Halifax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Tami

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I loved it with the addition of 3 minced garlic. I have used a full bunch of parsley and cider vinegar in place of lemon juice and it still tastes great! It was excellent on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySlipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made this for supper exactly as written..very good..its a keeper thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySlipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very good. I used already defrosted chicken breasts. Would not use frozen meat in the slow cooker. It would cause the food to stay in the "danger zone" temperature too long! Definitely use a good quality bbq sauce. Also, definitely shred the chicken 30-60 minutes before the end of the cooking cycle. The chicken soaks up the sauce and it creates the texture of shredded bbq chicken. Thickens it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! My extremely picky toddler couldn't get enough of it! This will be making its way into the regular meal rotation. I followed the advice of other commenters and seared the roast first. I also used beef stock instead of plain water, and used only one can of mushroom soup (because that was all I had on hand). It made a ton of sauce though, so 2 cans might be too much. When the roast was cooked I poured the gravy into a sauce pan, added some corn starch to thicken, and let it simmer for 15 mins before serving. Delicious and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
There are two types of recipes in my house, those I would serve to guests and my comfort food; for my family and I...this, well this can be both...I even made it with coconut oil in place of butter, sans icing for our lactose free friend, and still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe just as directed, even though after reading reviews I had been prepared to make some adjustments, until one reviewer noted it was a great basic stew as is; She was correct. It is a tasty stew, makes lots and is easy to prepare in the morning before heading out to work. When I have more time in the morning I might try some of the other reviewers suggestions, including browning the stew beef, but I'd second the advice of others, try it as is first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by wildirishrose

Turkey Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
this was delicious! the best pot pie I ever had! made it just like the recipe as written ..thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySlipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySlipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Girls love these, I used oatmeal instead of flour and graham crumbs( time to clean out the cupboards). As we use these for training treats rather than use a cookie cutter I roll the dough out on parchment paper and cut it into half inch squares using a pizza cutter, place on a cookie sheet and you are done, fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowloader
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this! Our chops were so thick, I butterflied them and put the stuffing in the middle instead. And I baked at 375 for 30 and then 15 minutes instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
hubby & I just finished this very delicious meal.. food is so tasty in a slow cooker & I was looking for a recipe to add vegetables later on ,so this was very helpful thanks Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Peanut Butter Popcorn

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
yummmmmers!!! and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by chocoluvs

Hot and Sour Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
great soup, not too hot, didn't have bamboo shoots, but other than that didn't change a thing! Hope to find some bamboo shoots for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
excellent! our new Year dinner & I cooked it as written, the only thing I changed was on high for 6 hours & I can't eat cabbage even though I love it so I cooked it in a separate pot for my hubby with the broth for 20 mins, he is on his second helping now. this is a keeper.. thanks for sharing & Happy New year to all 2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've had a bread machine for over 20 years, and have tried many recipes (both with the machine and without). This is a very interesting preparation, and I have made it a few times with very good results. I use canola oil, and find the bread turns out well regardless of the oil type used. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Tami

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I liked this method - much less mess. The bacon did turn out nice & straight which I really liked. Cooked evenly too. I agree with the other reviewers - I had my oven on 425 and it still took about 30 minutes. I also used regular bacon (not thick sliced) and it worked fine. You can get other things done while your bacon is cooking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is delicious and the garlic flavour is an enhancement to traditional roasted squash. Thanks for the idea MChele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States