Dartmouth, Nova Scotia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm sorry to knock the recipe just made it but this tasted like it could have come out of a can. I will stick with my usual way of making stew so it doesn't all turn to mush. The veggies should have been added hours after the beef stewed and the flour made it thicker than it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made exactly as written and these are the tastiest scalloped taters I have ever had. Very creamy and cheesy-like. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made a graham crust and used banana cream pudding. I also sliced 2 bananas and placed them on top of crust then poured pudding mixture over. Turned out to be coconut banana cream pie but it was all I had in the house and I love bananas anyway. Added more nutrition (: It is soooooo good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wellesley Fudge Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
One of my favorite chocolate cake recipes! I've made it many a time and people love it. It's super moist and the flavor of chocolate is great, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benatural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pasta Shells

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
First time ever stuffing pasta shells. they turned out great. i did use only 1/4 cup mozza and 1/4 c parm in cheese mixture wth 15 oz ricotta. it tastes sooo good. i fried sausage and added the meat to the pasta sauce and topped with mozza. served with garlic bread. thank you! hubby really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Baked Apples

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I was craving baked apples and found this recipe. I followed directions almost exactly but omitted cloves. I found it very plain and the liquid wasn't sweet the way I like it. The milk made it that way I'm guessing. I also used brown sugar instead of white . Still wasn't good enough that I would ever make again. Will stick to my granny smith apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
We liked the carrots, they were pretty tasty. I actually prefer sauce to be a bit thicker and it was watery. Used baby carrots. Great texture but not enough sauciness to it. Will possibly mash them next time so the flavor is all through the carrots. Instead of salt n pepper I used cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pineapple Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious! I used a can of cherry pie filling and a can of pineapple chunks drained. Instead of 1c sugar I cut it to 1/2 and less than 1/4 c flour to make up for not using the tart cherries. Placed it in my own pie crust and made lattice top. i sliced butter with vegetable peeler on top of fruit but I'm sure it equaled less than a T, no need for more. I brushed milk on as directed and found the lattice was a bit wet looking after baking. Will use my regular egg wash next time. hubby loved it too and my dog was drooling on my leg after I handed him a bit on my finger. thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Spicy Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tried these with 7 yukon gold potatoes. the texture was great. Roasted them on a cookie sheet and didn't use cheese. Added about 1/4 t cayenne and 1/2 t paprika.I followed others advice and used only 1 T of salt. Hawaiian sea salt to specify and I found that much too salty. My husband didn't mind the saltiness but I found relief only by using ketchup. Loved the chili powder taste. Will definitely make again only using a 1/2 T salt.Very easy to prepare....not sure why some of the posted photos have colorless potatoes, mine were a rich brown/red shade. looked great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Pineapple Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great recipe. I changed nothing but did have to substitute dijon with spicy brown mustard as I was out but it turned out great. I threw in a handful of sweet snap peas at the end. Ate it with white rice and beef chow mein I made from another site. Just as good as take out in my opinion, my hubby loved it too and keeps saying how tasty it was. Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nacho Dip I

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Tasty and very easy. I nuked the cream cheese about 40 seconds then used mixer to combine it with sour cream and taco mix. Topped with chopped jalapenos and salsa then shredded cheddar. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New England Clam Chowder II

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious chowder. I used bacon bits in the first step to save the work (: Rather than add the flour to potatoes, to prevent mushiness I whisked the flour into the half and half...(I actually used evaporated milk since we had no half and half) I chopped celery and added it to potatoes and onion which I sauteed in olive oil. Instead of heavy cream I used 1% milk and butter so I doubled the flour to 2T. Clam juice is a must. I tried on my second batch to use chicken broth as a substitute since I had no juice. It wasn't the same even though I used 3 cans of clams. Also pour the juice from the canned clams right in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Thanks Jacquie! I made this yesterday and we both really enjoyed it. I did mash a bit of carrot for it but also added a can of corn and frozen peas. I read other reviews who commented the beef was bland so I used an envelope of french onion soup with a cup of water (in place of broth) and while frying poured about 1/4 Worcestershire in. To spuds I minced some garlic to throw in with the cheese. Left onion out since I was using the flavor in the beef. I didn't get as much gravy as I wanted so I'll have to add gravy mix as well next time or broth/water along with soup mix. I hate always seeing recipes with viewers additions/changes but mine isn't all that off from yours. Just needed a bit more flavor for our tastebuds. aloha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bruschetta I

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this yesterday and it is excellent. I followed exact directions although I added grated parmesan to it before I baked. My husband says it is better than any he's had at a restaurant (: I doubled the batch today. I know it will be gone in no time! thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Habanero Pepper Cream Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was very good. I used one fresh habanero from the garden and had no shallots so used about 1/2 a white onion with an extra garlic clove for the loss of shallot flavor. I sauteed garlic, onion,habanero, then once it was brown I added canned mushrooms and cut up grilled chicken breasts. Then added 2 cups of evaporated milk which I had whipped the flour into as well as salt and pepper. Heated and simmered then added a bit less than 3/4 c parmesan.Sauce was thick but we love it that way. Served with chopped roma tomatoes on top with side of green peas (just to get a bit of relief from the deliciously hot n spicy forkfuls. Will make again for sure. Bowtie pasta perfect with it. hubby keeps saying how spolied he is haha he loves it too. Thanks for making me keep looking like a pro in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
i love making alfredo dishes and when i tried shrimp in it i thought it was the best thing ever!(so did everyone else!) i think everyone should know how to make it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sourdough Starter

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I may be back to edit this review but for now I have to criticize it for not telling me to feed it daily once I start with 1/4 flour and warm water. It's been in my oven with the light on for 4 days. I figured there must be a problem since it was not rising. I opened the reviews and see that this step was missing. FEED IT...anyway I threw it out and started again. Hopefully I will have better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BLT Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used chopped green and red onion, and bacon bits. it is so simple. my husband raved saying it was such a great pasta salad. sure will make regularly. so easy and so good, Thanks! I'm going to add shredded cabbage to the next plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wow this is delicious! Sprinkled about 1 teaspoon cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg on apples. Please don't listen to the reviews that say it is a must to pour sauce on apples instead of recipe direction to pour over lattice. It is so good and works all through the crust and apples. I can't wait to bake this for someone outside our household to show off. my hubby loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pie Crust IV

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I am so impressed with my skills ((: It was so easy to make. I used butter since I had no shortening. Very flaky. I will never look for a different recipe for pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States