Halifax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Lemon with Cinnamon Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is a very good muffin and like the texture. I know there are complaints about not enough lemony flavor. As a suggestion...if you rub the lemon zest into the sugar with your fingertips it releases the oils and hence you get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
It is very rarely that I give a recipe that has soup in it a 5 star review but this is so tasty and tender. We can't stand dried out pork and this is certainly not dry. Followed some suggestions and added more sauteed mushrooms and, when I have it, definnitely white wine. Rich but worth it and great over creamy mashed potatoes. It is also good with mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The only change I make is to saute the onions first and also add a garlic clove (sauteed with onions). Wonderful potato dish but also make only occasionally because it is so rich. Never any problems with people complaining!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crunchy Cheesy Fish and Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
loved the combination of spinach and fish (only we use a lot more spinach). No changes. I did notice that one reviewer said she changed the egg for mayo...........she must have been reviewing a different recipe because no egg listed in this one. I just question this that is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pepper Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Only adjustment is that we cut the lemon pepper in half but otherwise no changes needed for us. Highly recommend for a simple side dish that is also so easy to accomplish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Mushroom Saute

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe and no changes needed from this couple. Thanks. My husband is in heaven when served with steak..............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This turned out really well for me. I made it as written, no alterations are required! Smooth, creamy, old fashioned chocolate pie. The recipe is very similar to my grandmother's wartime chocolate pie. Ingredients weren't fancy, nor were they squandered. My pie filling was set 2 hours out of the oven, at room temperature. (Yes, I couldn't wait to test it! The rest was eaten chilled.) The crust was still warm when I poured in the filling, and I did not have runny filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Banana Vegan Muffins (healthy and sugar free!)

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Like the idea of all the healthy ingredients ( I am not vegan) but sometimes make vegan recipes. However, no way would I consider using 1 tbls. of baking soda ....just too much and leaves a very strong taste. Some extra baking powder and about 1 tsp. baking soda might work better. Not the best vegan recipe out there but could be with work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I generally stay away from dishes that include canned soup in the ingredients but based on the reviews, I decided to give this a try. The only change I made was that I cooked it in the oven. It was absolutely fantastic. I dont know if its the egg or the soup or the evap milk but it was delish. This will be my go to mac and cheese dish from now on. The only think I will do different next time is add a crumb topping of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maids of Honor Tarts II

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe for years and using ground almonds plus raspberry jam is certainly the way to go. No other recipe needed. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
The flavour of this was outstanding. I dont have a lot of luck with chicken breasts however as I tend to overcook them. Next time i will flatten or halve them and cook for less time; perhaps with better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple and Zucchini Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I loved the combination of the apple and zucchini. I think that beyond that, you have the option of adding a lot of things. The only thing I changed was that a yellow pepper instead of green and I added about a tablespoon of chopped mint and juice of half of a lime- for some added punch. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Super yummy. I did not have turmeric but it didn't seem to make difference. I served it over basmati rice. I also used canned tomatoes, and cut the chicken up to bite size pieces. I would use less coconut milk next time. Too much sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Gibbons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CMasters

Ground Beef with Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Great recipe! I used fresh onion and garlic and upped the spiciness. Served it up for supper and my guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMasters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bourguignon I

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
So many complaints about this beautiful classic recipe. Of course it takes time (very obvious if you pay careful attention to the method) but if you enjoy classic French cooking it is worth it. This is actually a stew but a fancy one and this recipe one of the better. Thank you for reminding me to start making this again..............even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Pineapple Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I like this cake because it does not have oil but the directions omit to say it should be baked in 2 8inch pans or equivalent otherwise you will have a mess and waste of expensive ingredients. Also, sugar can be cut back. For us any cake that is too sweet is not to our tastes but then we are in the minority. I might add it takes a bit longer to make a carrot cake with butter but the finished product is superior. Thanks for submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Cranberry Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
The main thing I like about this recipe is the addition of the orange juice and suggest adding orange rind to taste. I omit the white chocolate chips because they are sickenly sweet and as it is cut sugar to half. Of course we do not like overly sweet muffins and otherwise it is a grand recipe for my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made these last night...used a couple tbl of batter per fritter and cooked until dark golden...also used peaches in them too...both fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Lemon Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
It seems that I am building some great recipes on the grill lately. This one is no exception but can't imagine using butter (it usually burns too much when grilled) so agree with others that Olive Oil is best. Have all this fresh rosemary growing and trying to find recipes to use it up. Thanks and the only change is to use the oil. Sometimes I also use vegetable oil and that works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Tiramisu Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
For a coffee lover this is heaven on a plate. Easy and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States