy New year to all 2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent soup. Only change was to use thyme instead of marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Loane-Archibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've had a bread machine for over 20 years, and have tried many recipes (both with the machine and without). This is a very interesting preparation, and I have made it a few times with very good results. I use canola oil, and find the bread turns out well regardless of the oil type used. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Tami

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I liked this method - much less mess. The bacon did turn out nice & straight which I really liked. Cooked evenly too. I agree with the other reviewers - I had my oven on 425 and it still took about 30 minutes. I also used regular bacon (not thick sliced) and it worked fine. You can get other things done while your bacon is cooking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is delicious and the garlic flavour is an enhancement to traditional roasted squash. Thanks for the idea MChele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Fiesta Pinwheels

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Really delicious...I subbed shredded chicken for the olives...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I really love this recipe. I tend to make a deep dish pie so this recipe will give me one double pie crust plus some cut outs for the top. I can get two double pie crusts when using a fairly flat, traditional pie plate. I shred my 'frozen' shortening into the dry ingredients and then I use a pastry cutter until I have a fine meal. I found that after 30 minutes of chilling- this dough was extremely easy to work with. Remember the less you work with the dough when rolling- the better it will be! The more you work it that tougher it becomes (this is true of most pie dough recipes!) This makes a beautiful pie crust! I use an egg wash on my crust before baking. And, if it is a fruit pie I will sprinkle sugar overtop as well. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Dijon Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
A tasty and easy to prepare recipe. After reading some other reviews, I halved the amount of pepper. As well, while the pork was cooking, I dry roasted [in a frying pan] 1/4 cup of chopped pecans and sprinkled them over the chops before the pouring sauce. Great flavour and texture addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is an easy to prepare and tasty recipe. I made as directed, except used 2% milk and thickened with flour (as another reviewer suggested). I added additional basil and thyme and had lots for leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
made these tonight, subbed coconut oil ( healthier fat ) for both butter and shortening, I didnt add cream of tartar as I didn't have any...baked for 9 minutes, perfect!!!! crispy edge and chewy center....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Roasted New Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Simple and delicious! I used sea salt, freshly ground pepper and fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Cutlets with Apples

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The flavor is good enough but the chicken would have been much better IF it had been salted immediately before cooking (the salt makes the juices run out of the meat). As soon as these leaf thin meat slices have been cooked in butter, they are ready and any cooking after that only serves to make them tough and dry. Keep warm for as short a time as possible while the pan is deglazed with the sherry etc. I also find the dish too sweet, omit the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clapshot

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is always good and we have been making it for years (my mother did too) but this is the first time I knew it had a name.......thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States