Dartmouth, Nova Scotia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Saffron Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Whenever I try a recipe for the first time, I put my own rating (from 1 to 10)on my printed page of the recipe. I gave this one 10/10. It would go with almost anything with it's rich but mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Delicious! It takes time to make this soup but definatley worth it!! We followed the recipe to a T and it turned out great. Tip when using the broiler = keep your oven door open slightly, this way you can watch the cheese melt properly and it wont burn. I find closing the door tends to burn a lot of food when broiling, this trick will stop that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Drizzled Curry Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
We love this recipe! Turns out great every time - - the last few times we made this one we used it as a wing recipe - bake the wings (on a pizza stone if you have it) in a preheated 375deg oven for 10min each side. Transfer the wings to the honey mixture and bake again in the oven. Depending on your oven, bake for another 10min each side. The wings come out crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Oh yeah, this is delicious! By accident, I used three times more ginger (2 Tbsp instead of 2 tsp) than called for, but it sure didn't hurt this flavourful soup. I'll try it next time with the amount called for and see which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese, Garlic, and Chive Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Delicious, moist chicken (: I pounded each breast down to flatten some. Pre cooked bacon slightly. Mixed about 1/3 cup mozza in with cream cheese. Used green onion as I had no chives. Sprinkled chicken with Johnny Salt and pepper. Baked 375 for 30 min. turned out really good although next time will precook bacon more as the inside was pretty soft and would prefer it better cooked. Once I had toothpicks in place I coated chicken rolls in the butter then in Italian breadcrumbs mixed with Parmesan. looked picture perfect when I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vermicelli Noodle Bowl

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This has to rate in the top five meals to come out of my kitchen! I had no idea I could replicate the flavours of my favourite Vietnamese restaurant. I had my heart set on serving this with beef because of the photo, though the recipe calls for grilled shrimp, so I used an 8-oz top sirloin seasoned with garlic salt. I followed the recipe almost exactly, omitting only the radish, basil and mint. I didn't have pickled carrots, so I shaved a carrot thinly, with a potato peeler, to match the size of the matchstick cucumbers. We only abandoned the herbs, which I'd planned to cut from the garden at the last minute, because the assembled plates (wouldn't fit in bowls) looked satisfying already, and we were starving! It was delicious, leaving enough noodles, veggies and garnish to have for lunch the next day. One of the other reviews says this would be delicious without meat, and they are 100 percent correct! I can't wait to make this again. My husband and I can't stop talking about how delicious it was and how unlike anything we've attempted to make at home. Maybe we'll try the grilled shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked Zucchini Fries

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Too salty eventhough I rinsed and dried well before coating and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These were so good! My husband bragged to everyone how tasty they were. I made 1.5x the recipe and filled a bunch of anaheim pepper. That was all we had in the garden. I added about a teaspoon of cayenne to the cheese/sausage mixture and a few splashes of bottled jalapeno sauce. they turned out fantastic. easy to prepare. I steam my peppers in a glass pan for 3 minutes to soften before stuffing and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These are the best scalloped taters I've ever had. No milk or cheese and still so creamy. simple to make. I follow the recipe exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bake Sale Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The textute was rubbery. My husband didn't like it either and he is far from a fussy eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
flaky and delicious. I freeze butter flavored shortening ahead of time. yummy. ingredient list is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lola's Horchata

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I loved it, the rest of my family not so much - but I didn't make it for them :) I did double the cinnamon, because I love it so much, and halved the sugar for the second batch, and I loved it even more, but my family still didn't like it, their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chicken Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Awesome juicy chicken everytime!! We have tried this many times as an alternate to fried chicken - amazing :) We do use fat free sour cream to make it more healthy and we add smoked paprika to the italian seasoning mix. Tip = use parchment paper when baking, this will save you a boat load ot time cleaning and the chicken doesnt stick to the pan. Gotta try this one! Even kids love this - we made this for our neices/nefews and they ate it up (only thing we changed was to cut the chicked into strips so it would be a familiar looking 'chicken finger' to them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Excellent Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Love this recipe! They definitely need to bake longer though. I baked mine for 18 minutes and they turned out perfect. Thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawanda Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lasalle, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect recipe!!! I have never had a bad carrot cake with this one - I don't use the nuts for the simple fact that I am unsure if the people I am baking for will enjoy/are allergic to them but I am sure it is delicious!! If you love carrot cake I would highly recommend this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
So simple and yummy!! We make this recipe all the time - very very good for breakfast!! The only thing we've added to enhance the flavour is cooked / crumbled bacon. Delicious :) Use parchment paper when you make these - you will have perfect "brownies" every time!! No clean up and the brownies won't stick to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
MMM delicious!! We loved this recipe!! The only thing we did different was to use buttermilk (you can buy or make at home which we did - lots of recipes online for it!) - I found it made the batter stick better to the rings. Definatley worth a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked BBQ Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
LOVED this recipe!! Searing the ribs is the trick for sure I believe in this dish. The first time we tried them we found them a bit too 'ketchupy' but they were fall off the bone delicious!! The second time we made these, we used 1cup ketchup and 1cup bbq sauce instead of the 2cups of ketchup. We used Bulls Eye "sweet and sticky" to compliment with the ketchup - they were amazing, even better than the first time!!! A tip - use parchment paper when you are cooking these, the clean up is little to none!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Unbaked Cherry Cheesecake Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Based on reviews...I added 2T lemon juice and used 1/2 c conf sugar instead of a cup.... used cool whip to cut time. Also for the crust,I omitted sugar and used crumbs and butter only. Had lots of left over crumbs so will cut back next time. my husband ate half of the cake in one sitting....it was delicious and i will be making this often. thank you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm sorry to knock the recipe just made it but this tasted like it could have come out of a can. I will stick with my usual way of making stew so it doesn't all turn to mush. The veggies should have been added hours after the beef stewed and the flour made it thicker than it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States