Dartmouth, Nova Scotia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These are the best scalloped taters I've ever had. No milk or cheese and still so creamy. simple to make. I follow the recipe exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bake Sale Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The textute was rubbery. My husband didn't like it either and he is far from a fussy eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
flaky and delicious. I freeze butter flavored shortening ahead of time. yummy. ingredient list is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lola's Horchata

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I loved it, the rest of my family not so much - but I didn't make it for them :) I did double the cinnamon, because I love it so much, and halved the sugar for the second batch, and I loved it even more, but my family still didn't like it, their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chicken Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Awesome juicy chicken everytime!! We have tried this many times as an alternate to fried chicken - amazing :) We do use fat free sour cream to make it more healthy and we add smoked paprika to the italian seasoning mix. Tip = use parchment paper when baking, this will save you a boat load ot time cleaning and the chicken doesnt stick to the pan. Gotta try this one! Even kids love this - we made this for our neices/nefews and they ate it up (only thing we changed was to cut the chicked into strips so it would be a familiar looking 'chicken finger' to them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Excellent Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Love this recipe! They definitely need to bake longer though. I baked mine for 18 minutes and they turned out perfect. Thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawanda Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lasalle, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect recipe!!! I have never had a bad carrot cake with this one - I don't use the nuts for the simple fact that I am unsure if the people I am baking for will enjoy/are allergic to them but I am sure it is delicious!! If you love carrot cake I would highly recommend this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
So simple and yummy!! We make this recipe all the time - very very good for breakfast!! The only thing we've added to enhance the flavour is cooked / crumbled bacon. Delicious :) Use parchment paper when you make these - you will have perfect "brownies" every time!! No clean up and the brownies won't stick to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
MMM delicious!! We loved this recipe!! The only thing we did different was to use buttermilk (you can buy or make at home which we did - lots of recipes online for it!) - I found it made the batter stick better to the rings. Definatley worth a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked BBQ Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
LOVED this recipe!! Searing the ribs is the trick for sure I believe in this dish. The first time we tried them we found them a bit too 'ketchupy' but they were fall off the bone delicious!! The second time we made these, we used 1cup ketchup and 1cup bbq sauce instead of the 2cups of ketchup. We used Bulls Eye "sweet and sticky" to compliment with the ketchup - they were amazing, even better than the first time!!! A tip - use parchment paper when you are cooking these, the clean up is little to none!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Unbaked Cherry Cheesecake Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Based on reviews...I added 2T lemon juice and used 1/2 c conf sugar instead of a cup.... used cool whip to cut time. Also for the crust,I omitted sugar and used crumbs and butter only. Had lots of left over crumbs so will cut back next time. my husband ate half of the cake in one sitting....it was delicious and i will be making this often. thank you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm sorry to knock the recipe just made it but this tasted like it could have come out of a can. I will stick with my usual way of making stew so it doesn't all turn to mush. The veggies should have been added hours after the beef stewed and the flour made it thicker than it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made exactly as written and these are the tastiest scalloped taters I have ever had. Very creamy and cheesy-like. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made a graham crust and used banana cream pudding. I also sliced 2 bananas and placed them on top of crust then poured pudding mixture over. Turned out to be coconut banana cream pie but it was all I had in the house and I love bananas anyway. Added more nutrition (: It is soooooo good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wellesley Fudge Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
One of my favorite chocolate cake recipes! I've made it many a time and people love it. It's super moist and the flavor of chocolate is great, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benatural

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pasta Shells

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
First time ever stuffing pasta shells. they turned out great. i did use only 1/4 cup mozza and 1/4 c parm in cheese mixture wth 15 oz ricotta. it tastes sooo good. i fried sausage and added the meat to the pasta sauce and topped with mozza. served with garlic bread. thank you! hubby really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Baked Apples

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I was craving baked apples and found this recipe. I followed directions almost exactly but omitted cloves. I found it very plain and the liquid wasn't sweet the way I like it. The milk made it that way I'm guessing. I also used brown sugar instead of white . Still wasn't good enough that I would ever make again. Will stick to my granny smith apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
We liked the carrots, they were pretty tasty. I actually prefer sauce to be a bit thicker and it was watery. Used baby carrots. Great texture but not enough sauciness to it. Will possibly mash them next time so the flavor is all through the carrots. Instead of salt n pepper I used cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pineapple Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious! I used a can of cherry pie filling and a can of pineapple chunks drained. Instead of 1c sugar I cut it to 1/2 and less than 1/4 c flour to make up for not using the tart cherries. Placed it in my own pie crust and made lattice top. i sliced butter with vegetable peeler on top of fruit but I'm sure it equaled less than a T, no need for more. I brushed milk on as directed and found the lattice was a bit wet looking after baking. Will use my regular egg wash next time. hubby loved it too and my dog was drooling on my leg after I handed him a bit on my finger. thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Spicy Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tried these with 7 yukon gold potatoes. the texture was great. Roasted them on a cookie sheet and didn't use cheese. Added about 1/4 t cayenne and 1/2 t paprika.I followed others advice and used only 1 T of salt. Hawaiian sea salt to specify and I found that much too salty. My husband didn't mind the saltiness but I found relief only by using ketchup. Loved the chili powder taste. Will definitely make again only using a 1/2 T salt.Very easy to prepare....not sure why some of the posted photos have colorless potatoes, mine were a rich brown/red shade. looked great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States