Halifax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rosemary Lemon Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
It seems that I am building some great recipes on the grill lately. This one is no exception but can't imagine using butter (it usually burns too much when grilled) so agree with others that Olive Oil is best. Have all this fresh rosemary growing and trying to find recipes to use it up. Thanks and the only change is to use the oil. Sometimes I also use vegetable oil and that works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Tiramisu Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
For a coffee lover this is heaven on a plate. Easy and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is one of my favorite ways to serve chicken and appreciated by many people. Have also used the same ingredients for haddock and halibut. This is one of those recipes that proves you do not have to have a lot of ingredients to make a very acceptable entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This has been my "go to" bar for years. At one time it came under the name "lemon love notes" but exactly the same ingredients. I have also, being extra sinful, topped them with lemon cream cheese frosting. yum yum. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I normally do not care for banana bread but this is much lighter and the addition of blueberries (no need to thaw) is the icing on the cake. I do use half butter and half shortening (could not imagine subsituting all applesauce) and decreased sugar by 1/4 c. because it is plenty sweet enough for us. A nice change in a bread and the creaming method give it a much lighter texture. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This makes a wonderful sandwich. For us we use water pack white tuna and omit the relish but otherwise perfect. Also good on homemade brown or flax bread or any type of wholewheat bread. Thanks for the submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Italiano

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Good recipe but we always use pork blade chops because the loin usually dry up quickly (even with bone in). Just because of our tastes add sliced black Olives and lots of fresh parmesan on top. Certainly a recipe to add to the file so thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Capers

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Excellent and can be used for company or just every day. Love the fact that the medallions can be cooked just until tender and not overcooked like a lot of pork dishes. Personally I can t eat any meats or poultry that is cooked even a little bit dry so this fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Yum-- but very strong. I used half the whiskey (Jamiesons) and it was still potent, but ridiculously yummy. I made a large amount and gave it away as Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Greens with a Warm Gorgonzola Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
delicious!!!! everyone loved it! def a keeper! couldn't find gorgonzola cheese, used blue and still tasted awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Pasta Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Surprised this was so good but did need a bit of extra seasoning, at least for us and no kiids around either makes a difference. Fresh mushrooms and some garlic plus red pepper flakes and then it is a 5 star recipes and easy as well. Some day am going to try adding a handful or so of fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very good recipe and also extremely easy to put together but did need some hot pepper flakes and also some fresh parsely (just gives it some extra kick). It is honestly not fair when someone rates a recipe as wonderful after it is totally changed as the chef wrote it. Thank you chef for a very good , tasty and easy entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Awesome recipe. Recommend using multigrain best for bread flour for the whole amount. Turned out great, this is now my go to. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Pietracupa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Shilo, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
A nice and simple apple cake (we like the addition of dates). Almost failproof if recipe followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beat and Bake Orange Cake

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is a lovely light and moist cake. Ingredients we normally have on hand and so easy to make. Does not really need a frosting but a dark chocolate one would enhance the lily. To give it a deeper orange flavor it does need orange zest and, as one reviewer suggested, orange liqueur. Thanks for a great contribution to this site and my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made this without adding any sugar because I could not find fresh or frozen cranberries, so rather than ditch the recipe I bought a can of whole berry cranberry sauce as a substitute. Knowing that canned cranberries are sweetened already I figured I would omit the sugar and then adjust it if I found it too tart. It was not too tart and I did not need to add any sugar. I made it a day ahead in case it was awful and I had to make something to bring instead. Not only did it turn out, it is outstanding and I could just sit here with a baguette and some brie and stuff myself. I plan on serving it in a baked brie in phyllo. Next time I hope to have fresh cranberries but seriously this was delicious even with the substitution and I would recommend this to anyone. A 5 star recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathercubed
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccini with Basil and Brie

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! I was looking for a simple recipe to compliment a pricey reginette pasta that I splurged on during a weak moment ($12 for a small box, what was I thinking!). This recipe is perfect as is, the only thing I changed was using roasted garlic instead of minced (for a more subtle flavour) and parmesan flakes instead of grated. No need for exotic flavoured pasta with this recipe. Can't wait to use fresh garden tomatoes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is a stellar coffee cake recipe. I made it last might to take to a meeting at work today, and am glad that there was a piece or two to bring home. I took the advice of several other reviewers and used a 9x9" pan for the cake and let it bake for 45 minutes, testing it after 35 minutes. I added 2 tbsp of flour to the topping mixture and reduced the pecans to 3/4 cup (and did mix the topping with my fingers). Since I only had 3/4 cup of sour cream, I increased the volume to 1 cup with 2% milk. The result was fabulous, there was no sinking in the middle as others have described, the top browned beautifully, and the cake's taste is superb (the 1 tbsp of vanilla adds a lovely flavour). Thanks for sharing the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made numerous flourless chocolate cake recipes, and this ranks amongst the best. I made a few modifications, but only because of the ingredients I had on hand. I used 12 oz of bittersweet chocolate, 4 oz of semisweet and 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate. I added 5 large eggs (it was what I had!). I used a 9-inch springform pan, didn't use the water bath, and baked the cake for the amount of time indicated. The cake was superb - it cut beautifully, was smooth and as many suggested I served it with a lightly sweetened whipped cream to balance the chocolate. I thought the preparation method was very unique - this is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing Maggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I liked baking the ribs first. Make sure u dry the ribs with a paper towel before u salt and pepper or they will not brown. I used 1 bottle of Diana rib and chicken BBQ sauce plus 1 bottle Diana maple BBQ sauce for the sauce. I also cut up the ribs after baling before they went in the slow cooker. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States